Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
50 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
Loudoun School for the Gifted is an exceptional school that builds critical thinking and analysis skills in every student. The school is very forward-thinking and prepares its students to excel in a world where the ability to creatively process information (and collaborate) is often the key to success. The teachers are excellent and share the founder’s vision for providing a unique learning experience through small classes, advanced material, group discussion and projects. The school’s small size is an advantage as the students benefit from constant interaction with their teachers. The construction of a new school building is underway now which will add more resources to the close community. The academic growth and personal development that we have seen in our daughter over three years has been remarkable. She truly loves her school experience. As parents, we feel very fortunate to have found this special school.

Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
Loudoun School for the Gifted has made school exciting again for my son and daughter. They had trailed off in interest in about 6th grade, being drowned in "gifted worksheets". Though gifted, their grades suffered as they grew bored. At LSG, the teachers are kind, enthusiastic about their subjects, and make the classes dramatically more interesting. Honors history is replaced with Military Science and History. English includes classes such as "the effect of science fiction on mid-century America". Field trips include local businesses, exciting cities, college campuses, and foreign lands. And the kids are allowed to be geeks, jocks, or whatever they want to be - growing in their own time. It's more than a school, it's a place to grow a great kid.


Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Small, discussion-based classes with outstanding faculty; interesting subjects for both core classes and electives; supportive, non-competitive environment that encourages personal accountability; meaningful extracurriculars; excellent field trips, weekend trips and international travel opportunities.

Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
After having lived abroad for a few years and having our son attend an IB school I was concerned about finding a school that met our needs. I can honestly say that LSG has exceeded our expectations. The teachers and staff foster an environment where students can realize their full potential. I highly recommend Loudoun School for the Gifted.

Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
When our daughter had reached her sophomore year in our local , overcrowded, public high school, she had reached the point of refusing to attend on a regular basis despite her best efforts to overcome the daily anxiety she was feeling. She told us that it wasn't the academics that were causing her angst but the daily environment she was learning in. After exploring the options the public school could offer her and comparing local private schools, we arrived at Loudoun School for the Gifted this past November. They invited our daughter to shadow for a few school days. After 2 days at LSG we saw almost physical change in our daughter and she knew instantly she was meant to be at this school. The warm, inclusive, friendly and dedicated staff have been invaluable to our family. We now feel like our daughter's last 2 1/2 years of high school will prepare her for making a very informed college choice ,bring back her confidence in the education process and finish high school with great pride in herself.


Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted November 26, 2014
- a parent
In a word: incredible. The educational vision is strong, focused, and unlike any other I have come across. My daughter is finally challenged by like-minded peers and teachers who are more like mentors, in an environment that is supportive and free of typical middle school distractions and pressures. There is a premium placed on critical thinking and expression which is sorely absent in alternate school systems. It's the sort of school you've always wished for your gifted child but never actually thought did exist. We are so thankful to have come across LSG!

Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Just enrolled my 9th grader this year. He loves going to school here. The faculty is outstanding and they really focus on building well rounded young adults, while inspiring gifted kids to challenge themselves without the "pressure cooker" environment you find at other top schools.

Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted December 31, 2012
- a parent
Now renamed the "Loudoun School for the Gifted" (LSG) this is an outstanding school for a child who is self-motivated and curious. Teachers work with each child to make sure that they are being adequately challenged and engaged. Even more important, students are taught to think and analyze the information provided, which is done in a variety of ways from biographies to field trips. Classes are very small and there is now a middle school as well. We have been to other "gifted schools" in the area and nothing compares.


Loudoun School for the Gifted 5

Posted May 29, 2010
- a parent
Best Kept Secret in Loudoun County! If you have a child who is not thriving in the public school and want more of a challenge this is perfect. My son always did well in Loudoun County but lost his love of learning after being "taught to the tests" for so long. He started to not want to go to school and complained of the lack of hands on learning. I decided to send him to Ideal and he could not be happier....worth every penny spent. The staff is engaging and the kids are excited to be there. The class size is small (5-6 kids per class) You could not get more attention for your child unless you decided to homeschool! The Principal and Vice Principal are involved with your kids everday and they know your child personally. The students are bright, creative, and telented.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Loudoun School for the Gifted
44675 Cape Court, No. 105, Ashburn, VA  20147
(703) 956-5020
Last modified Loudoun School for the Gifted is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Loudoun School for the Gifted Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top