Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creighton's Corner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1035 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 13 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

creighton's corner elementary is a great school. Principle, Teachers and Parents are very involved. Great resources, nice and clean facility and wonderful new playground was added
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

We were a Creighton Corner family for many years. In fact, my daughter was a "plank holder". However when my son struggled in both K and first grade, the teachers did very little to help him. Meeting after meeting I was told to have him memorize sight words. During winter break of his first grade year, we relocated. At Winter break, his reading level was tested at a 3.(low) At the end of the school year at his new public school, he tested at an 18 and he is much more successful. At Creighton, classes are overcrowded, quiet kids with small learning challenges are easily overlooked. Thank God we left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

Creighton has now come full circle from several years ago. It is now a "community" with everyone working together towards education in a positive warm/nurturing environment. We moved to Loudon from Fairfax several years ago and have been more than thrilled with how the county makes smart/common sense decisions - Fairfax needs a real overhaul with the processes that they have in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2014

My family is relocating from out of state and on a suggestion of a local professional, we stopped by the school to visit, only giving them less than an hour's notice-during SOLs no less. We were just taken back by how nice and friendly everyone was! We were greeted by the parent liaison who gave us a tour of the school. All of the kids were well behaved and looked happy to be there. Afterwards, the AP, P and Administrative intern sat down with us to learn a little bit about my children and talk about the school philosophies. They seemed so genuine and concerned about my children. Both of my kids have IEPs. Before we walked in the door, I worried that we could be disregarded - it was the complete opposite! I truly believe the culture of a school is governed by the attitudes of the administrators, and I could tell the moment we walked in the front office and were warmly greeted by office staff, that this is a gem of a school! Even as we walked the halls with the parent liaison, a resource room teacher saw us in the hallway, introduced herself, and gave us her business card and contact information. You can tell these teachers love coming to work everyday. Blown away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

We have been here for two years now. After dabbling in private schools and having a very poor experience there , I can easily say every morning I feel blessed having a safe environment and happy place for my kids. I am so so so grateful for being part of this school. The teachers are so nice and so is the principal and vice principal. I think the children are getting good education and wholesome growth. Nothing more a parent can ask for. It is one of the rare times I can say I am 100% satisfied. There are constant updates about the children's progress and the teachers are accessible at all times. They even respond on weekends and evenings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2014

CCE is the best so far i have seen. My kids went to 5 different elementary schools(between 2 of them) due to job situation and finally we ended up in CCE. I can say this is the best considering teacher quality, extra curricular activities. Principal is very involved and keeps kids and parents informed with what is going on continuously(You get an announcement call at least once or twice a week).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

LOVE CCEl! My kids' teachers are fantastic - involved, dedicated and caring are the words that come to mind when describing their teachers (both current and previous)! We have had a fantastic experience in the past couple of years! The principal welcomes parent involvement and the kids love that the principal visits their classrooms - such a great learning experience for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Creighton's Corner Elementary is a wonderful place to work. Teachers, students, and staff work together to make CCE great. The PTA is one of the hardest working groups of people that a school could have to work for them They have researched resources to help up raise money and obtain resources we need. There are many parent volunteers who help wherever there is a need and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. CCE is a great place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 30, 2013

Love this school so far! This is our first year there! The principal is amazing! Very well seen and great with communication! Teachers seem great and there is strong sense of community within the school. I look forward to many more years there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

We recently moved to the area and I had my reservations about Creighton's Corner based on the reviews I found online, but I have been very impressed with what I have seen. We have a 1st grader at the school and we couldn't be happier with her teacher, as well as the school staff. I haven't had a chance to meet the principal personally, but he is very visible whenever I've been on school grounds. Communication has been fantastic and it feels like parents are very much invested in their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

great school! Teachers my child had so far are very organized and enthusiastic. There are internationally dynamic students (a lot of West Asian) which is good for children, I think. Parents involvement seems good also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

We are very happy with Creighton's Corner on many levels. The school has developed a strong sense of community, the teachers are exceptional, professional, and nurturing, and the parent involvement is very present. Our children are thriving here! We love that academics is first and foremost and balanced with a lot of fun community inspired events. This is a terrific school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

All I can say is WOW!, WOW!, WOW! Our school has come so far in only one year of new leadership. Parents are visiting and volunteering, our PTA is more active than ever, and our teachers are just fantastic. Everyone is extremely positive and our school has such a wonderful spirit. We are looking forward to a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

We moved to Ashburn from Fairfax County and heard mixed reviews on this school based on the previous administration. I couldn't be more pleased with my daughter's first grade experience. Mr. Knott is the new principal and is exceptional. The curriculum was challenging and I really saw my daughter grow this year. My only concern, and it isn't the school's fault, was the classroom size. But that's pretty typical for Loudoun County as they can't seem to keep up with the growth. Be assured if your child attends this school next fall that he/she will be getting an incredible educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I believe there are lots of great teachers at this school unlike the last poster's comment about lazy teachers. Teaching is hard work. If anything, it is the efforts of select teachers that go above and beyond what is required that creates a perception that others may be lazy. Of course you will always have at least a few under performers anywhere you go. By definition, you can't have above average teachers without below average teachers. We've been here at CCE for 3 years and all 6 teachers have been great and this has been by far the best year so far!!! New administration is great!! We love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

The new administrator is wonderful! Believes in actually educating the kids and having transparency unlike the last administrator. There are a handful of great teachers but the rest need to stop being so lazy. The PTA did a great job this year. All events are well advertised and attended. Events are fun especially International Night, very inclusive of everyone. The school finally feels like a community , unlike in previous years. That was due to the crazy administrator. GREAT THINGS ARE HAPPENING AT CCE!! THIS IS A SCHOOL TO WATCH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

I feel the changes that have happened this year have been awesome! I have to question the previous comment that stated that the new principal was nice, but didn't do much. I do wonder how much interaction this person has had with him. He is truly wonderful, and it is clear the KIDS are #1, not staff, and not administration. He's not afraid to go to bat for what he feels is best for the students at CCE, because not all students/schools can fit into this mold. There are lots of moving and interchanging parts. He is approachable, compassionate, and empathetic. He is empowering teachers to go above, do more, and he expects a team atmosphere. We are all on the same team, parents and staff - we all want they very best for our students, and for their learning experience to be fun and positive. He certainly fosters this at CCE. The classrooms are filled to max but the teachers have handled this the best they can. Kuddos to the staff, adminsitration, and parents for all working together this year to make CCE great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

I've been here for four years. It's just ok for me. Principal is nice, but he doesn't really do much. It's mostly a parent run school, some parents are good at that and some not so much. Teachers are generally good, and left alone to do what feels right to them. It ends up feeling a little disorganized since there doesn't seem to be an official person "in charge" - lots of things are last minute, etc. So - just ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

It has been amazing to watch this Phoenix rise from the ashes. To go from the brunt of neighborhood jokes last year to a school teachers, parents, and students are proud of this year has been nothing short of miraculous. Teachers are working together, parents are volunteering, and there is an amazing sense of community in the building. The new principal is very humble and is very quick to give credit to the staff and students. I am so glad my students are Colts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

Night and Day, that is how I would describe the difference between last year and this year. I don t think we would have kept our children enrolled if the Administration hadn t intervened. The new Principal has been a breath of fresh air. Walls have come down. Every time I walk in the school it feels more like a partnership, (i.e., teachers, parents, and staff), one big community, all working harmoniously for the common good of our precious children. Thank you to all the teachers at CCE this year. It has been an amazing first few weeks and my kids are excited for the rest of the school year! Go Colts!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students91%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students68%
Female students67%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students75%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial50%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students96%
Female students98%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial94%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities93%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students89%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students76%
Male students74%
Black students45%
Asian students84%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial92%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students78%
Female students73%
Male students83%
Black students36%
Asian students95%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial75%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students80%
Black students80%
Asian students85%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students80%
Black students73%
Asian students94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students68%
Female students65%
Male students71%
Black students67%
Asian students80%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students25%
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students82%
Female students78%
Male students88%
Black students80%
Asian students89%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • No accreditation rating was reported for the 2008-2009 school year.
  • No accreditation rating was reported for the 2007-2008 school year.

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23171 Minerva Dr
Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone: (703) 957-4480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT