Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Point Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
We love this school! The teachers, administrators, and kids are kind, involved and genuinely excited about school. Parents are always welcomed and encouraged to be involved- whether it be through volunteer time in the classroom or simply having lunch with their child. Large enough to have amazing resources, and small enough to feel like a close knit community. Couldn't be happier with this elementary school.

Cedar Point Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
The new principal is making everyone smile, kids ,parents, teachers! It is now a positive environment for my kids, unlike the previous two years!


Cedar Point Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school in a great community. As a military family, we move around a bit, and we definitely feel that this school compares favorably with other schools we have experienced. There is a new principal who has had a very positive effect on the school as a whole and I can't say enough about the teachers, staff, and quality of education our children are receiving.

Cedar Point Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a community member
The new principal is awesome. This is going to be a wonderful experience for students, staff and parents alike.

Cedar Point Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
We are finishing up our 5th year at Cedar point and it has been an amazing experience! Our children have grown and flourished at this school. The teachers are the best we have ever seen and the administrative staff is the best! We needed assistance with severeal issues over the years and Mrs. Miller, our principal, was FANTASTIC! She treated our child (and us) with deep respect and provided solutions that we were very pleased with. I believe those past reviews were uncalled for and the problems were probably not with the school or faculty.


Cedar Point Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
My daughter and certain other children were subjected to shocking levels of bullying, humiliation and retribution at Cedar Point Elementary. This unbelievable behavior was not at the hands of fellow students. The offender in all cases was the principal, Mrs. Miller. If you are in a position to place your child in another elementary school, please make every effort to do so. She has and will act out in very cruel and demeaning ways, even on a rumor, and has a consistent record of retaliation toward children of parents or teachers who dare question her for any reason. PWCS may, one day, find that she has fueled some sort of unattractive legal action.

Cedar Point Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2012
- a parent
I really have to agree with a recent reviewer. The administration of this school is a joke and the principal is terrible. From our experiences with her, she is on a power trip and tends to treat parents as though they are her students. Her tone, inflection, and underlying assertions when speaking with parents border on ridiculous. Her motives generally do not seem to promote the benefit of the student, rather the benefit of the school and her ratings. She does not seem to reward successes - only focusing on negative behavior and threats. We have 1 child in the school with 3 children becoming school age in the next year or so. I am dreading the thought of sending our children to Cedar Point and are currently looking at other schools where the administration actually cares about their well being. We cannot continue to send our children to this school under this current administration. We have had mixed results with the teachers their with some being GREAT and others not being good at all. The counselors there seem to take on the same attitude of the principal, which only adds to our discontent. If there are other options available, please do not send your children there!!

Cedar Point Elementary School 1

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
Ironically, the reason for the low rating teacher quality is due to the principal, who rewards poor teachers and forces out the good ones. Her focus is clearly on her and the perception of the school rather than the students best interest. Currently, our son is in a classroom that is in total chaos, which is causing our son a great deal of stress. We requested he move to another, more stable classroom. However, that classroom contains a teacher not approved by the principal. Therefore, our son will stay where he is, and if necessary, will move out, but to a different teacher, one on her approved list. This principal is ruining the school with awful direction and leadership (she is rarely in the building) and promotes teaching methods that are suspect and do little to give a child the education he/she deserves! I cannot say it enough. Don't be fooled by all the pomp and fluff that you see when you walk down the halls; it is all a facade to hide what is really taking place there! World class education? A principal is responsible for making sure instruction is carried out. However, instruction is the last thing on this one's list! Please world, don't come here!


Cedar Point Elementary School 2

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
Other posts are concentrating on the Principal alone,sorry the front staff and others are also to blame for this schools decline in popularity.It is quite apparent there is tension between the staff. I am not too impressed with this school at all academically.I do not know what the fuss is and why people move to the area for this school.

Cedar Point Elementary School 4

Posted June 19, 2011
- a parent
Sadly, the pricipal of Cedar Point Elementary has created an environment filled with anxiety for many parents, teachers and students due to her unpredictable behavior.

Nearby schools

Cedar Point Elementary School
12601 Braemar Parkway, Bristow, VA  20136
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (703) 365-0963
Last modified Cedar Point Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top