Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 963 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

My son went to this school. The facility is very nice and activities are plenty. His teacher is excellent and there is teacher-parent conference every 2-3 months. My daughter will be in the same school after this summer and she is very exciting about going to the same school as his brother for K.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I have a Kindergarten studen and a 3rd grader that attend this school. We are a military family and I am very careful with where I send my kids to school. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL AND SO DO MY CHILDREN. Please do not hesitate in sending your kids here. Art Teacher is very unpleasant but that is not the norm in this school. GO WESTIES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Both of my children have attended this school since kindergarten (one now in high school) and it has been a great experience for the whole family. The only reason I didn't give teacher quality a "5" is because of a very small few. The staff in general is fantastic.This school started out well and has only improved over the years. The principal does a great job of finding quality personnel and runs a tight ship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Both of my children attend Victory Elementary, and we are very happy with the quality of education, excellent teachers and superb office staff. The vice principal is amazing and very involved! Both of my children love their teachers and look forward to going to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

Our two children who attend Victory Elementary School love their school. It has been such a blessing to have a wonderful staff and a great principal and wonderful teachers. I have a child who was placed in special needs last year and this year achieved Honor Roll. All the teachers involved in helping my child have done everything to make sure my child gets the best education and the needed help. I cannot be happier to see my childs progress because everyone especially her teacher has put forth the effort to see my child thrive and succeed. I feel that the school, teachers, principal and staff genuinely care about each and everyone of the students especially those who have special needs. I also feel like a part of the family when I visit the school, always greeted by name by the staff. All in all this is a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

Our 2 children have truly enjoyed their time at Victory Elementary School. However unfortunately the placement of our children has left us with a bad feeling. Our oldest daughter we had to fight vigorously with staff to get accommodation met for her ADHD. She is in 5th grade now and thankfully her teacher is amazing and very proactive (first year teacher)... we lucked out! Last year she had a teacher that just pass her through with A's and B's but then she failed all of her SOL's. Our youngest in in 1st grade both years of her schooling Victory added additional teachers and moved the students around. The first year she had to move to a new teacher midway thorough the year, this year she lost many of her classmates to a new teacher. I attribute this to poor planning by the administration, not having enough teachers creating an over crowed situation. As a parent I feel the school is more interested in passing the accreditations rather than making sure the students have what they need. With all this being said, I love that the front office knows my name every time I walk into the office, the kids feel very attached to their teachers and the parent support is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

I agree with many parents here that principle and vice principle are not as kind and loving as they should be to their elementary students! They are also, not so nice to the parents as well. Comparing to other schools my children been too its really night and day difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

We recently moved here and have been highly impressed with Victory Elementary. The teachers and admin care very much about the students, and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

We have had a good year this year, but our one concern is that our son will not be as ready for middle school as he needs to be--Why do the upper grades not rotate (switch classes? not sure of the correct term) so that they are adequately prepared for the middle school environment? I have a hard time thinking I am the ONLY parent that feels this is necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

My rating is a a 5 for the Office workers, Principal and the Teachers at Victory. We just moved here and my son was having a hard time adjusting to the new routine and enviorment of the school. These people went out of their way to make sure that my son was becoming adjusted to his surroundings...and that was NOT an easy task for any one of these great people. You certainly go beyond the call of duty. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

My rating is a 5 for the teachers and a zero for the principal and vice principal. After years of trying to get help and give help I have given up trying. Thankfully a kind office staff and wonderful teachers (even though turn-over is high) makes it bearable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

The teachers and administration do an excellent job of reaching the many students in this growing and large elementary school. My children have attended this school since the opening and have had nothing but excellent teachers. The few issues that I have had, the principal has dealt with in a manner in which I felt was timely and fair. The school's cross-curricular activities in music, art and technology are to be particularly commended. The grade levels work together in working on lesson planning which has shown to be very effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The principle is not as supportive as she should be. Many parents eventually give up trying to communicate with the school because they either don't get a resonse or the response is curt and obfuscating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

While I think the principle tries to be responsive, her answers frequently are dripping with sarcasm and misinformation. I'm not sure if it is because she is out of touch, misinformed by her teachers and staff or just looks down on parents. The teachers, like at most schools, run the spectrum. There are some that are outstanding, and some that you wonder why they chose to be teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Ms. Cude has been such a help to me this year thanks!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

I don't really understand all the negative comments regarding the principal/administration. This is the second year for my daughter at Victory and I have had nothing but positive experiences. The principal, despite other's remarks, is extremely friendly and caring, and seems to work really hard to keep improving our school. Love the teachers, love the admin ladies, love Victory!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

We loved our teachers this year--k and 5th grade were great! The office staff is very friendly, we wish the principal would be more so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Teachers are great principal not so much not friendly and very much like a dictator
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

It is sad to see the comments posted, but even sadder to say that some of them are true--we are frustrated with the administration as well, and are not getting any help--they do listen to parent concerns however, but I have no children, and can only speak as a frustrated educator
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2009

I think Victory elementary is a good school. Being a new school, it has already achieved a lot; but also has a lot more to accomplish.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students86%
Male students79%
Black students69%
Asian students80%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial89%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students77%
Female students76%
Male students79%
Black students50%
Asian students73%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial78%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students94%
Black students77%
Asian students93%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial94%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students86%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students86%
Male students87%
Black students80%
Asian students82%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial100%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students95%
Female students94%
Male students96%
Black students80%
Asian students100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students88%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students87%
Male students87%
Black students75%
Asian students100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial79%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English89%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students83%
Black students67%
Asian students100%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial79%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students88%
Female students90%
Male students86%
Black students75%
Asian students100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial71%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English89%

Science

All Students90%
Female students88%
Male students91%
Black students83%
Asian students100%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial93%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12001 Tygart Lake Drive
Bristow, VA 20136
Phone: (703) 257-0356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Linton Hall School
Bristow, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT