Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bull Run Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 880 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

It's sad to see how some parents have allowed the fact that they do not like the administration to cloud their judegment of the whole learning experience. As a parent of 2 boys, who have attended since Kindergarten - one in GT and the other not, I have to the changes have greatly affected the atmosphere. However, as in every school, there is good and bad. If we could elect the administrators, there would still be those unhappy with the situation. I will say that the school has had some hiccups in the past few years due to admin changes. Yet, overall, I have been very happy with more teachers than not! I wish there would be a Principal who would put the children first and not their duties; someone who would make it their mission to listen to teachers and parents alike; an individual who dedicate their time to the advancement of their student body. The school has great spirit! Wonderful GT program. My ONE negative is that Tenured Teachers who have not performed and spend more time in meetings instead of classrooms, should be LET GO!!!! I Love This School!!!!! It is beautiful with great programs and extra curricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

After 4 years at an excellent, local Montessori school, my grandson entered 1st grade at Bull Run ES. Thanks to guidance from outstanding teachers, a variety of enrichment opportunities, a wonderfully diverse student population, and a very involved parent, he is thriving both socially and academically at Bull Run, where he is currently a 3rd grader. The campus is beautifully situated on an expanse of green lawn. The classroom building itself faces the mountains and is wonderfully laid out with wide hallways/stairways, and large, naturally well-lit classrooms. It is an awesome, inviting atmosphere! The front office staff is bright, friendly and helpful. The new Principal is an intelligent young woman, dedicated to the task of making Bull Run an even better school. Fairfax County Virginia is widely known for its great Public School system. I am sure most, if not all, of its schools are remarkable. To ensure that Bull Run students soar with the best, please don't concern yourself too much with the inevitable politics of public education; it will drain you of the energy that would be better spent involving yourself in the day-to-day aspects of your child's education.


Posted September 1, 2012

I am sad to say that I have to echo the words of the last reviewer. I am sad that my children must attend this school - if there were any feasible way for my kids to attend a different one, I would. Won't go into details because this isn't the place to do that but, when I read the last posting, I knew I had to "second" their comment. Stay away, if you have the luxury.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

This used to be an oustanding school where all children could learn and grow. Administrative changes have ruined a once fine school. The parents succeeded in replacing the first bad principal but unbelievably she has been replaced by another who is even worse. THE ATMOSPHERE IS POISONOUS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

I moved from a New York City Public School to Bull Run in '06. There's a major difference in both schools. First of all, Bull Run had a very welcoming environment, and from a child's point of view- the school was wonderful. I first started this school in the 3rd grade, and automatically made friends. However, the school no longer has most of the staff I grew up learning from. There were a few teachers that didn't teach well, but they have left the school to pursue other schools. All of the administrative staff had left as well. My 5th Grade year was the best in my Elementary School years- I had Mr. Wood. He was an outstanding teacher and it's sad to know he left the school when I was in the 6th Grade. All the fun teachers that taught well in academics had been replaced now- which is sad to know because every single one of them taught me and my fellow classmates above and beyond skills in the academics. If you enjoy music as much as I do, the Chorus is astounding. By the time we reached graduation, everyone became a family. We knew each other so well, and I am glad to be part of the Home of the Bulls!


Posted December 8, 2010

My daughter started school at Bull Run - we moved to NY when she was in 4th great. The staff, teachers and administrators were wonderful -- she made friends from many different backgrounds --- we have so many good memories of her time there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My kids were there since the day it opened, the staff was warm and sweet. I felt at oeace when I left my children there in the morning, they were happy and jovial. They are now in high shcool and I still have fond memories of their days there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

my child was in the sixth grade and loved it! her teachers were very understanding and helped her become a very good student. The principal was not ... up to their old principals standards though
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

My daughter is in kindergarden and tells me she does not want to go to school. She started kindergarden at another school and she loved it there. She is not motivated to learn at Bull Run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Great atmosphere, wonderful teachers and the diversity is great for the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

Our son enjoyed a lot the school. Staf is very nice and caring. However the GT program is a little bit out of control with the amount of work. They pushed the idea of challenging curricuum a little bit too far.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

this school has great teachers and a great learning enviroment
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

Amazing leadership, teachers, office staff, GT program, general program, and discipline. The school is highly structured and it absolutely amazing. It's one of the best ones I have seen in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

Bull Run is a great school! My 3rd grader has Ms. Lieb this year(07-08)in the 3rd grade GT center program. She a superb teacher who instructs and provides individualized instruction based on learning styles. It has been a great experience for my son. The office staff is very welcoming and I always feel comfortable entering the school. I highly recommend Bull Run Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

My kindergartner had Mrs. DiGiovanni. Excellent teacher, very organized and clearly loves the children. My child's self-confidence blossomed and she loves school. She learned a great deal and developed emotionally and socially! I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I love this school! Our daughter thrived here.Mrs.Welker and Mrs.Judkins were absolutely wonderful.They made or duaghter's kindergarten year a wonderful learning experience.We are amazed by how much she has learned. 100% parental involement. Would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

Great leadership! Gt programs: Tones of work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Great GT program, great experienced GT Teaachers, much better than Willow Springs, Leadership questionable
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students96%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students81%
Female students86%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students93%
Female students97%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students91%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students80%
Black students56%
Asian students93%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students85%
Female students84%
Male students86%
Black students69%
Asian students95%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black students69%
Asian students97%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students84%
Black students60%
Asian students94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students78%
Female students78%
Male students79%
Black students58%
Asian students93%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students73%
Female students68%
Male students77%
Black students25%
Asian students94%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students88%
Male students87%
Black students75%
Asian students91%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students89%
Female students87%
Male students91%
Black students86%
Asian students92%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15301 Lee Hwy
Centreville, VA 20121
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 227-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ad Fontes Academy
Centreville, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT