Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Charlottesville, VA
Students enrolled: 342
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charlottesville Catholic School 5

Posted July 21, 2012
- a parent
CCS provides an excellent academic program grounded in strong Catholic teachings. My children are happy, safe and academically challenged.

Charlottesville Catholic School 5

Posted July 21, 2012
- a parent
We have been a part of the CCS community for seven years now and all of three children have had a great experience here. I feel that each of them of have been challenged academically and have thrived, each at their own level. The teachers have been wonderful and really take an interest in each child, helping to make them successful. It is a wonderful faith filled education that teaches about respect and values. The fine arts department is amazing... there are lots of opportunities for children to experience a little bit of everything, whether its singing, participating in a musical, athletics, learning new technologies or getting involved in some various after school clubs (DI, Boy/Girl Scouts, etc). CCS has been instrumental in reinforcing the values we are teaching at home and we are thankful for the opportunities and lessons they are learning. We feel that it is well worth the commute and investment for their future.


Charlottesville Catholic School 1

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
Charlottesville catholic school is atrocious. The teachers are sexist against the boys and constantly look for reasons to get my son in trouble. Ever since he joined, his grades have been falling and he has hit rock bottom. ever since he came to the school, he has been depressed and angry more than ever and we have had to spend countless dollars on psychologist visits and brain training programs. The only parents that are involved are the over protective super rich parents that have no idea how to handle kids. Honestly newmexico public schools would be a better option.

Charlottesville Catholic School 5

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
Charlottesville Catholic School has been a fabulous school to raise, educate and help my children mature into responsible students and caring individuals. The teachers are amazing, highly dedicated to the success of each student, and care deeply about them. They are very responsive to parent concerns and will partner readily to help parents find ways for their children to succeed. The children care for one another, take pride in knowing every student in the school, and the such a small, close-knit environment fosters a sense of security and trust that allows the children to thrive. The middle school is particularly supportive as teachers often have students for several consecutive years and get to know them well. In addition, study skills and learning how to write are highly emphasized such that children learn how to learn. I have 2 graduate who have left well-prepared for high school, they have a strong sense of their responsibilites as good students, and they are well-grounded in what is most important in life.

Charlottesville Catholic School 2

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
The school relies heavily on the involvement of the parents. To be honest the "Great community based foundation, which provides your child with a safe learning and nurturing environment, that is the Charlottesville Catholic school " should simply be shortened to "Entirely community based environment". Instead of calling the establishment a school it would be better to label it a FACADE,seeing how the pamphlets and tours brag about and exaggerate the usage of their technologically advanced computers and smart boards, even though my child complained that teachers didn't even know how to use them and there was no internet connection in the school. We expected the school to provide a prominent and positive impact on our child's development, while it did provide our child with a moderately above average education she said she felt out of place and excluded from others students because she would often have trouble understanding the academic materials and the teachers would make her feel worse with sarcastic comments and gestures. The principal had very poor control over the school's staff and students. If you are considering applying your child, save your money and your child's future.


Charlottesville Catholic School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
It's a Catholic faith based school with high standards and academic excellence. Additionally; it has a small class setting with a big class structure. My child is very happy there,and the Teacher's are very kind and experienced in all phase's of their chosen field.

Charlottesville Catholic School 5

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Charlottesville Catholic School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a community member
We have had our grand daughter in C'ville Catholic School for going on 4 yrs. The teachers are excellant. There is also a strong sense of community involved. It is small enough that teachers know all the children which adds to the personal feeling. Academics are of the highest standard which gives the school its 'Blue Ribbon ' rating.


Charlottesville Catholic School 3

Posted December 09, 2008
- a student
This school is a great school academically. However it is a very disciplined and virtually no privileges are given to the students.

Charlottesville Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2008
- a student
CCS is a beautiful and wonderful school. Even though the school is kind of small, the teachers and staff are always helping students to grow in their faith and have good eduacation. The students their are soo nice. I love going to CCS.=D

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charlottesville Catholic School
1205 Pen Park Rd, Charlottesville, VA  22901
(434) 964-0400
Last modified Charlottesville Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Charlottesville Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top