Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4
Public
Charlottesville, VA
Students enrolled: 317
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Love the school. We have 3 kids there and couldn't be happier. The teachers are excellent and school seems to truly strive to understand each child. We had previously been in private schools and are so happy we made the switch to Johnson.

Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
Such an amazing elementary school and I am sad that after six great years at Johnson this is our last year at this wonderful school. Both our girls loved this school and the youngest is not looking forward to graduating from this school. Staff makes sure that each and every child is challenged, whether they're in ESL, special ed or the gifted program. The teachers celebrate the fact that they teach a diverse population which makes the children feel welcome at the school. Discipline may seem a little strict to an outsider, but once you get to know the teachers you see that they truly care for these kids. It is also a pleasure to go on field trips with Johnson kids. They are so well behaved, which you notice especially when you run into other elementary school groups. Also, parent participation is welcomed (they have a strong PTO) and the school has many family get togethers, like the Fun Fair, annual picnic, Bingo/Silent auction night, African American night, choir performances etc etc. After school you will often find parents and kids congregated on the playground for a few hours. Can't say enough good things about this school and wish it was not our last year there.


Johnson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Some fun after-school clubs have been initiated this year at Johnson, taught by volunteers. Our daughter is in the knitting club, and a neighbor girl studies jewelry-making.

Johnson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This school handles, and very well, some of the most underpriviledged children in Charlottesville, and will do more with whatever they get than many other schools.

Johnson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
We moved to C'ville 3 years ago (we're UVA professors), and initially had our kids in a private pre-school & kindergarten. When it was time for the kids to matriculate to 1st grade, we looked around, and opted for Johnson Elementary, our neighborhood public school in Johnson Village. Johnson teachers are superb (challenging, and they run a tight ship), the kids love it (we walk to school every day with our Johnson Village neighbors), and Johnson parents (our neighbors -- a number of whom are UVA affiliates) are really involved. The teacher-to-student ratio is great, and the principal is an excellent educator. We've told many friends about Johnson, and, after shopping around, two of our out-of-district friends who previously had their kids in private schools opted to enroll their kids at Johnson. Overall, a very strong, highly recommended school.


Johnson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 14, 2010
- a parent
Dedicated and energetic teachers! Great neighborhood school.

Johnson Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 14, 2010
- a parent
Dedicated and energetic teachers! Great neighborhood school.

Johnson Elementary School 2

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2009
- a parent
Great school with wonderful teachers and assistent teacher, lovely students and a great principal. Great diverse teaching methods that can focus on each student's individual achievement level.

Johnson Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a parent
Terrific little school with an energetic, friendly and dedicated staff. Students are encouraged to take pride in their work and their school with an emphasis on respect for their classmates and teachers. Wonderful principal who genuinely cares about his students, staff and school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Johnson Elementary School
1645 Cherry Avenue, Charlottesville, VA  22903
(434) 245-2417
Last modified Johnson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Johnson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top