Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended Jackson Via from 2011 until 2015, when she finished. Dr. Daniels is an excellent principal and knows all the children by name. That is true for almost all the teachers in the schools. They not only knew my children's name, they knew mine. This is a wonderful community-based school where you get to go to schools with your neighbors. Because of the interpersonal relationships, children at this school receive an excellent elementary education. I am more than satisfied for the way my daughter was prepare for upper elementary school.

Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
My son attended K-4 at Jackson Via, it was a great experience. The administration and staff were all wonderful and caring. Not sure why this school isn't rated higher but its one of Charlottesville best kept secrets.


Jackson-Via Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to all the administration, staff, the principal, Quest teacher, and after-school program. Great job!

Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
Our experience at Jackson Via has been very positive: our daughter loves school and she loves learning. In addition to academics, JV puts great emphasis on reading, arts, music, physical education, and overall health. The atmosphere at school is very friendly and inclusive and we've been very happy with teachers, they are extremely professional and devoted to children.

Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Our experience after two years, sending our daughter to 1st and 2d grade, is that Jackson-Via is *fabulous*. We moved from a different elementary district in C-ville; that school has a better reputation and we thought it was quite good for our son (who attended K-4). However, we have found Jackson-Via to be even better, despite it not having as good a reputation. The administration is talented and dedicated; the teachers are loving, dedicated, and rigorous. The school goes the extra mile for *all* the kids, from the excellent gifted program ("Qwest") our daughter is in to the after-school enrichment clubs and tutoring they do for kids who are struggling. The classes are small, the school feels like a "homey" community. What more could we want?


Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
We moved out of district after two years here (my son's kindergarten and first-grade years). I miss this school VERY much. The teachers were wonderful, Dr. MacKay and Mr. Allers were incredible, and as another parent pointed out, the art and music programs were first rate. My son loved before and after school care. We miss you, Ms. Lee! My son is currently at a school that is rated much higher than this one and I am not at all happy with his experience here.

Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2008
- a parent
As children, neither me nor my husband attended public school and we were skeptical of the quality of education our oldest would receive from a public institution. We have to admit that the Kindergarten year with Mrs Bryant and Ms. Williams has been wonderful and we were quite impressed. We were also pleased with the participation of the parents and most of the parents are truly involved. Dr McKay and Mr. Allers work very hard to provide a loving, nurturing environment for all of the children and are often seen dancing on the roof or wearing goofy hats to celebrate a Jackson-Via triumph. I would recommend this school to anyone, but especially new-comer's to the area, as we know too well how confusing these reviews can be.

Jackson-Via Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2008
- a parent
I could not have been happier with my son's experience at this school. I also disagree with the reviewer who felt the principal was out of touch: my experience has been that she is caring, intelligent, and fiercely devoted to the school and to her students. Art and music are excellent here, which is amazing given that so often children are not getting enough exposure to them in school any longer.


Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
This school was a wonderful experience for both of my girls. The teachers and administration do a great job. The highlight is an intor to orchestra class in the 4th grade.

Jackson-Via Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2004
- a parent
One of Charlottesville's best kept secrets. Two of my children have graduated from Jackson-Via and are doing quite well at city middle schools, and the youngest still attends. The staff is very caring. Class sizes are very small, allowing instruction to be personalized. The population is diverse both ethnically and economically, but the staff and families share the common goal of getting the best education for the students. There's a real sense of community.

Nearby schools

Jackson-Via Elementary School
508 Harris Rd, Charlottesville, VA  22903
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (434) 245-2416
Last modified Jackson-Via Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top