Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hugo A. Owens Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1117 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

My child lost faith in the school in 6th grade. I have had to deal with an incident or two and neither were resolved. There is a disconnect between staff and parents. The school web site and edline.net are horrendous; both are severely underutilized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Hugo Owens has been a great local school. Mr. Perez has made this school welcoming and full of pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

Some of the teachers are absolutely horrendous. We've had problems (as have several other parents) with many of our kids' teachers. The staff and administration show inadequacies, and in general are cold and ineffective. My daughter was actually punched 3 times during lunch when a fight broke out next to her - a teacher saw my child on the ground crying in pain, and told her to "shake it off" and never addressed the issue. When I approached the principal, we were told the teacher didn't report that my daughter was caught up in the fight, and "must not have seen it". The boys were suspended, but no medical attention or even common decency was shown to my daughter. Between that, the nearly complete lack of attention toward the kids, and the numerous sightings of mice and roaches, I give Hugo an overall rating of 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

This is my daughter's first year at Hugo and she has been very happy there. She has excelled at her classes and joined some very fun and fulfilling after school clubs. She has made a lot of friends and is happy to go everyday. My child is not "gifted" but an average student who works hard and is rewarded for her effort. In some schools the average student falls through the cracks but that has not been the case at Hugo. <b> This school is one of the more economically diverse in the area, being so can lower the over all test scores which brings the GS score down. Don't let that dissuade you from this wonderful school, it is full of great teachers and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

My son went to HOMS for two years and will be going to high school in 08-09. I feel that there is too much emphasis on the SOLs in the district of Chesapeake as a whole. HOMS was a wonderful school for my son. You will not find a more caring principal than Mr. Sykes. He truely loves each and every child and HOMS and it shows. Because of this love, Mr. Sykes was nominated by dozens of people (co-workers and parents) and was chosen administrator of the school year 07'-08'. What people think on the outside, especially in Chesapeake, is not always true. As a parent, there is no other school in Chesapeake that I would have rather had my son go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

I am a proud student at Hugo Owens Middle. I have to say that from what i have seen this is the best middle school in the district, no lye! I am an 6th grade honor student taking pre algebra. So i know what is tuff,(doing 8th grade math!). I love my principal Mr, Sykes! the moment i say him i new, that he was going to encourage us to be the best! our sol scores have beat all middle school in the district except great birdge middle and we plan on excelling past them this year! there involvement in ar is finominal! every 6 weeks our principal pulls a name out of the box declaring if you have won $100. Our sports groups are excellent! drama and the year book committee are awesome too! hickory and great bridge may be known as the best but we are!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

Hugo is a great school! I love it for the year and a half I have been there. All the teachers are the best they could be and each to all they can to help each student. They even get one on one if needed. I'm so glade I go there and wouldn't rather be anywhere else!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2007

This school sadly like most is more concerned with the SOL performance of the school than the individual needs of the student. Instead of viewing children as individuals with specific needs this school forces compliance and conformity above all else. The rigitity of rules allows no room for common sense or for teacher input. Sadly there is no better alternative in public schools at this time. When are we going to become fed up enough to pursue change where we are again concerned with the development of the whole child? Hugo Owens has some fantastic teachers that make the most of the environment they are forced to teach in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

My son has been going to Hugo A. Owens now for two years. This has been the best school he has been to. The teachers at Hugo Owens are very helpful. They take the time to make sure each student gets the information they need. It is really a wonderful school for your children to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

10 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

11 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students80%
Male students72%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial76%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students85%
Female students90%
Male students79%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial86%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students78%
Male students74%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial90%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students60%
Female students61%
Male students59%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial91%
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students72%
Male students70%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial61%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

English: Writing

All Students73%
Female students80%
Male students66%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial67%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students75%
Female students74%
Male students76%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial80%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students82%
Female students81%
Male students84%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial89%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:28 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Amber N. Dortch
Fax number
  • (757) 558-5386

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1997 Horseback Run
Chesapeake, VA 23323
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 558-5382

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT