Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
70 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Veritas Christian Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Fantastic Families and Students; Dynamic Faculty and Administration. Leadership and training up Scholars are the highest priorities of the school. The school has an awesome international community, with students from China, Korea, Thailand, Spain, Taiwan, and Japan, and is a community unlike any other school in the area. Its truly a school where we want our children, global and multicultural, exactly where the Church should be today, and it does so without sacrificing its Christian faith and values. We have been here for a number of years, and will continue until our daughter graduates. Bravo to the administration, for stepping out in faith, and following through with all their vision: A brand new campus!!! We love it! Thank you!!

Veritas Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Elgut, for the care and nurture she gives our students. I have never met someone who cared for my child as much as I.


Veritas Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Veritas has always had the best faculty. This year, they have added so much, including a new arts program, personal training, as well as TOEFL and ESL.

Veritas Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Great balance of school and homework. Upper school students are given a bell a day, called Colloquy, to get work done so that they may participate in extra-curricular activities.

Veritas Christian Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Character development is top priority, as students in the upper school are placed with mentors, to help develop their leadership and character.


Veritas Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
All high school students are required to serve a minimum of 80 hours per year of community Service.

Veritas Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
The school has a very disciplined honor code and high expectations put upon student character.

Veritas Christian Academy 5

Posted December 27, 2014
- a parent
Veritas has provided an excellent education for all of my children. It's a very warm and loving, yet academically rich and spiritually sound. My children have all been educated at Veritas, and all have very sound reasoning skills, rigorous academic skills, yet a firm belief of who they are in Christ. The school has managed to be academically rigorous, College Prep, yet without compromising their faith. The school is not perfect by any means, but who is. They do the best they can with what they have, and thats a Lot! I am very proud of the school, and look forward to see what God has for it ion the future. My children are all the better for it!


Veritas Christian Academy 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a community member
I have been attending Veritas from sincere ninth grade and am now a Senior at the school. The feeling of community and family at Veritas is amazing, I feel as if my class is my family. The headmaster, Mr. Elgut and Director, Mr. Keating, can be seen around any corner and are open to discussions about any problem you may have with the school and will address them as they deem fit. They are also found at many of the sporting events cheering for the students. The teachers are most certainly academic, but still love you. They expect the absolute best from you and will go out of their way, staying after school and during lunch to help you grasp the concepts. We are taught to think for ourselves, but in a way that still glorifies God. I cannot think of a single class in which we do not discuss how God pertains to that subject, including math! Overall, Veritas is a very well rounded school that has changed my life for the better. I know the administration is seeking a new facility for the future, and pray our Lord meets thief needs. Simply put, this is a great school!

Veritas Christian Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2012
- a parent
I am a public school teacher and a product of public schools. If you are considering a private school, I can use this forum to tell you why I believe Veritas is an exceptional choice. My daughter has been going there since first grade. Mrs. Powers and Miss Vinson are wonderful! Mr. Keating is the best swimming coach in the world! If you are looking for a Christian school that has a staff who will encourage your child to achieve their best, this is the school for you. At Veritas, they will be academically challenged, but not left behind due to their small sized classes. These children are constantly exposed to clear Christian values. This small dedicated staff and parents have produced elaborate musicals such as Guys and Dolls and Fiddler on the Roof. Have no doubt, your child WILL be exposed to the arts unlike so many other schools. Carolyn Venable is most amazing art teacher who knows how to elicit any talent your child might have. The Elguts are a married couple with five children who founded this school with a vision that they have managed to make a reality due to their faith, reputation, and love for the Veritas "family."

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Veritas Christian Academy
1208 Centerville Turnpike North, Chesapeake, VA  23320
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (757) 410-5095
Last modified Veritas Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top