Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 334 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2010

When we moved into this community we were very happy for our children to attend Lakeview Elementary, because we had heard wonderful things about this school. One thing that I found out by volunteering at the school was this school is ran by clicks. If you aren't into the 'in crowd', of parents then your experience there will be very uncomfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

Lakeview Elementary is a wonderful school. The principal, Kim Evans, is a strong, intelligent role model for all of the students. She requires students to be respectful and disciplined. I have two children in this school now, and more to follow. I will not leave this district solely due to Lakeview. The PTO is a great asset to the faculty and students. Parent involvement is great! There are many extracurricular activities. The school has been accredited since the beginning of this standard. The teachers treat the students with the utmost respect. I could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

My daughter is in 5th grade and has Mrs. Chance. My daughter had previously been schooled in the private sector so I was concerned about public school. My concern has been unfounded. All of the staff is 100% kid oriented. From the principal on down. All of the programs are excellent. Teacher involvement with the kids is one on one. My daughter has maintained her honor roll status and has been offered extra time from her teacher on math to make sure she gets it before they move on. I went to Lakeview when I was a child and I am proud that my daughter has also attended and has achieved so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I love the school they really pushed my son to exceed which in turn made him feel better about himself, the only complaint that I had was one of the office personnel, I guess in like most places she feels herself important enough to judge you and your children, as she would turn her nose up if you were late or forgot something, or just had something going on in your life, etc. just not friendly at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Lakeview has been very good for my son except for this year!He's now in second grade,And we have had alot of rude comments from his teacher.My son and other students have went home crying and complaining about this teacher.My son said she yells at her students if they mess up on their work.I have talked to other parents and their child has been coming home upset!Student should trust and be comfortable with their teacher to learn not to be scared of her!I hope other parents will finally stand up for the sake of their child and bring this to the school.Our children deserve to learn and be treated with respect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

Lakeview Elementary is a great school. The staff is wonderful in educating the children, there is an active PTO. Parents meet with the elected schol board to ask qeustions and submit ideas for inmprovement. The weekly newsletter is a great way to keep parents informed of what is happening at Lakeview. The kindergarten class rooms have computers and the children are learning computers. There are programs for bi-lingual students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

To all whom inquire about Lakeview Elementary: It is a terrific school! The teachers inspire, all staff are friendly,and the curriculum is mentally challenging and fulfilling. The Principal keeps parents completely informed with a weekly newsletter and web page. The school promotes world acclimation,and is highly involved with humane issues of all variety. There is also an aura of individual spirituality, which can be sensed at all school functions and meetings. My daughter attended first grade,and we absolutely adored her teacher, Mrs. Suzanne Davis. We also think highly of the Librarian,and school Nurse. I saw a complete positive turn around in my child's personality(she was shy)in one month. I am more than satisfied with all aspects of this school,and look foward to the coming years. Thank you Lakeview, Sandra J. Johnson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

I would like to praise the faculty and the school for an outstanding school. My daughter attends the 2nd grade and the amount of work that she brings home is more than adequate to challenge her young brain and to develop and prepare for the next level. The school offers a curriculum that is more than appropriate for my daughter's learning ability and emphasizes her to try harder and put in 110% into her work. A+ for Lakeview Elementary in my book. -Edward B. Mendez, Colonial Heights
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

I rate this school a very great school. My little girl is only in Kindergarten, getting ready to go to the first grade and she had a wonderful teacher for kindergarten. My husband and I never had any problems with the teacher and my little girl learned a lot and already she is ready to go to the first grade now. The teacher always said hi to me when I ate lunch with her and the whole staff speaks to you by atleast saying hi. There was not that many in her class and I thought that was great so each student could get the same amount of learning time. If I had to tell a parent where to move in the districts I would say Lakeview Elementary district because it is a wonderful school with a very nice principal, less kids, and they take time with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

The principal rarely comes out of his office. He does not disciple the students. One teacher (of 4)in the fifth grade gives way too much homework. The teachers try to do a very good job but are hampered by lack of leadership.


Posted February 23, 2004

I think that Lakeview is great, because everybody is so involved & so concerned about each and every child. They treat each child special. My son has a speech problem & they made sure that he got the special help that he needed. It is great. He is in third grade now & I can understand alot more of what he is saying now than I could before he started speech class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students90%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students64%
Female students60%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students88%
Female students85%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students75%
Male students75%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students90%
Female students92%
Male students88%
Black students90%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students94%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students67%
Female students84%
Male students55%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students82%
Female students78%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students76%
Female students74%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Valerie Wiggins

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Taswell Ave
Colonial Heights, VA 23834
Phone: (804) 524-3435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

North Elementary School
Colonial Heights, VA


Evangel Christian School
Colonial Heights, VA




Tussing Elementary School
Colonial Heights, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT