Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Pattie Sr. Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 691 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

My kids have really enjoy this school and I can say that the staff is amazing, the principal is very engaging and responsible. The PTCO moms always working hard to great community oriented activities. My youngest is about know to begin Kindergarden there as well. School is located in a great neighborhood...the kind of place were you want to see your kids grow along with great friends. My kids have been very focused thanks to their teacher evolvement. None the less parents involvement is key for a child's successful education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

i love this school! my son finished kindergarten there about his last 6 weeks because we are a military family and moved at the end of the school year. he loved going to school there and finished 1st grade before we had to move again. they teachers are very approachable and understanding and the office folks are so nice and helpful. I would send them to this school again. all of my children would. they listen to the parents concerns and i have had no problems reaching them or getting a conference set up. they listen and always come up with suggestions. parents are very involved in their kids educations! only positive things to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I have to say I am very disappointed in this school. I had high expections the reputation was very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

i have three children attending Pattie. They all started in K and have moved through the 4th grade now - 14 teachers in all. 95% of this time has been wonderful. The VP is wonderful, approachable and responsive. Having a child with special needs of classroom support - they were so proactive. My only disappointments are with just 2 teachers who I feel have let my boy down. While it's expressly not tolerated somehow his teacher in 3rd grade ignored the bullying and exclusion of him. "why don't you just go and read. Why don't you just not play with them." while to some extent this is understandable there is also nothing done to the offenders. VERY SAD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

its one of the best and richest i love it. Its awesome the teachers are great the school is and etc...


Posted February 20, 2011

I am very pleased with the education my children are receiving at John F. Pattie Sr Elementary. Most of the teachers exceed my expectations. This school has a family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

We are somewhat new to this area and we LOVE Pattie!! I find the education there to be top-notch and such AMAZING teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

We love Pattie! The teachers are awesome, the assistant principle & principle are great, the set up with the two buildings is wonderful, the parent involvment is amazing.....we love Pattie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2006

We are very disappointed in Pattie Elementary. We specifically moved to this neighborhood to attend this school, but were surprised to find it lacking in some important areas. The special education department failed to provide our daughter what she needed to succeed in the classroom environment. The Vice Principal is very resistant to parental opinion regarding accomodations. It appears to be a fine school for the average student but if your child has special needs they may not be met at Pattie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

Both my children have attended Pattie. The principal & teachers are a cohesive group working together to provide the best educational environment. Parent involvement is welcomed. The teachers strive hard to met the needs of all the children in their classrooms. The gifted education program is one of the best in the area. There's diversity in the student mix which provides a great opportunity for the children to learn and understand about different types of backgrounds. The music program is developed around the course curriculum and offers many wonderful opportunities for children to perform. Parental involvement in the classroom is readily welcomed. The PTO needs better support, but is difficult to develop in the transient community the school is based in. Afterschool activities are minimal, but there are many local sports programs available to children in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

We have a kindergarden student and truly love this school. They have a great speech pathology program through Prince Williams Child Find Program and we love the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2003

Pattie has helped our LD child grow academically her first year there and we still have half the school year to go. The teachers are caring, yet professional. The principal is warm, approachable, and knows practically every child's name. He makes it a point to greet all and hear about their day. As the school motto goes: Pattie is a fine, fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students76%
Male students73%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial92%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students61%
Female students62%
Male students60%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial75%
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students85%
Black students92%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial100%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students65%
Male students67%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students59%
Female students58%
Male students60%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students83%
Male students86%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students78%
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students76%
Female students78%
Male students73%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students81%
Female students79%
Male students84%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students88%
Female students86%
Male students90%
Black students70%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16125 Dumfries Rd
Dumfries, VA 22026
Phone: (703) 670-3173

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT