Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Halley Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 735 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

The GreatSchools Rating does not correctly reflect the academic level of this school. This school has special education classes which tends to bring down the overall standard test scores but, general classes do very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

I have a Kindergartner at Halley. His teacher, Ms. Cerami is amazing and the staffs have been very nice and helpful. My kid loves it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

This is an amazing school, my two kids studied there and we are so happy that they belonged to this school. Teachers, staff and all the organization is so good, it has been a very good experience having our kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

Poor comminication from school, no attention from teachers. It's our second year and really disappointed so far. If you have that choice, consider going to one of AP schools in the area. The difference is huge in our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

We love this school. Our children have attended Halley for more than two years now and we really think highly of the teachers, staff and students. The school has a fantastic PTO, a strong curriculum, friendly staff and plenty of opportunities for advanced academic study. We feel very lucky to have our children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

We moved here from Colorado Springs, I was disappointed with the school my kids attended there and it was rated a 7. What I have quickly learned is schools in this area are at a different level than the rest of the country. A 6 here has got to be a 9 back in CO. I love Halley! My daughter is being challenged and she has such an amazing third grade teacher that inspires her to be in the advanced classes. I have seen my daughter come home proud to be moved up into advanced math and Language Arts. I am impressed with how organized the school is and how parent friendly it is. My first grader loves school too and his teacher is very good. Very surprised this school rates a 6. I have yet to meet a parent unhappy with this school. They look at each child and place them accordingly. Whether they are advanced or not. Very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

This is school is wonderful and has extremely high school spirit especially when considering surrounding schools. The school rating is a bit skewed if you compare against nearby schools such as Silverbrook elemetary. Halley's ratings for Math are extremely high, more so that surrounding schools, yet Reading is somewhat lower. This is due to the higher diversity and children whom speak more than one language. It is an extremely well rounded school and am extremely happy with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My daughter attended Kindergarten at Halley during the 2010-2011 school year. We loved the school, the teachers and the family feel that the school has. I think the prinicipal is doing an excellent job and the teacher my daughter had in Kindergarten was terrific. We couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

I am surprised theat this school does not have a higer rating. Two of my children attend this school and I could not be happier. They have been at the school about 3 years now. The teachers are great along with most of the staff. The counselor is questionable, seems to see things through rose colored glasses and the school nurse needs to review her policy about notifying parents of lice outbreaks. Other than that I am very pleased especially with the encouragement of parent envolvment. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

For a school that takes pride in having a Bully-Nots program, they are very hypocritical about bullying. My son went there for 2 years and it were the most brutal years of his life. For those 2 years, my son didn't have friends and was constantly bullied and labeled names by his peers. He was showing all the signs of being bullied but the staff chose to ignore those signs. When he talked to the counselor, they would always find a way to make my son look like the bad guy. The same was true when he would tell the teacher if someone was bullying him. The tables turned however when he started standing up for himself and they were labeling him as the instigator not the victim. Overall, if I knew he would have gone through all this, I would have payed extra money to be in another boundary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

I love the small class rooms and the teachers truly love their jobs. We're a military family and move almost every year. It is always so dissapointing to move into a new school with disgruntled and grumpy teachers. There are true professionals at Halley who love their jobs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

We have no words to describe how greatful we are for Halley School, programs for kids with special needs and the entire staff. Our son has speach delay issues and thank you to the great support provided the fairfax country programs for children with special needs and the wonderful work of Halley staff our son has make a such a progress and we are able to communicate with him. The first time my son called me Mom and I knew he really knew what the word meant, was one of the greatest moments of my life. Thank you Hallaey for the Wonderful work you do for all our kids and for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

There is no way I could ever put in writing how wonderful this school is. From Mrs. Funk to every teacher and specialist, the atmosphere is dynamic and exciting. Their counselors are god-sends, the teachers are a team and the kids love going to school. I have 2 students at Halley and we, as a family could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We absolutely love Halley! I have a kindergartner and a 1st grader and am so proud that we will be attending again next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Everyone from Janet Funk to each teacher provides an environment that encourages learning, respect and high standards of performance. I feel blessed to have each of them in my child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I am surprised to see this school receive such a low rating. This will be our third year at Halley, and we could not be more pleased. Our son entered Halley in 3rd grade, and we hope that we will be in the area long enough for him to finish 6th. The teachers are outstanding, and the environment is very welcoming and friendly. There are many opportunities for parent involvement, and there is fantastic leadership in the administration. We can't wait for the open house 'advertisement' in August, in which the entire staff board school buses and drive around to meet students in the various neighborhoods Halley serves. We are looking forward to another great year at Halley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

We just love Halley. Our son went there for 2 years and we had to move away. The school allows a lot of parent involvement - not just PTA, but parents can attend morning program and eat lunch with their children everyday! Beautiful, clean building too. Friendly teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

My son has attended Halley for 3 years. We moved into the school during the middle of his Kindergarten year from overseas. The school administrators were fabulous about transitioning my son smoothly and easily. This school has fantastic leadership and teachers. The extra activities like the amazing Morning Program which originated here and is being spread to many other schools as well as a strong non bullying program makes this school just over and above. I know before I started being involved with this school they had lower test scores, but I know the school is doing great on tests now. Just a wonderful wonderful school with tons of parental involvement. I am very sad to be moving from the area and leaving the school behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Halley Elementary is an extraordinary school, where the staff and parents work to ensure that all kids have an equal opportunity to succeed. When offered the option of changing schools, we declined without reservation, even though the new school would have been a gifted/talented opportunity for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students59%
Male students68%
Black students50%
Asian students71%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students63%
Female students64%
Male students63%
Black students52%
Asian students86%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students76%
Female students79%
Male students73%
Black students52%
Asian students100%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students70%
Male students64%
Black students61%
Asian students80%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students75%
Female students70%
Male students82%
Black students61%
Asian students94%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students61%
Female students77%
Male students47%
Black students50%
Asian students71%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English68%

English: Writing

All Students60%
Female students72%
Male students49%
Black students57%
Asian students70%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students46%
Female students55%
Male students40%
Black students37%
Asian students54%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White students57%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English50%

Science

All Students48%
Female students63%
Male students36%
Black students42%
Asian students50%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White students50%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient students31%
Proficient in English57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students88%
Male students81%
Black students65%
Asian students90%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students76%
Female students82%
Male students65%
Black students50%
Asian students91%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8850 Cross Chase Circle
Fairfax Station, VA 22039
Phone: (703) 551-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Silverbrook Elementary School
Fairfax Station, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT