Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Fairfax, VA
Students enrolled: 628

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. We just moved back to the states after being abroad for many years and started our 8 yr old son here. We were so worried about his transition. It has been so smooth, thanks to the incredible staff and his phenomenal teachers (Ms. Barrea & Ms. Vossler). We could not be happier with this school. Also their PTA plans such wonderful activities and the after school programs are excellent.

Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a community member
This is the best elementary school ever! I went here for seven years and loved every year. I learned so much and it has helped me quite a bit because right now I am in middle school. All of the teachers make learning so fun! I have also been in SACC (School Aged Child Care) for seven years and it was wonderful. I loved the variety of activities and the fact that they have a designated portion od the day for homework and snacks.


Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
Fairhill ES has got to be one of the best schools in the country. Here's why. The principal and vice principal are intimately involved in al the student body activities. These include greeting children every day, at lunchtime and at all extracurricular activities. The culture of respect is very strong and the teachers are extraordinarily patient, understanding and helpful. The special education staff functions very effectively as a team to successfully connect with special children and tailor effective programs for their development. The fitness, music and art programs are motivating and fun. The PTA is strong and well supported, several events held annually have become popular local traditions. The School Aged Child Care at Fairhill, outside of regular school hours, excels ate prompting students homework, crafts, performing arts and cheer leading. Our family is extremely pleased with this great school.

Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Fairhill! All teachers I've met in our 4 years there have been committed and foster a genuine culture of respect. Principal is friendly and accessible, she greets the kids personally most every day! I love that. We are in the AA track now, and that is going really well, all three specialty teachers that have been hired are getting great reviews. THe staff do a number of activities with the kids outside school as well. Evening events are always well attended, and my DD loves seeing her teachers there as well.

Fairhill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
The faculty really go out of their way to make this a tremendous schhol. They volunteer their time and energy for extracurricular activities such as fitness classes before school, and track practice after school. My children have thrived here!


Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Fairhill introduced GT Center Level IV Advanced Curriculum in 2007. My older son has participated in the program and have been amazed at the quality of teaching and curriculum. In 1st and 2nd grade, he also got to participate in GT enrichment courses that were excellent. The GT Specialist Ashley Hickcox is amazingly committed to the kids and she is a wonderful teacher. Aside from the GT curriculum, Fairhill is an excellent environment that does not tolerate bullying and reinforces diversity and tolerance.

Fairhill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Fairhill Elementary School teaches our children not only academics but genuine manners and responsibility for self, community and our world.

Fairhill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Fairhill Elementary school has high expectations for our children. They know that they are going to school to learn about becoming great global citizens, as well as high achievers in academics. Fairhill teachers our children respect for self, others, and property. They love going to school each day and are constantly recognized for the positive way they behave!


Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
This school has a small school feel and intimacy. The principal knows a lot of children by name. This is a very caring environment! Also we have been very impressed about the teaching quality.

Fairhill Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
We loved our son's kindergarten teacher. And first grade is off to a successful start!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairhill Elementary School
3001 Chichester Ln, Fairfax, VA  22031
(703) 208-8100
Last modified Fairhill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fairhill Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top