Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chancellor High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 10, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Saltz was my Latin teacher from 9th through 12th grade, and he brought "life" back to a dead language. But beyond a teacher, he was a mentor, an inspiration and a friend. Besides being a gifted linguist, he also was very knowledgeable about the goings on in the world and was always open to discussing and nurturing critical and independant thinking in any student who was willing to talk with him about it. He was funny, interesting and wanted to make genuine connections with all of his students. He was one of my major influences to come and study at Virginia Tech, and in some of my dark and stressful times that every Highschooler goes through, Latin class was there to brighten my day and help me to escape the stress of life. Thank you Mr. Saltz for all of the time, money, effort and soul that you put into your carreer and make your passion a passion of mine for the four years I was able to study under you. I miss you and hope that your now living an amazing life as a married man. I hope to someday soon sit down and have another philosophical discussion, now I am a bit older, wiser, and doing what you taught me to do. Follow my passion and enjoy life.

Chancellor High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 10, 2016
- a community member
Many of the teachers here are passionate about what they teach, and are knowledgeable about the subject matter. It takes great patience, compassion and a love of knowledge to be a teacher, and all three of theses traits are evident in every teacher and faculty member present at Chancellor High School.


Chancellor High School 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a community member
Chancellor High School was a diverse, inclusive and educational experience for me for four years. Through it I was able to excell in both my passion in STEM science as well as my interest in the arts. The music program is phenominal with excellent award winning teachers, as well as its drama club, languages, and visual arts. There is an enormous sense of pride with being a chancellor charger, and a enormous area tolearn how to cooperate and network with a diverse pool of individuals. I study Biochemistry at Virginia Tech under a Premed track, and I can honestly say, Chancellor High school helped to shape and hone my interests and passions to guide me where I am today. The Principal Mrs. Bass-Fortune is an outstanding woman who treats every student fairly however maintains order amongst a crowd of hormonal adolscents 9 months out of the year. My only regret was leaveing after such a short amount of time and being swept away in the riptide of college. Some may have negative opinions about the school as they havn't been able to find their passions. I find in my life that it is easy to write a negative review on anything and negativity is highly contagious. Chancellor is by no mans a perfect High Schoo, but in all honesty, what school is. For the time I spent, the people I met and the lessons I leaned for those four years, I can proudly claim to have been a Charger and would recomend teh school system to anyone looking into the area.

Chancellor High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
The teachers utilize a wide variety of techniques to ensure students understand the information being taught.

Chancellor High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter attended a nearby high school for one year and was overwhelmed by the amount of work assigned.


Chancellor High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff always encourage the students to see projects through to their completion despite obstacles and show understanding when students have extenuating circumstances.

Chancellor High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Most Morning Charge and announcements emphasize students respecting one another despite their backgrounds and beliefs.

Chancellor High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff take the students situations into consideration and use all situations to educate and improve the students compassion and empathy.


Chancellor High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter was being bothered by other students. The teachers and administration listened to her complaints and investigated objectively and handled the situation quickly but fairly. Mrs Bass=Fortune is a very experienced and objective Principal.

Chancellor High School 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
Both my children attended Chancellor High School from 2010 -2016. The teachers and administration were outstanding and attentive to their needs. My son graduated with high honors and was accepted to almost every school he applied t, including ivy league schools. He had the highest non athletic sponsored scholarship offers in the school. The AP preparation exceeded those of nearby high schools in the county. My daughter is more artistic and was a member of the Symphonic Band and Orchestra in addition to the Women's elite choir. Chancellor received Blue Ribbon's for achieving superior marks in all fine arts every year.

Nearby schools

Chancellor High School
6300 Harrison Rd, Fredericksburg, VA  22407
(540) 786-2606
Last modified Chancellor High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top