Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

T. Benton Gayle Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 906 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

Gayle Middle does not deserve a rating in my book. The Teaching Staff can't even do a simple job that is required of them. How do they expect the pupils to understand the ethics of doing their work, when the Teachers can't even do theirs. The three years I've had nothing but issues with them, trying to keep up with the progress of my child's work an grades. Even thou I had to rate it with one star so I could post this comment, it does not deserve the one star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

In my opinion. This school enforces bullying. If your child is not one of their favorites be very careful because I believe your child may be a target of the kids bullying and the schools bullying. This behavior is acceptable based on the adults in the school bullying parents and children when you demand excellence. When you file a complaint the school will begin to target you and bully you. They may need to participate in the DARE bullying part of their own program. This is down from the teachers to top administrators (assistant principal). This has been the worst 3 years. Teachers are horrible, one teacher said my son needed a tutor. I saw how she was teaching and it was obvious she did not know how to teach. That night I showed my son how to do the work and the next day he had his test and scored the highest grade. My child was told he would be suspended if he wore lotion with cologne. Be careful if you are moving into this district. DO NOT BUY A HOUSE YOU WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO GET AWAY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

what goes on here is not at any other school I have been to. Sorry


Posted March 23, 2010

I am a student at gayle middle school. This school is great! Exception of rumors and an upset gym teacher s (which exist at every school). This school is great! Mr. Wandry was great and mr. Upperco is pretty cool too! All for the panthers! ROOOAAARRR!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

This school has caring dedicated teachers that are fully committed to their students. Most subjects have free tutoring available!!! Beautiful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

All three of my children have attended Gayle Middle. Great teachers with a special love for our kids. If your child has special needs you can count on teachers and assistants working together with you and your child to give them the best possible education. If you have children that require advance programs...then the FOCUS program is what you will want to ask about. They allow your child to excel and begin to earn their high school credits. The FOCUS program moves them up in Math, Language and Science when they enter their first year of high school. The Principal, Mr. Upperco, is fantastic with the kids, knowing each by name. The ladies at the front office are the friendliest group of ladies, you can always count on them giving you a smile and 'welcome' when you come through the doors. If you find yourself looking for a home in a county that cares about their schools, choose Stafford...if you need to narrow it down to a district...choose GAYLE Middle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school has provided an incredible learning experience for my son because of their professional, caring staff, dedicated and compassionate teachers and the very special ' ingredient' seldom found anywhere today. Commitment. This school is special because of these people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

I am a student at Gayle middle school.This is my first year here after I moved here from Japan and I believe this school is excellent. The teachers are caring, treat us equally, quick to discipline, and are very active. I was on the football team and am now on the wrestling team. If it was not for my teacher's enthusiasm and encouragement I would be off both teams by now. I often believe I am being challenged more here than I was in Japan but I am willing to accept that. It is real easy to make friends here, by the end of the first day of school I had made at least 20 new friends. Also thanks to Gayle I have really built up my confidence. Gayle is an awesome school. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

the teachers are very involved and care about the kids. That's rare these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2006

I have been really pleased with the staff and the academics at this Middle school. This is my second child that has attended the school and they have loved it. I have volunteered in the classroom at times and have been pleased with student teacher interactions. The teachers are very encouraging and help the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students86%
Male students76%
Black students71%
Asian students100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial77%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students90%
Female students94%
Male students86%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities69%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students89%
Male students78%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial69%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students81%
Female students82%
Male students80%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial76%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students82%
Male students71%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial60%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English78%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students77%
Male students67%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial64%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students53%
Female students59%
Male students47%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English53%

Science

All Students75%
Female students74%
Male students77%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial70%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female studentsn/a
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Panther Drive
Fredericksburg, VA 22406
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 373-0383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Cross Academy
Fredericksburg, VA




The Gladys H Oberle School
Fredericksburg, VA



Faith Baptist School
Fredericksburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT