Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hampton High School

Public | 9-12 | 1508 students

International Baccalaureate Program
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

Hampton High school has a great faculty and staff. They truly care about the students and want them to succeed. The students have a wide variety of classes, clubs and activities to choose from. While Hampton High might be well known for it's sports that is definitely not all it has to offer. It truly is a great school!


Posted October 13, 2013

DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL. We have had numerous bomb threats and fights. My shirt was ruined by applesauce that was thrown on me during the most recent fight at lunch. If you don't wear Diamond Supply, Jordans, Coogi, or Eckno Untd., you automatically don't fit in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2013

It takes a village? Please. It takes parents taking control of their responsibility (children). This is our first year at Hampton. We are there only because the program my child is in is only provided there. Discipline is poor but you can lay that at the feet of parents and also the school board. The board is more concerned with a law suit than anything else. Social engineering seems to be the primary educational goal. If you can afford to, move out of the city entirely, home school or go private. Our experience with the teachers has been very good overall however. With one exceptithison they do their jobs and actually care. In the case of this school, nothing will change until they expelled about 25% of the students there and let them begin their careers elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I have nothing good to say about this school. When my son went to this school years ago, he hated it. Please note that this happened a few years ago and I don't know if it has change since then. Discrimination among students was one big issue. Students skip school all the time and teachers don't care if you go to school or not. Academically, they are slow. Coming from a european U.S. Military base, my son was disappointed that they are still taking lessons that he already took 6 months prior. He was hoping that they were somewhat advance. Therefore, he wasn't challenged and he couldn't wait to move to another school which we eventually did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

Great school, Great staff, Good diversity of backgrounds among students, excellent programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

I am afreshmen at HHS and i LOVE it... I love everything about the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2006

I have a daughter in 9th grade she really enjoys the school and I am thrilled since I graduated from HHS as well. The school has alot to offer and some great teachers. The school started a new program 'the academy' the classes are close together to allow for an easier transition. This worked very well for my daughter and she has done very well with her group of teachers. I have heard some negetive remarks but not had any bad experiences. Ms. Williams is my daughters digital input teacher and she is excellent! She has worked with me and my daughter to help her reach her full potential. The parent involvement could be better but that is a common problem is alot of schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

I am a current student at Hampton High. This is my first year to attend and will be my final. I am a military Brat. and have attended many schools two of which highschools. When i came to this school i was extremely disappointed. Not by the people but by the education. The only thing this school cares about is its foot ball. Thats great but when that becomes the utmost highest importance and its making student ignorant and uneducated. Something must changed. I came to this school and I am in honors and AP classes and still I am not challenged as i should be. There is so much violence, drugs, sex, rasicim for people of caucasin and foreign desent. I can not wait to leave. This school needs to turn around stop looking at sports and spending time if not on other clubs then on its education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2006

Hampton City Schools are some of the worse in the State of Virginia. I attended Lindsay Middle and Hamton High. Both have unqualified teachers and lack social skills. I would never advise a parent, who has the money, to send their child to a dangerous, ignorant, enviornment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 23, 2005

Hampton High is a great school to recieve an education. Yes, there are fights, and there are undisciplined students who would rather roam the halls than attend class, but what school does not have these types of students? At Hampton High, one can be in IB, AP, or Honors classes. That's three levels of difficulty compared to the two levels found in the rest of the Hampton City Schools. Along with academics, HHS is also a very spirited school. I went to Hampton and had the time of my life, and recieved straight A's in the IB program. I think everyone in the city of Hampton should have the opportunity to rock the red -n- white.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 14, 2005

I went to HHS my freshmen and sophmore year. HHS is a great school. They always put there students first, and help them in any way possible. Its a very good school. I would defenitely send my kid there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2005

Hi, this review about Hampton High is going to be horrible. I attend Hampton High and have been for the past two years my sister graduated in 2004 my brother in 2000 and I get the pleasure to leave in 2006. don't get me wrong its a great place to learn they just need to hire more qualifying teachers and not young ones fresh out of college. The security is lacking the administration is terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2004

I strongly feel that it is not all the school and the staff problem. If parents would do what they needed to do at home alot of the problems would not be in schools. I feel that Hampton High is a wonderful school. I graduated from there and now have two sons attending. People are not perfect and it is totally unfair to the school for parents to continue to put blame when they will not do their part! It takes a village now to raise our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2004

Very poor teachers. Some teachers are hired there just to feel quotos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I believe that no matter what school you send your child to, you will see some flaws. However, my niece went to Hampton High and with the outcome of her education, choice of college and being raised by a single parent she did extremely well. Students will roam the halls freely if they could or whatever elese they could get away with, but it does not mean the school lacks discipline maybe it's the student who lacks discipline and every teacher is not qualified to recreate and raise an undisciplined child let alone get paid for it! Hampton High has produced a lot of talented, educated students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

This school has an extreme lack of discipline. Students freely roam the halls and start fights. Teachers get fed up and leave and create spots that young, inexperienced, or just plain poor teachers must fill.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

579 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
90%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
89%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students51%
Female students50%
Male students52%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students50%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English49%

Algebra II

All Students45%
Female students47%
Male students42%
Black students40%
Asian students94%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial46%
White students51%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English44%

Biology

All Students61%
Female students58%
Male students64%
Black students59%
Asian students58%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial73%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English64%

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students81%
Black students81%
Asian students90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Earth Science

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students81%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students78%
Male students79%
Black students78%
Asian students59%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students26%
Proficient in English81%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students74%
Male students64%
Black students67%
Asian students45%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial77%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English71%

Geometry

All Students53%
Female students54%
Male students52%
Black students49%
Asian students93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students62%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient students59%
Proficient in English52%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students81%
Female students82%
Male students80%
Black students81%
Asian students67%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English82%

World Geography

All Students93%
Female students88%
Male students100%
Black students94%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

World History I

All Students79%
Female students75%
Male students82%
Black students78%
Asian students89%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English79%

World History II

All Students77%
Female students74%
Male students80%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Step team

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sharmaine D. Grove
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • aeronautical

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • DECA
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Step team
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1491 W Queen St
Hampton, VA 23669
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 825-4430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






East End Academy
Newport News, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT