Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Hampton, VA
Students enrolled: 496

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a teacher
Tyler is a great school, with a hard working staff, caring administrators and awesome students.

John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a community member
I was a student here four years ago and I am proud to have been called a Tiger. This is an excellent school with wonderful staff. The teachers are very nice and do their job well. Keep on keeping on :)


John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a teacher
My school is GREAT! The administrators and staff are very attentive! They are great at solving issues that occur within the school setting as well as assisting with neighborhood issues that tend to trickle in. They work well with parents and do all they can to assist in any way they can. I LOVE TYLER!

John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a teacher
This is the greatest school with the greatest staff and student. I love Tyler and especially the students.

John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
My son's school (My school) is fantastic, the teachers and staff are a family and we are proud to be apart of this family.


John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Awesome staff and school. Looking to be here until the 5th grade. I glad my daughter is here at this school. Ms. Burrow is great with her. She is learning more than her previous school.

John Tyler Elementary School 4

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Tyler Elementary is very attentive to the needs of my child and his academic growth. His teachers have all been wonderful about keeping us informed of progress and areas of concern alike.

John Tyler Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a teacher
The teachers, assistants, staff and specialists at Tyler elementary school live the Hampton City Schools vision/motto. They do whatever the need to help every child, every day, whatever it takes. Just walk through the doors and you will feel welcome. It is easy to see that each teacher cares and knows how to teach.


John Tyler Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was in the special education program at Tyler, it was a horrible experience!! She has autism, but no one had any idea how to teach her, calm her down, redirect her at all. It was really heartbreaking to see her come home everyday very anxious and high strung because she had been crying all day. The special ed class had a huge range of grades K-5, absolutely ridiculous!! She did not get any attention at all, there was no way for them to work on her IEP goals b/c they were so overwhelmed! We only lasted 2 weeks at this school we couldn't last any longer. Her teachers & principal were in agreement that maybe another placement would be best however, Hampton special Ed office did not agree and tried to convince me to give them time to "train" their teachers!!! So needless to say she is in a much better situation in a different school district. Newport news has better classes at kiln creek, riverside, nelson elem for autism and Yorktown/Williamsburg school district is definitely worth looking into you won't be disappointed) If you have a child in special Ed in Hampton you need all the prayer and help you can get. Unfortunately we had to get out of Hampton altogether!!

John Tyler Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
How dare you demean the former principal of Tyler Elementary! The compassion Mrs. House showed for ALL children in that school was tremendous. She maintained a standard of excellence and NO ...she did not tolerate inappropriate behavior and disrepect. She ran a tight ship and the school was extremely successful because of it. Parents need to do their part so that the school and the teachers can do theirs. The principal should not have to pascify parents who won't take responsibilities for their own kids! The public needs to know that Mrs. House left Tyler in good shape...let's just see what the end of this year will bring since she left!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Tyler Elementary School
57 Salina St, Hampton, VA  23669
(757) 727-1075
Last modified John Tyler Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Tyler Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top