Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
60 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcnair Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
I am extremely thankful for the timely clarifications my son's teacher provides on assignments even late in the night. We even got homework emailed when my son was out sick. I have never had such an experience anywhere else. ThankYou!!!

Mcnair Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
My son is in 4th grade AAP at McNair. He recently moved from Coates. There are only about 18 students in his class. He appreciates the opportunity to participate a variety of challenging activities such as the Geography Bee, DBQs, Word Masters etc. He has been very fortunate to have great teachers all through Kindergarten to 4th grade. His 3rd grade teacher at Coates, Ms. Troiano was awesome. His 4th grade teacher, Ms. Paris is just the same, very responsive, even responds to emails late at night. She takes great care of her students. She emails me my son's homework while he is out sick so he won't miss the lessons. We had a great experience at Coates especially with the PTA and had some initial troubles with McNair but off late they are getting better. They are offering a lot of after school enrichment programs this Spring and it works out really well for us as my son stays at SACC after school. My son had trouble picking just one activity every day of the week from Chess to Robotics to Basketball to Guitar lessons. My son is thriving here and I wouldn't want anything different for him. FCPS has great schools and the teachers here make all the difference. The few interactions I have had with the school staff have been great as well. They really made us feel welcome on the first day of school and we were provided an individual orientation and escorted to class and introduced to the teacher. Regardless of the ratings my son had a great time at Coates and he is looking forward to two more great years at McNair.


Mcnair Elementary School 2

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
We moved from another state a few years ago so our perspective is based upon our previous experiences with different schools and school systems. My son has an IEP and this place is a NIGHTMARE for special needs children! They are simply not equipped with knowledgeable staff on our kids issues. This school is also extremely overcrowded. The only plus is diversity otherwise for special needs I cannot recommend this school. It's been a great disappointment. Communication with staff falls on deaf ears and they barely keep up with the IEPS.

Mcnair Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
All students should be supported especially special needs students who require more support but they do not.

Mcnair Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a 6th Grade AAP student, and has been attending McNair for the last 4 years. We were new in the country and everyone of the teachers has been super cooperative. School is essential and the schools are doing their best to enhance the children with a level of education to compete with the world they are facing and will face in a few years. We the parents left school years ago, and are not familiar with some of the teaching techniques, it is our duty to learn, school is for the kids, they are being taught, they have to learn and understanding what they have to do, homework is not for parents to do. Instead of complaining, encourage your child to be independent and not be lackadaisical in thinking that mom or dad is going to do it.As working parents we do not always have the time to oversee the kids. Teach them responsibilities instead of moaning about how bad the school system is. Teachers are being paid minimal for the level of education required to become a teacher and what they earn for their time, patience and hard work. It is our duty as parents to support them for we sure cannot do a better job, even if some of you can, you do not have the time. Be grateful that teachers love their job and even with cut budgets still try to do an exemplary job on our kids, many who are wayward spoiled and rude, wanting to behave just as they do at home and do not like to be disciplined. Get a grip parents don't blame the FCPS, tell your kids to spend less time doing frivolous things with their electronic gadgets and focus on their school work and all the helpful sites out their to assist them when they don't understand, that includes you the parents also. Parents, let your kids walk to school, if it's 5-10 mins. away and weather permits, why do you want to contribute to the circus? Only buts, one: the cafeteria food needs an upgrade. Two, the crossings on Frying Pan Road needs flashing lights, because drivers are like road hogs, they do not stop or slow down even if kids and parents are almost at the middle of the road waiting to cross. Kudos to Mr Kelly, Mr White, Ms Stoermann, and all the other special teachers who try to make our children the best they can be as youths and into growing adults. Good Job and thank you.


Mcnair Elementary School 3

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
The Teaching: - Doesn't happen much! Its essentially "outsourced" to the parents. Teachers think the parents are committed to their children's education, so very little actual instruction happens in class (let the parents figure it out themselves) - There are 30-35 kids per class, teachers do not spend any time with anyone - Most of the new teachers do not have any patience, they shout at the children - The school recently started a BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) policy, and was expected to use personal iPads etc. for instruction, class lessons, etc. Not much of that happened. Instead, the kids just play app games during recess time on their iPads Homework Machine: - Their concept of teaching is "show a video" and give LOTS of homework, the parents will figure it out at home - Sometimes, even on Fridays and during vacation days, the students get homework! Admin Staff & PTA - Quite rude. The front office staff never smiles or welcomes the parents, they almost treat them like a burden! - The PTA is only concerned about after school camps and money. A select group of people run it, and if you even make any suggestions during the PTA meetings, they are just dis-regarded. A big problem in this school is the kiss & ride. The principal sent an email a few weeks back talking about the "new & improved" kiss and ride, but all they've done is just paint a few parking spots yellow. I am not sure how it will solve the basic issue. There is ONLY ONE entry & exit out of kiss and ride, thus creating a choke point. In so many PTA meetings, people have raised this issue, that a different exit point needs to be created, so cars and come & go in a smooth manner. But, like many other things, it doesn't seem the school administration pays much attention to what is really needed to fix the issue. Till then, it continues to be a morning mayhem and circus!

Mcnair Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Home work is just right and quite challenging too but the most appreciated homework stop coming home :-(

Mcnair Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I have mixed opinion. My two kids are in the school. One teacher is good at everything other than organizing the class room. the class always look so messy how they will teach to stay organized?? The other teacher is organized but very rude and bully. She neglected my child and used abusing words in front of the whole class and embarrass him a lot of time.


Mcnair Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The kids talk about Girl friend and boy friend as early as in Kindergarten itself. Kids make fun of other kids name and judge with their dresses. There should be some dress code (UNIFORM) in the school. kids wear anything they want some wear Bollywood style long dresses in the school.

Mcnair Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are so bully here that my kids stop telling me what happened in the class some of the misbehavior I got to know from other kids :-(

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcnair Elementary School
2499 Thomas Jefferson Dr., Herndon, VA  20171
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (703) 793-4800
Last modified Mcnair Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top