Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Herndon, VA
Students enrolled: 834
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcnair Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Home work is just right and quite challenging too but the most appreciated homework stop coming home :-(

Mcnair Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I have mixed opinion. My two kids are in the school. One teacher is good at everything other than organizing the class room. the class always look so messy how they will teach to stay organized?? The other teacher is organized but very rude and bully. She neglected my child and used abusing words in front of the whole class and embarrass him a lot of time.


Mcnair Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The kids talk about Girl friend and boy friend as early as in Kindergarten itself. Kids make fun of other kids name and judge with their dresses. There should be some dress code (UNIFORM) in the school. kids wear anything they want some wear Bollywood style long dresses in the school.

Mcnair Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are so bully here that my kids stop telling me what happened in the class some of the misbehavior I got to know from other kids :-(

Mcnair Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
They teach to stand against the Bully and when the kids do that the right kid is getting punished or called tattler..


Mcnair Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Very Rude and DOMINATING principal. Very Disappointing. I brought forth one concern and She made me feel that I am wrong. Horrible

Mcnair Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2015
- a parent
The Teaching: - Doesn't happen much! Its essentially "outsourced" to the parents. Teachers think the parents are committed to their children's education, so very little actual instruction happens in class (let the parents figure it out themselves) - There are 30-35 kids per class, teachers do not spend any time with anyone - Most of the new teachers do not have any patience, they shout at the children - The school recently started a BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) policy, and was expected to use personal iPads etc. for instruction, class lessons, etc. Not much of that happened. Instead, the kids just play app games during recess time on their iPads Homework Machine: - Their concept of teaching is "show a video" and give LOTS of homework, the parents will figure it out at home - Sometimes, even on Fridays and during vacation days, the students get homework! Admin Staff & PTA - Quite rude. The front office staff never smiles or welcomes the parents, they almost treat them like a burden! - The PTA is only concerned about after school camps and money. A select group of people run it, and if you even make any suggestions during the PTA meetings, they are just dis-regarded.

Mcnair Elementary School 2

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
This school's main drawback is the count. too much crowded. Teacher student ratio is too bad. 30-35 students in the class. coming to my child's teacher, he is not at all organized and shows the least interest in making the class room interesting. doesn't even care keeping the class room clean and tidy. i dont receive the tuesday folder on a regular basis. the times i receive the folder, the stuff will be flying and the folder will be seperate. Teacher doesnt even care putting/directing the kids putting up the papers in the envelope.My child is receiving the same English homework since 3 months with different set of words but the same activity.He does not show any interest in Homework now. I am comparing the schools acedamics/staff/management with COATES elementary.that was far better in every aspect. I regret now why i made the decision to move to the area where mcnair falls. a suggestion to the parents is please dont go by this school rating. it is really deceiving.please dont plan on sending your precious child to this irresponsible school.
2 people found this helpful


Mcnair Elementary School 4

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
I am appalled at the very racist comments allowed on this page. Any reviews mentioning race should not be allowed to stay, Great Schools! I have had two children attend McNair. One is in high school now and one is still there. We moved to McNair after attending a private college prep school out of state and found that McNair was ahead of where they were at our old school. I have found the teachers to be responsive and inclusive and interested in working with parents and honest about any possible issues with behavior or schoolwork. I do not have experience with the new principal yet but was very pleased with the previous principal. I do agree that the office staff could be more friendly. I have not experienced outright rudeness but do not appreciate unfriendly staff in a school setting where children may be affected. The population of the school is very diverse. I appreciate this very much, seeing my children interact with people from all over the world.
1 person found this helpful

Mcnair Elementary School 2

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Some teachers in Mcnair are bullies and exhibit favoritism. They pick on certain children for even small reason. When kids start kindergarten they are new to the whole process. Teachers should be supportive. I have heard of extremely good teachers like Ms Beach but then there are others makes you feel like you rather home school. Communication between teacher and students sucks big time. When child does something silly you get a call and then teacher says that they will work with you. But when you reach out to them they get agitated and you get a cold shoulder.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcnair Elementary School
2499 Thomas Jefferson Dr., Herndon, VA  20171
(703) 793-4800
Last modified Mcnair Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcnair Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top