Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Herndon, VA
Students enrolled: 627
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fox Mill Elementary School 3

Posted August 14, 2015
- a student
Moved here last school year and my child was placed with what everyone said was an "excellent" teacher. We found the teacher, in reality, to be burnt out and very old school strict. When I volunteered on one occasion, I witnessed the teacher berating a child and yelling at her for a minor infraction. If the teacher was willing to do that in front of a parent I am afraid of what was going on without parents around. I find many people cheer leading for this school and it is an okay school, I'd call it average, and I wonder if the hip-hip hoorays are more to make themselves feel better? Our first interaction with the PTA was a scathing email from the new PTA president to an innocent membership dues question. The president didn't have time for questions and had no interest in being helpful. Went to one PTA meeting and was appalled by the number of parents moaning and complaining endlessly about ridiculous things such as why they couldn't personally have a goodbye session with a principal who had left unexpectedly. On the upside, yes there is one, there are a plethora of after school activities, the kids do seem excited about Fox Mill, the office staff is kind, the school seems well maintained and it is definitely a small community school (very few bused students). They do have a Japanese Immersion program and are very committed to it. If that's not the way you choose to go, however, it does seem like it could be a sad and lonely path...no pressure.

Fox Mill Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 14, 2015
- a student
Not impressed with first teacher we had and have gotten more negative than positive reviews on teachers to come.


Fox Mill Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 14, 2015
- a student
Haven't seen proof of this in either direction as of yet. Hope this will be the case.

Fox Mill Elementary School 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Fox Mill Elementary is a top notch school on the border of one of the busiest cities in the country. It has hard working, positive minded, dedicated staff and administration. The students hail from a family centered community along with others pulled from across the county to participate in it's renowned Japanese Immersion program.

Fox Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Fox Mill Elementary is a fabulous school with involved parents, caring teachers, and a proactive administration. The active PTA hosts many fun and creative fundraising activities through the year including The Son Challenge, Daughter Dance, Bingo night, and even a big Matsuri, Japanese festival. Our teachers go the distance. I went in last week for a parent-teacher conference and was really impressed how prepared the teachers were to talk with me and how well they understood my child. They are also involved outside of school hours - my sons teacher spent a Saturday afternoon with her students so they could sing at a Cherry Blossom festival and also volunteers with a running club after school. The Principal is great too - a group of parents suggested starting a cultural exchange school in Japan and our Principal has been out-in-front making every effort to get this going!


Fox Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with a wonderful supportive community. Your children will receive a great education at this school, whether you choose the Japanese Immersion program or the general track. Great teachers, strong principals and a caring community

Fox Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The best asset of Fox Mill is its community... from dedicated staff and teachers to parent volunteers. Although the school building is old, when entering the school, you can immediately tell that it is well maintained and a reflection of the engaged student body. The principal and teachers are always working to engage students in actual learning and exploration that goes beyond just memorizing facts.

Fox Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Great new principal who is bringing in fresh ideas. Dedicated staff. Very engaged parent volunteers who provide so many opportunities for students, both academic and social.


Fox Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Fox Mill is a great school... it's a warm, fun, safe atmosphere for the kids to learn. Lots of great opportunities to get involved in the classroom and the PTA, which has a great relationship with the school staff.

Fox Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
My kids love it... lots of great teachers and lots of parent involvement. They loving seeing me and other adults in the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fox Mill Elementary School
2611 Viking Dr, Herndon, VA  20171
(703) 262-2700
Last modified Fox Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fox Mill Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top