Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
520 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carlisle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I believe it develops respect in it students through its environment, honor code, mentoring program and by example from teacher, faculty and administration.

Carlisle School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
My child is safe- both physically and emotionally. The environment for hands-on, real-world learning has been active since preschool.


Carlisle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
With Portrait of a Graduate, we see what the school is doing to help grow my child's moral compass-- within a school day!

Carlisle School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
It is such a blessing to have Carlisle School in our community. The peace of mind that my husband and I receives from the decision we made to send our children there is truly priceless. Not only is the quality of education second to none, it also offers so many opportunities and programs to bring out that special quality or gift in your child. For example, one day while in music class practicing for the third grade play, my son Chandler was sitting on the stage beating his shoes with pencils while waiting for his part. The teacher noticed this and instead of telling him to stop, she asked if he could beat the drums to one of the songs in the play. What? I really didn't know what to think or say. After building MY nerve up, Chandler played the drums to Hakuna Matata. And eventho me and his dad stood during the entire song,(fortunately we were in the back), he did so well! All eyes were on him and the performers. This brought out confidence and encouragement in our son that otherwise may have remained dormant. I am so happy to share this story. This meant a lot to us. I truly feel when your child attends a school such as Carlisle, you are welcomed into one big happy family.

Carlisle School 1

Posted October 04, 2013
- a community member
Coming from a student that just recently graduated. This school cares more about money than it does education.


Carlisle School 1

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
From the perspective of a student who attended Carlisle from pres-school though to graduation, I can say that Carlisle is not in any way, shape or form, worth the money paid for it over that time. They use an outdated method of teaching, have few truly qualified teachers, and adhere to a very political system of getting things done. If your family did not contribute to the building of a new building on campus or purchase equipment for a sports team, expect a rough time. The kids of the parents who do provide such things have free reign of the school whilst other kids will be reprimanded for the slightest thing. Extreme discrimination against those who did not come from high net worth families made for a tense environment at all times, and teachers for the most part were uncaring. I would recommend that you send your children either to a much more qualified private school, such as one in Roanoke or Greensboro, both roughly an hour away. Not worth the elitist attitude nor the poor level or college preparation. Many, and I do mean many students end up accepted to third rate institutions, and drop out quickly, meanwhile Carlisle uses this to say it has 100% "college placement rates.

Carlisle School 1

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
At the beginning they were unprofessionally so concerned about the $65 application fee for my kindergartener. After our meeting they kept us waiting to enroll my son for a while. Since we were moving to Danville from another place and were close to the new school year, I gave them a deadline to respond. They got upset and claimed that my brilliant almost 6 years old child was not ready for kindergarten!!!?? He was one of the best in his preschool class. I can see from the previous comment that they have students with ADHD, ADD,..!! A resource in town told us that once their classes are full they try to collect money as "application fee" as much as they could! My husband and I are so pleased to got to know these people and their system just on time. Submitted by a parent

Carlisle School 4

Posted February 24, 2009
- a community member
A very good school, however I do not feel they have many staff members quilified to deal with children with ADHD, ADD and some other disabilities. I would highly recommend this school for other type students.


Carlisle School 5

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
This is a superb school offering an IB curriculum and a comprensive selection of athletics and great arts. If you are looking for an excellent all-around product and great value for money, this is it. Lots of diversity, excellent college placements, boarding and day.One of the top up-and-coming independent schools in VA.

Carlisle School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a student
This school offers a holistic and challenging scholastic environment and prepares one exceptionally well for university. The school is currently, and with a large degree of success, increasing its enrollment of international students which has greatly diversified its student body. There is however still polarization among the have and the have-nots as well as among new students and those that have been enrolled since pre-k.

Nearby schools

Carlisle School
300 Carlisle Rd, Martinsville, VA  24115
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (276) 632-7288
Last modified Carlisle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top