Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairlawn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 463 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2010

My child is a student here for 3 years. Previously a Virginia Beach student, my child says that Norfolk schools are not as hard as Virginia Beach schools, which tells me as a parent that Norfolk is trailing behind a better school district like Virginia Beach. Still, my child is a solid A student receiving a standard education, which tells me that her teachers are doing their jobs, but I would like to see Norfolk schools improve a lot more in striving for better classroom education, not just focusing on the SOL standards. Our kids need to be ready for their futures, and our educators and school system in Virginia are doing an average job compared to the rest of the nation, but we still lag behind the rest of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My son attended Kindergarden at Fairlawn. I am happy with this school, though my concern is their discipline for children for being children. Besides that my son and daughter (attended 5th grade) had a wonderful experience. The opportunities offered through there excellent teachers are endless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

I think that this school is great. They are very open with volunteering and found they are very helpful with helping parents help thier children with learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Overall our 2007-2008 school year at fairlawn has been great! the staff is very friendly. My son's teacher was outstanding and very dedicated. My son excelled in all areas. I was really thrilled with how his writing improved. Hopefully the next school year will be just as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

This is our second year at Fairlawn and I have never seen such excellance in my children. My youngest daughter was diagnosed bipolar and she excels in an environment that is structured like Fairlawn. I don't know if it is because of the new prinicpal or not, but my experience with this school has been amazing. I have heard that a lot of schools 'teach' the SOL and that was my main concern when sending my children to public school. Fairlawn did no such thing! They had an art show, science fair, music programs and we even brought in the Girl Scout program for the first time for Daiseys and Brownies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

Words can not express how disappointed I am with Norfolk Public Schools. The teachers are not supportive nor are the principals. If they are overworked and underpaid it shows. Children are not actually learing today but the are just memorizing what they hear and studied. They are rushed to memorize to meet a quota for the end of the week. Education has decreased in it's values. I could care less what statistics shows. I can assure you the parents around me go through the same fraustrations as I did. I had to take my child out of the Norfolk public school system it was destroying her self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

I am extremely disappointed with the Virginia Public School System. I spend a great deal of time teaching my child and we are not accomplishing anything. I would like to know what in the world are these kids really learning in school in the state of Virginia. They are being taught to memorize things that would normally educate a person. At the end of the week they are tested. This is not learning. It is a system set up for failure for our kids. Parents are frustrated and kids are confused and exhausted from long hours of practicing to remember things for a test. I rather sacrifice a lot and put my child in a private school. Whoever created such a system does not care at all about children's education. Have we forgotten what it means to educate? This is not the way. I predict alot of dropouts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am not particularly happy with the Virgina school system. I have a 5 year old in KG at Fairlawn Elementary school, and I've taught her more than the teachers there have, in regards to reading, and math. The math that she has learned there is very little. She was asked by a Nurse giving her a vision test, if she could identify the plus sign - 'But, I don't know what a plus sign is', she replied. I was shocked! I'm from California and when she was in preschool, they were introducing the preK kids to the fundamentals of both math and reading. However, from the 2 years we've been here in VA she has forgotten alot of what was taught from her CA school. I also strongly appose the constant selling that the kids are asked to do, this reflects poor funding from state and federal funds.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
63%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students77%
Male students50%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students43%
Female students25%
Male students56%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students40%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English45%

Science

All Students68%
Female students72%
Male students65%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students55%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students61%
Female students69%
Male students50%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students51%
Female students56%
Male students43%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students58%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students58%
Female students64%
Male students54%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students76%
Male students65%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students55%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students61%
Female students63%
Male students59%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%

Science

All Students61%
Female students63%
Male students59%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Michele Logan

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1132 Wade St
Norfolk, VA 23502
Phone: (757) 892-3260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gateway Christian School
Virginia Beach, VA


Chesapeake Bay Academy
Virginia Beach, VA




Norfolk Academy
Norfolk, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT