Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
745 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norfolk Christian Schools
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had attended Norfolk Christian since she was in first grade. She is entering 6th grade this year and we have had a wonderful experience thus far. NCS is so much more than a school...it is more like a family. The teachers treat the children with love and respect and work to discover and celebrate each child's unique skills and talents. The environment is nurturing and my daughter is thriving. I consider my tuition money well spent as my daughter is learning in an environment that is supportive, builds her character as well as her knowledge, and is free from some of the distractions in other schools (bullying, fighting, drugs, etc.).

Norfolk Christian Schools
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
Biblical teachings and character development are an integral part of the educational experience. Students are expected to be respectful to one another and to demonstrate positve character traits in their words and actions.


Norfolk Christian Schools 5

Posted July 29, 2015
- a parent
My daughter, who is 11 and entering 6th grade, has been at Norfolk Christian since 1st grade. During that time Norfolk Christian has been much more than a school to us. The teachers and faculty treat the children with love and respect and we have never had an issue with the children mistreating each other. Character development, knowledge of God's word and a solid academic underpinning make Norfolk Christian a wonderful place for my child to grow, learn and thrive!

Norfolk Christian Schools 5

Posted December 22, 2014
- a parent
A college prep level education with a Christian world view. NCS has been a perfect fit for me, my wife and my children. My children are well prepared for college and for life; academically, physically and spiritually. The children's maturity and grounding in the Lord has developed far beyond my expectations largely as a result of the education that they have received at Norfolk Christian Schools.

Norfolk Christian Schools 5

Posted December 20, 2014
- a parent
I have two daughters that attend Norfolk Christian and they both love it. One of the best things about the school is the dedication of the teachers. They are amazing and are completely dedicated to helping the kids receive an excellent education in a Christian environment. We as parents feel a great sense of community throughout the school and feel like there is no better place that our kids could be at school. Check it out, it really is a great place for your kids!


Norfolk Christian Schools 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE Norfolk Christian. We have three children, all whom have attended NCS since they were elementary school age. All three have different learning styles and all three have thrived there. The academics are top-notch but, by far, the more important factor for us has been that all three have grown exponentially in their faith. Most faculty members go above and beyond to nurture their students and hold themselves to a very high standard. Over the years that we have been a part of this community we have seen a lot of changes but most have been for the good. There are still a few teachers who are not as strong as others but that is true in every school. I am really surprised by some of the negative reviews on this site...what the have said has not been our experience at all. I suggest visiting the school and take a tour. It is a special place!

Norfolk Christian Schools 1

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
After two years, I can no longer recommend this school to anyone. They care more about money and competing with schools out of their league, than they do about their families. They have made some drastic decisions, terminating excellent teachers, and forcing assessments and strict performance. It used to be about family, now it's just about money.

Norfolk Christian Schools 3

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
NCS is a good school that still needs to grow and embrace diversity more in the student body, staff, and faculty. As a member of the NCS community, it can be very difficult for new students who have had no prior affiliation with the school to fit in and feel at home as well as employees who come more diverse ethnicities or from outside the long-time alumni and parent base. NCS is also be a very loving place where children can grow deeply in their understanding of and love for Christ. It is also a school community that can alienate and be judgemental without seeking to understand or accept the truth about the schools shortcomings. Overall, NCS IS A SCHOOL TO BE PROUD OF, and like anything built by human beings, still is a work in progress.


Norfolk Christian Schools 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
I dislike the school, I currently go there and they have a mindset of how a christian should be and if you are not how they think you should be they are very judgmental and hurtful. The children their are very rude and it is hard to make friends because its such a small school and the majority of the kids have been "besties" since pre-k so its hard to fit in and feel at home.

Norfolk Christian Schools 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I am not only an alum of Norfolk Christian (after all 12 years), I am now a parent of 2 students in middle and high school, and I could not be happier. I was a little shocked at a couple of the reviews here but I guess there will never be 100% love for anything! They are certainly not representative of the parent body. I also went to school when there was no ac in the high school but that was fixed in the 80's so I'm a little puzzled by that odd rant. And I can only think of one reason a parent would not receive a report card and that is because money is due for something. I have worked with all three principals at NCS and no one would ever be denied their children's grades, especially for 3 years running. Norfolk Christian was a great place when I was there (even un-air-conditioned!) and is even better now. Loving teachers, awesome curriculum and AP classes in upper grades, great athletics. I wouldn't dream of sending my kids elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norfolk Christian Schools
255 Thole Street, Norfolk, VA  23505
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (757) 423-5770
Last modified Norfolk Christian Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top