Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dominion Christian School

Private | K-12 | 180 students

Classical Christian Education

 
 

Living in Oakton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $649,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

DCS has been our school family for nine years now. We have seen it grow and have been blessed by the amazing faculty. They know the hearts of their students and support us in shaping our children to become men and women of strong faith and good character. The curriculum is excellent and we are seeing the fruits of the classical model in our oldest as she prepares to enter high school. Latin has helped with English language and grammar, as well as scientific terms. It has been useful on many occasions! They are also interpreting advanced texts through a Christian worldview; making references to Beowulf, Uncle Tom's Cabin, The Count of Monte Cristo, and many others as we talk about life together. Looking at history in the context of faith gives it meaning and depth. Math and science is made fun through hands on methods. We have seen our children thrive in the intimate, community environment where they are known, loved, encouraged and trained to think deeply about life and the world. I highly recommend DCS for families who want to be actively engaged in their children's education and who want to develop their children to be actively engaged in the world for Jesus' sake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

We have three children in the DCS Middle School, all of whom have attended since Kindergarten. We have been tremendously gratified with every aspect of the school. The teachers and the head of school are top notch. The families form a genuine community and support one another in tangible and important ways in the raising of our children not only in terms of academics, but also in shepherding our children through the difficult waters of adolescence. Our children are developing a genuine love for learning. Especially with the transition from the Grammar to Logic stage, the time in the classroom is naturally engaging, and the assignments draw them in as well with the focus on critical thinking and a holistic, integrated view of the world and learning. Personal attention from the teachers and Head of School has been extremely helpful. We've been amazed at what a detailed knowledge the Head of School has on our children's personal challenges and successes. Teachers maintain helpful communication, with a supportive, pro-active stance that has enabled us to address academic challenges before they become a significant problem. DCS is a big part of why I'm excited about my kids' future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

My elementary-aged child is thriving at DCS. He is so engaged in the classroom and with the curriculum. Excellent, creative teaching and meaningful and manageable homework. To earlier comments, not a worksheet sent home that I can remember, just instructions of what material to review. Communication with the teacher is great. I'm amazed at not only what he is learning (ancient history and Latin) but how much he is enjoying learning it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I only wish we had found this school earlier. Great nurturing fun environment. Perfect fit for our family. After 3 years in FFX Co, my kids couldn't wait to move to DCS because of the intimate size and philosophy. The transition was sometimes difficult because of the different curriculum, but they know they've learned so much more here. The academics are rigorous, but they are learning how to think critically, and to me, that's priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

DCS is adding 12th grade for the 2012-13 school year completing the K-12 classical Christian school. Next fall, we will start our 12th year at the school (we have three children...one in each stage of the model... grammar, logic and rhetoric) and could not be more pleased. My husband and I grieve that we did not have this education. Children are taught how to think... a lost art. God's hand of blessing has been upon this school and our children are receiving a supurb education which is reflected not only in their national test scores but in their character. The financial sacrifice (although this school is considerably less than most) will reap eternal rewards for generations to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I have some insight on DCS vs. Fairfax public schools because we have attended both. DCS is a warm, nuturing enviroment made up of families that care about each others kids. The teachers are such great role models for the kids and the kids enjoy the experiences DCS provides. They learn a tremendous amount of knowledge with the guidence of patient educated teachers. The leadership at this school is unbelievable. The principal forms a relationship with each child and family. They want what is best for your child and will communicate this throughout the year so your child has a positive growth experience at school. The education is top notch. In answer to a previous review about teaching to the test and catering to wealthy families-I would totally disagree! I actually have to say wealth among families never came up. The families there have their priorities straight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

We are finishing our first year of kindergarten at this school. We are very pleased with the caring environment and the personal attention that our child receives at this school. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

My family has been involved with DCS for nine years, and we truly love this school. The Classical model, high educational standards and a strong sense of community are definite distinctives of DCS. We love the Head of School and teachers here. The school's campus is a beautiful place that our three children have greatly enjoyed. DCS is a true blessing from the Lord to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

After interviewing nearly a dozen schools, researching, talking to numerous NoVa parents, we chose DCS. After 5 years, it has been wonderful for both parents and children. The teachers and staff are genuinely concerned with the academic, spiritual and personal lives of each child. They are kind, courteous, engaged, and never been too busy to meet or respond to questions. An environment of love, consideration, and respect a modeling of Godly behavior is found at every turn. The leadership is professional, has high expectations, yet is loving and caring with each child. The Classical Model has yielded fantastic result in our children, obvious when they are among their peers. Lastly, the Christ-centered focus of a Christian world view has given my children the tools to make well-formed decisions and arguments regarding Truth, when confronted by the hostile and anti-Christian secular world. Thank you DCS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

. . . It also is worth addressing thr prior poster s other comment that the school caters to wealthy families. I am sorry they have that perception and I am not sure of the basis for such a statement. The school has almost 70 families of varying backgrounds and economic means. The tuition charged is comparable to other Christian schools in the area and considerably less than most secular private schools. A number of families receive some aid to assist with the cost of tuition. I have found the faculty and other parents to be humble and sincere. In short, while no school can be all things to all people, for anyone looking for a sound Christian school with excellent academics in a warm environment, we heartily recommend Dominion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

The 'parent' who stated that my views of the school were inaccurate and doubts that I am a parent is just plain offensive. How can a parent be so blind as to not see the volume of worksheets sent home every week in the children's folders is beyond me. Obviously this parent doesn't even look at the folders and therefore would not believe me when I say that Dominion School 'teaches to the test', piles on the worksheets, and allows the administration to cater to the wealthy families. This is one of the many reasons why our children are at a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

As the mother of a rising 8th, 5th and 2nd grader, I am entering my ninth year at DCS. I believe the review commenting on worksheets to be inaccurate and doubt that it was submitted by a parent. DCS promotes a love for my Lord, character development, and an unparalleled educational experience. The volume of information that is absorbed during the grammar years is astouding, the defense of their views in the logic years is amazing and it is an answer to prayer that this fall ('09) will be the beginning of the rhetoric stage as we launch our high school. The schools commitment to a small class size combined with Godly leadership make this the undiscovered educational gem that many need to discover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

I have two daughters enrolled at Dominion in the lower grades (1st and 2nd). We have been very pleased with all aspects of the school. The classical curriculum is challenging but also rewarding. By the time they finished Kindergarten, both of our girls were reading extremely well, and they are currently excelling in arithmetic. The faculty is outstanding as well as nurturing, and the principal is a remarkably skilled leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

Our three children all attend DCS, and it has been a tremendous blessing for our family. This school is phenomenal in terms of academic excellence, parental involvement, and the highest quality teachers and administrative staff in the DC metropolitan area. Our children learn fine reading skills in kindergarten, cursive writing in first grade, multiplication in second grade, and Latin in third grade. The teachers are simply the best, and the headmaster is unmatched among private or public schools. Each student is treated with love and respect, all the while reinforcing strong Christian values and a Biblical worldview. The Trivium is used to take advantage of the learning skills children naturally possess. The tuition is reasonable, and will have long lasting payoffs. I would be willing to pay substantially more for such an outstanding education for the children I love so dearly. I only wish I could have attended DCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

DCS provides a Christ-centered, academically rigorous, classical education for children in K-8. We have multiple childen there and are so pleased with the balance achieved between the joy and discipline of education. Our children are being taught in a way that stirs in them a hunger for knowledge and a delight in discovering the world around them. The emphasis on linear history in the classical tradition, as well as the cornerstone of the trivium in approaching all subjects has been very satisfying. The administration and faculty welcome family involvement and the ensuing relationships give such warmth and depth to the community. Because all is undertaken with the purpose of glorifying God, the gospel is naturally woven into the fabric of the school. We moved to this area to attend this school and haven't been disappointed. Small class size, high test scores, and classical curriculum combine to offer an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Virginia
Grove City College
Hillsdale College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Tutor(s)
College counselor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
School Leader's name
  • Matt Mitchell
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Photography Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Virginia
Grove City College
Hillsdale College
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10922 Vale Rd
Oakton, VA 22124
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 758-1055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pinnacle Academy
Oakton, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT