Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lucille M. Brown Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 802 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2014

School is clean, teachers are professional and the IB programme is giving the students there a great opportunity. The staff is welcoming and the students have a good gym area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2014

My children have been going to this school and the staff as well as the principal are very nice and helpful. The teachers are caring and supportive and have helped my kids a lot. The Environment is good and the school is very modern. They have the IB programme which gives the children an added advantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2014

I am a student that is at LMB in the IB programme and i think that the program is placed in a horrible school> the program is great and the other students work well together without getting in the way of the students out of the IB programme although sometime the non IB's like to start something with us.


Posted October 10, 2013

This school is a real disappointment. If a home school was opened up in the projects I'd probably feel safer bringing my kids there than this school. There are so many lock downs/code reds on a regular basis where is there time to learn? The kids walk around the school cursing and fights break out randomly on a regular basis. The staff doesn't address these type of issues because they are considered to by "small". The assistant principal and other staff come dressed like their on their way to the strip club. Do your child and yourself a favor, don't enroll. Seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

This school is disappointing. The I.B program is great, but it is is housed in a horrible school. The none I.B kids get in to fights and should get suspended daily! They wear booty shorts and belly shirts and get in to fights and scream cuss words at the teachers and skip class and the teachers and principal and the vice principals don't care! But of the I.B kids wear shorts that are down to their knees they get yelled at! Also the teachers do not care about their kids at all! I.B is sopposed to be challenging and hard but it is very easy! The school is also obviously segregated. The non I.B population is almost all Africain American and the I.B population is almost all White. The non I.B kids think that the I.B kids are stuck up and rich and they scream cuss words at us and try to fight us. This school is so unsatisfactory its unbelievable. I.B needs to have it's own school!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted March 19, 2012

My two kids both got into the IB program at Brown- after much hard work and a rigorous application process. They were so excited. Well, the whole thing has been a huge disappointment. Why are people complaining about the workload?? My kids are not being challenged AT ALL. I've spoken to most of their teachers, and am not impressed. There's no passion for learning, no striving for excellence, no innovative projects, no mentoring. This is NOT what my kids signed up for. IB has turned into a joke. I really do believe that it was a very good program, but at this particular school, has fallen off course. Poor administration and substandard teachers are primarily to blame. These kids worked hard to get here. They are the best of the best, and it should be a privilege to help prepare them for high school and college, but that is not the mindset here. I have found motivated teachers few and far between, and the administration is pretty much sticking their heads in the ground like ostriches. And yes, I do agree with the other reviews about the fights, segregation that is clearly going on, and lack of discipline. Really, really sad and disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

This review is very hard to write. I am a student in the IB program at this school. Right now, the work is very rigorious and challanging... so thats a plus. There are some great teachers that are very passionate, some that can't control their class, some that respect us, some that don't, and some that bore us to tears. So, the academics are worth about three stars. Now, on to the atmosphere.... that is not so good. One of the school's biggest problems is discipline. Students don't respect the adults and don't care if they get suspended. Most administrators don't take discipline seriously and in result the kids don't either. Fights break out all the time, even though the school has tried to correct bullying. The language is so bad, yet most of the kids who use saltly language don't know it is wrong because no one seems to care (bad language is thoughout the whole school, even IB). The school is very segregated, and people who are white or are in IB are usually predjudiced against. Sometimes I just deal with it, because I think, "This is how it is at all middle schools." But now, looking at the way some other schools are, I wonder if it is time to move on to greener pastures.


Posted January 5, 2012

This school is horrible. My daughter is in the IB program at brown and when she got excepted we were so excited..Now, not so much. I am concerned for her well being as she tells me horror stories about school all the time. How the kids act out. the fights,the swearing and disrespect. Why would such a great program be held at such a horrible school.? Can't we at some point seperate those who can and do from those who don't and won't......No discipline NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND?? Let's for once look out for the exceptional kids. Sure everyone deserve a chance, but how many tries will it take? Maybe we should start by pulling up their pants. My daughter wore a skirt with a pair of leggings once and was told the skirt was to short but when I go into the school I see at least two or three butts falling out of there pants. It really is ashame that a handful of students can bring a entire school down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Over weight teachers should not be in our schools.There is an over weight teaher at the school who has the worse attitude and i hate having my child attend her class. She does not obviously care about herself so how can i expect her to care about my child. She treats the children horribly. Instead of arriving at school with her class planner in hand.., she pulls up and sqeeze out of her car with a chic-fil-a bg and thats it. Stop coming just to get a pay check so you can eat. Our kids actually want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

Well i transferred to brown in the middle of the year, And personally i felt its one of the worst middle schools iv'e attend. There's always fights, Kids disrespect teachers and walk out of classrooms, And it would be nice to walk in the hallway without hearing such explicit Language. I use to dread eating lunch, Some times they served us frozen food. And most of the teachers don't even care. I for one, dont know how students can survive this school for 3 years, i barely made it 5 months.


Posted April 9, 2011

I was in the IB program here and the work itself is normal, but the work load is ridiculous. I have seen dozens of fights over the three years here, walked into "dealings" in the bathrooms, read extremely inappropriate graffiti in the bathrooms, and has the same air as a state prison. The school is extremely segregated although people won't like to admit it. The cafeteria is always disgusting and I wouldn't even serve the food to pigs What they say about test scores is all smoke and mirrors. If it wasn't for the I.B. students, this school would have a completely different look to itself. Although we have security guards, they never appear to be around when the serious fights happen. One example in 2009- 2010 school year was between two non-IB kids who fought for at least a solid ten minutes before anyone was alerted after the staff had left the cafeteria unguarded. This school is a disgrace to Richmond Public Schools and I feel that everyone should be brought to light.


Posted December 7, 2009

I am in the IB program here and the work is hard, the teachers make us work hard and we don't see a lot of the other students. I have seen three fights between the other students though. Some teachers are not favorable in my opinion but the classes are okay. I am not sure about the non-IB students though. I am in the 6th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

Because it is offering a great IB program and working to build a strong PTA
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students56%
Female students62%
Male students50%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English56%

Math

All Students59%
Female students62%
Male students57%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students58%
Female students61%
Male students54%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English59%

Math

All Students39%
Female students39%
Male students39%
Black students26%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students54%
Female students61%
Male students46%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English54%

English: Writing

All Students63%
Female students69%
Male students57%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students55%
Female students63%
Male students46%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%

Science

All Students61%
Female students64%
Male students58%
Black students51%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students90%
Female students93%
Male students85%
Black students87%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Denise Lewis

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Jahnke Rd
Richmond, VA 23225
Phone: (804) 319-3013

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ephesus Sda School
Richmond, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT