Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manchester Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1444 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 27, 2014

This school is absolutely unbearable. If you're not in the gifted program you don't get any advantages. Also many staff members are plain RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL. They speak to students as if they are nothing and get away with it because they are "adults". Adults should know better than to speak to defenseless students this way. How can a school stress anti-bullying, yet have a staff full of bullies. After sending my two daughters here, I may have to find a different middle school for my youngest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

My 6th Grader (Honors) is attending MMS. I had 3 sons that attended years ago; it was a good school then. Admitting it has significantly declined. My child does HW and we check it together nightly; has always been a go-getter about schoolwork. Returned papers reflect A/Bs, but Edline reflect F's for same work. When my child asks teacher about it, told to "Sit down" or "We'll talk about it later." There is teacher retaliation against student, if parent notices a problem and goes to teachers/admin. Teachers spend more time doing other tasks than teaching. Students are often given work with no modeling or no/little explanation. Students are given fill-in-the-blank WS's, which are "notes" to study for exams. But answers aren't discussed/checked. Students don't know if their answers are right/wrong to study. If my child is absent (excused) and asks about missed work, it is put off or not given, and may later reflect as an F on edline. I understand teachers are in teams. Heard the other 6th Gr team is really good. But this 6th grade academic team isn't doing right by our children. Something needs to be done! If your child is in CBG though, you got it made; those teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

My daughter is in the CBG program. This is her second year and she loves it . The teacher's really challenge her and my daughter thrives on that, The teachers are pretty good about updating edline. She has been able to take French,Latin and Alg 1, which will make her competitive for the governor's school. She also enjoys participating in school clubs. I haven't interacted with the principal but do appreciate her weekly emails to the parents letting us know what's going on at school. I like the diverse population although CBG in general is not as diverse as it could be. My daughter does complain this year about the comprehensive students she encounters in her PE /health class, she says they tend to be more disruputive than she is used to, but that is not a huge concern. I am very happy with Manchester's CBG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

Don't send your child to this school if they are not a CBG (center based gifted) the administration has a zero tolerance principle for mis conduct that is unreal. And the problem is they do not care and they have rules that will allow them to suspend kids unnecessarily. They get an "F". Worst school ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I loved this school in sixth grade, but it quickly declined, and becam horrible. They do hardly anything about bullying problems, and most of my teachers do not help me. If you are not in the CBG program, you are over-looked and thrown to the curb. All the staff thinks about is the CBG kids. According to them, all other students are stupid, and will never become anything, even if you are in Honors. Although, most of us Honors kids could be in the CBG program, we choose not to because the most CBG kids are snobs. I would not recommend this school AT ALL.


Posted February 22, 2013

I've been to this school for 2 years this is my last year and take it from me, it's an okay school some kids push in the hallway and I push them pack but they don't seem to get it, in my opinion this school is okay in comprehensive but really good in CBG honesty i can stay here at my computer and complain because there is. A LOT of things I don't like about the school but it concerns more to the kids, thier not mature and some kids do talk back to teachers and get sent out of the classroom and wonder why? Which I believe ischemic not being mature, some kids and mostly guys will make fun of the kids of the way they dress which Is dumb but if u stand your ground at this school it won't be bad I promise. If a kid makes fun of you or parents if a kid makes fun of ur child don't worry, teach ur kids to stand up to those kids because they will earn respect I'm talking to much my point being 1. Kids are not as good as u hope they'd be mostly comprehensive 2. It really is fun there like today the 8th grade got to do do the Harlem shake in the cafeteria 3. Stand up for yourself 4. Teachers do care they really do 5. Have fun :3


Posted January 23, 2013

I'm a student at Manchester in the 8th and I personally LOVE but sometimes disagree with the school


Posted September 14, 2012

I am a parent of two children in MMS. This is our second year. I have one in seventh and one in eighth grade. They are both in Honors not CBG but have several classes with the CBG students. I loved our teachers last year because they all participated in Edline which assists me in knowing what goes on daily. Will have to wait to see what happens this year. My boys tell me that the CBG students are treated more favorably than the other students and I have heard this is the same for more schools than this one. I rarely hear about fighting or bullying and my kids participate in sports. I am a member of the PTA and do participate in meetings. I believe the school is definitely progressing to become a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

After having 3 children come through Manchester, I will be sad to leave. What a great school with amazing staff. The teachers are nationally ranked. There are kids and programs from Center based Gifted to Special needs, Every child has a voice! Way to go Manchester!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

The culture in the Bldg has been that CBG is favored. I had a child in CBG and now have a child in Honors/Comprehensive. I had hoped that with the new administration last year this would be stopped. There is still hope. The issues need to be brought to the light and discussed by students, parents, faculty and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

I for one did not like the CBG kids.They were very mean to the others kids that were not in there class.All the teachers gave them more favor then the rest of us.And the 8th grade math teacher is very very hard on all of his students.He thinks just because he goes to VCU means that we should pick it up in a snap and he yells alot and dosnt not let us act like the teens we are.Sorry but it does not work like that.


Posted May 17, 2010

The teachers in the Center Based Gifted program are wonderful. My son is challenged and encouraged to meet and excede his academic goals. He is also able to participate in many clubs and activites The diversity of our school is great. Adults and children of many backgrounds get to meet and experience one anothers cultures. The administration, teachers and support staff are dedicated to giving our children the best education in a safe enivronment. The PTA is also Terrific (join your schools PTA they NEED YOU!). We will miss Majestic Pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

The Center Based Gifted Program is top-notch. I like that my daughter is challenged academically while still being able to participate in all the other activities and events of a regular public middle school. The administrators, teachers, and staff provide the leadership and support to make Manchester Middle School a place where students learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

They sponsor a great Center Based Gifted program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

The great teachers and the wonderful staff. The school really supperts its children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Manchester Middle School is a fully accredited school in Virginia. The school is located in an award winning school district, and the parents and the parents, administrators and students are responsible for its success! The facility is warm and friendly, the administrators work with parents as a team (beyond partnership) in achieving student s success. The expectations are very high, and students are expected to achieve them. Parent involvement makes Manchester a great place to educate 'twennagers'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Manchester Middle School has been the perfect school to enhance our children's educational developement. The teachers and staff are incredible. The teacher's make a special effort to reach each student and encourage and enrich their lives. The programs and activities are extremely beneficial. Middle School is a journey and this school leads in educational excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

We are proud to be part of such a great school. Our children benefit from our diversity and our administration's and teacher's commitment to excellence. Majestic Pride all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Diversity is a huge advantage for all of the kids. The entire staff has a great way of encouraging and expecting the kids to do their absolute best while enforcing a zero-tolerance disciplinary plan. Manchester Middle is an example of what all middle schools should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I'm in the CBG program. I also have alot of friend in regular ed. MMS is a good school, no matter what people may say, even though it is all an opinion. the violence isn't uncommonly high, people fight in every school, and the few times it happens, those people get the prooper punishment. the teachers and staff work hard to make sure the students reach their potential, and the extra curicular activities are wonderful. Any diversity issues are choices made by the STUDENTS, and are stereotyped very much. i'm mostly white, but i have alot of friends of other races and religions as well. It really is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

506 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students80%
Male students74%
Black students62%
Asian students92%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial77%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students71%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial82%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students79%
Black students67%
Asian students93%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students62%
Female students60%
Male students65%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial63%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students74%
Male students63%
Black students52%
Asian students93%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial81%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English69%

English: Writing

All Students70%
Female students75%
Male students66%
Black students56%
Asian students93%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students80%
Female students88%
Male students74%
Black students59%
Asian students100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students68%
Female students63%
Male students72%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial92%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students70%
Female students73%
Male students68%
Black students53%
Asian students93%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial94%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English71%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sarah Fraher

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7401 Hull Street Rd.
Richmond, VA 23235
Phone: (804) 674-1385

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Richmond Christian School
Chesterfield, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT