Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Meadowbrook High School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I could not be more happy with my daughter's experience at Meadowbrook. She was an underachiever in middle school; however, her placement in Meadowbrook's Success Program has created a complete makeover in my daughter. She now has a 3.8 GPA and scored pass advanced on two of her SOLs. As a 9th grader, she had the opportunity to participate in a College Prep program which recently took students to visit Longwood University. I am so glad that we stayed at Meadowbrook. I love the diversity and the unique opportunities it provides it's students. Go Monarchs!

Meadowbrook High School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
Wow these negative reviews are untrue and incorrect. MBK has award winning programs in academics, arts, and athletics. It is a shame that a school that is a majority African American and Hispanic has to deal with these negative stereotypes from others in the county. MBK's TV production program won the state championship this year. No school in the Richmond area has anywhere near the media program that Meadowbrook possess. The MBK Success program has ninth grade promotion rate up to 97%. The Success program does community service and also partners with Microsoft to rebuild computers for families. MBK Theater program dominates the region and competes on the state level every year. As one of two IB programs in the county academics is rigorous and relevant. MBK also has an award winning JROTC program. MBK has championship level sports in football, basketball, and soccer. SOL scores are no longer the lowest in Chesterfield county and others schools in the area are now not out preforming Meadowbrook. Before posting untrue statements about a school you should come and visit and see the great amount of work admin, teachers, students, and parents are putting in at MBK!


Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
If I can put a -0 I would. These kids are unruly,If one or two kids act out in class the teachers take it out on the whole class. Even discouraging kids by telling them they are all going to fail. They are only concerned about there deadline not educating the kids. God forbid a child has a question because they don't understand they said "not my problem, its your parents responsibility to teach you, we have a deadline to met". One has even said that she doesn't get paid enough to teach these kids and sits down to answers her cell phone to take care of personal things during class. Another teacher said to keep papers on the desk just incase an administrator comes in so they appear to be doing work. Don't ever tell them your child is getting bullied the teacher will befriend the bully and start disrespecting your child too. Staff make fun of the clothes the kids are wearing and so on. I think they need to remove the kids who are unruly keep them out of school let them be the ones catching up on school work, keep the program of TEACHING going. So sad these grown people are teaching this generation, the kids don't care because the teachers don't care. My child is outta here ASAP!

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted March 24, 2013
- a student
this is my freshman year in meadowbrook and so far it has been the worst ever the students are so rude and always causing at the teachers and students. this school doesnt even let us take txtbooks home cuz of the lack of books we bearly even have homwork cuz students dont do it there are some teachers who care and many that have already giving up and dont really care i cant wait to transfer next year .. i hope in GOD

Meadowbrook High School 4

Posted January 12, 2013
- a teacher
MBK has a reputation for not being a good high school, but that is not true. This school has really turned itself around in the past few years, and the staff is working hard to prove that we have good kids. I'm tired of other people looking down on our students and our school. Come spend a day at MBK, and you'll find out that all those rumors aren't true.


Meadowbrook High School 4

Posted October 28, 2012
- a teacher
Staff is terrific and as long as rules are enforced things will continue to get better and better.

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
My son was a very good student thru' out the middle school and had lot of abilities to be an IB league student.starting from 9th grade thru'out 12th his scheduale never got straight at first it took the guaidance office almost about 3 weeks each year to get his classes right. By that time he missed classes for the subject he was suppose to have.There was no effort from school for him to cope up for missed time.So he struggled thru' each year not knowing initially whats going on.Took him more time to catch up as the base was missed.Also by the time he came to 11th grade there were multiple teachers left the school and he opt to not going into IB programme as all the teachers were leaving and went to AP classes. 11th grade again remain the same problem.12th grade for applying into the college, the counselors were never there to guide him or to submit his best resume to get into his choiced college and ultimately he lost his admission status although he did his best.In short we made a mistake to send him to so called IB programme school.He would have been better off staying into thomas dale.If you want your child to get admission in better college dont send them to meadowbrook.

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted May 05, 2012
- a community member
I have to wonder when the state is going to step in and do something about this school. It is ranked 305 out of 313 VA high schools. I am sure that it has its good points but based on a lot of reviews I am reading and its test scores, it soundlike an inner cis ty school. I am not knocking the school and I am sure the teachers are doing the best with the tools they have been given. It just appears that there is a lot of room for improvement and the state needs to step in. These young adults are this country's future. It is the government's job to provide the best quality education that it can.


Meadowbrook High School 3

Posted January 26, 2012
- a student
i honestly love my school i have been there for four years..you just have to do the right thing...some classes do have textbooks they send home to keep there all year and return at all and some are classes have class sets because students never return them..they dont give much homework due to students never doing it...its not has bad ever one puts meadowbrook to be...its not getto just kids needa do the right thing..every high school has the same thing going on...in the school is trying to bring up test scores but they cant when students are acting up

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted January 08, 2012
- a parent
If you can help it, do not send your child to Meadowbrook. The students are unruly and the administration does not back up the teachers in areas of discipline. One of my child's teachers was absent one day, and because a substitute never showed, the kids were unsupervised the entire period. My child was never assigned textbooks because the teachers weren't allowed to send texts home because of lack of books. Also, my child was never given homework. They have the lowest test scores in Chesterfield county and the most undisciplined student body. DO NOT send your child to this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowbrook High School
4901 Cogbill Rd., Richmond, VA  23234
(804) 743-3675
Last modified Meadowbrook High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Meadowbrook High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top