Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted April 08, 2016
- a student
At Meadowbrook High Students are terrible they think they can do what ever they want and teachers act like they dont care about there job they treat us students like dirt im a 9th grader at MBK and it should be rated 1 out of 10 for a good school!!

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted March 13, 2016
- a community member
Went here for a year and a half and hated every moment of it. One kid acts out and the entire class is punished. School doesn't trust the kids; there's a 45 minute "break" period in the morning where they aren't allowed to talk quietly, sleep, be on their phones/listen to music, etc. The kids are supposed to work on assignments during that time and if they don't have any work to do they're expected to just sit quietly with nothing to do for the 45 minute duration. Art teacher was extremely disrespectful towards students (example: drawing cartoons in my free time wasn't "realism" and was bad, if she was in a bad mood- which was a lot- the whole class had to pay for it, etc.). Teachers were generally just rude to the kids, couldn't ask them to do anything in a respectful manner. All in all, this school made me feel inferior as a human being. My thoughts and feelings were constantly invalidated and I would never recommended this school to anyone.


Meadowbrook High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a teacher
Absolutely not. The students can act however they want. Administrators only care about test scores and not writing up minorities/special education students, per county instruction.

Meadowbrook High School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a community member
My son is a high functioning autistic student. He went to James River High School believing that he will get the best education there. They found a way to get rid of him because they don't know how to handle teenager with autism. He went back to Meadowbrook High School and it transformed him into a consistent distinguished honor student for two years in row with a standard diploma. James River HS never gave him a chance because they don't know how. MHS took care of him as a human being with disability but focused on his ability. Their special education department knows what they're doing. For my son, his future is like sky without limit. Meadowbrook HS made the impossible, possible!

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a student
Hate the teachers + the students... most annoying school to go to. Every mourning I wake up I dread the hour of preparation to get ready for Meadowbrook. This school sucks and deserves no stars, not one!!!!!!


Meadowbrook High School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I could not be more happy with my daughter's experience at Meadowbrook. She was an underachiever in middle school; however, her placement in Meadowbrook's Success Program has created a complete makeover in my daughter. She now has a 3.8 GPA and scored pass advanced on two of her SOLs. As a 9th grader, she had the opportunity to participate in a College Prep program which recently took students to visit Longwood University. I am so glad that we stayed at Meadowbrook. I love the diversity and the unique opportunities it provides it's students. Go Monarchs!

Meadowbrook High School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
Wow these negative reviews are untrue and incorrect. MBK has award winning programs in academics, arts, and athletics. It is a shame that a school that is a majority African American and Hispanic has to deal with these negative stereotypes from others in the county. MBK's TV production program won the state championship this year. No school in the Richmond area has anywhere near the media program that Meadowbrook possess. The MBK Success program has ninth grade promotion rate up to 97%. The Success program does community service and also partners with Microsoft to rebuild computers for families. MBK Theater program dominates the region and competes on the state level every year. As one of two IB programs in the county academics is rigorous and relevant. MBK also has an award winning JROTC program. MBK has championship level sports in football, basketball, and soccer. SOL scores are no longer the lowest in Chesterfield county and others schools in the area are now not out preforming Meadowbrook. Before posting untrue statements about a school you should come and visit and see the great amount of work admin, teachers, students, and parents are putting in at MBK!

Meadowbrook High School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a student
I went to meadoigh and do not reccommend henrico,i meadowbrook for the beggin of my freshman year,im not going too lie i was scared to go because of the schools bad reputation,but i fell in the with the school ,Im now at henrico high and i miss MBK,meadowbrook is a very tight nit school,while i was there the teachers were very helpful and caring,students too,you cant judge a school off a few bad apples ,My overall review for this school is a 9 out of 10


Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
If I can put a -0 I would. These kids are unruly,If one or two kids act out in class the teachers take it out on the whole class. Even discouraging kids by telling them they are all going to fail. They are only concerned about there deadline not educating the kids. God forbid a child has a question because they don't understand they said "not my problem, its your parents responsibility to teach you, we have a deadline to met". One has even said that she doesn't get paid enough to teach these kids and sits down to answers her cell phone to take care of personal things during class. Another teacher said to keep papers on the desk just incase an administrator comes in so they appear to be doing work. Don't ever tell them your child is getting bullied the teacher will befriend the bully and start disrespecting your child too. Staff make fun of the clothes the kids are wearing and so on. I think they need to remove the kids who are unruly keep them out of school let them be the ones catching up on school work, keep the program of TEACHING going. So sad these grown people are teaching this generation, the kids don't care because the teachers don't care. My child is outta here ASAP!

Meadowbrook High School 1

Posted March 24, 2013
- a student
this is my freshman year in meadowbrook and so far it has been the worst ever the students are so rude and always causing at the teachers and students. this school doesnt even let us take txtbooks home cuz of the lack of books we bearly even have homwork cuz students dont do it there are some teachers who care and many that have already giving up and dont really care i cant wait to transfer next year .. i hope in GOD

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowbrook High School
4901 Cogbill Rd., Richmond, VA  23234
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (804) 743-3675
Last modified Meadowbrook High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top