Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Providence Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
Providence Middle has the most talented and caring teachers. Our house of learning is a supportive and encouraging environment where all students are encouraged to reach their full potential.

Providence Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a community member
Ok I went here all three years 6-8 grade about eight years ago. And I would like to point out that this school is in NO WAY bad. I mean ask any former student and I bet they will have great memories of this school like I have. The only thing that bums me out is that they no longer have a school play. Really im wondering why it seems like they've done a complete overhaul of the staff. Because I only recognize one or two teachers from the website and none of the others. But anyway, on the issue of the teachers I cant speak for the newer ones but back in my day we got progress reports along with a phone call if you're grades where bad and that explained it usually. The thing these parents today need to realize is pvms has alot of students and the teachers are probably stretched thin I mean after all last time I checked chesterfield county schools aren't land locked so as long as you have a ride you can go to any school you wish. Plus there's three elementary schools that feed into pvms. You can't expect everything to be on you're time schedule ild imagine the teachers are trying there best.


Providence Middle School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a parent
Providence is a great school! The teachers are very dedicated and enthusiastic. My daughter,who is in seventh grade, has done well academically and on the SOL tests. She loves school and has made great friends. The administration fosters an environment of respect and encourages athletic and club participation along with student leadership.

Providence Middle School 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started 6th grade last year at Providence Middle School, I was impressed with their "Summer Camp" for 6th graders. She learned organizational and study skills. She was also given her schedule and learned how to get to every class. And they even worked on learning how to open their lockers. I have found it very easy to make contact with the principal, staff and every teacher. 6th grade was a wonderful experience and 7th grade is starting out just as great!!

Providence Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
Providence is a diverse school with a phenomenal staff of teachers and administrators who care greatly about the students, the school and the community.


Providence Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Providence Middle School is a diverse middle school in Chesterfield County, VA. My two kids have gone there and we couldn't have been happier. The adminstration is top-notch as is the teaching staff. They answer my emails right away and problems are handled immediately. The guidance dept. was so helpful last year when my daughter was applying to specialty high schools. They went above and beyond all year long. My kids felt (feel) happy and respected there. Would highly recommend!

Providence Middle School 4

Posted December 30, 2013
- a community member
I myself went to Providence, graduated in 2013 and in my opinion it was an overall good school. Rumors might say that it is a bad school but truly it's not. The quote "bad" things about the school happen at every middle school. I would defiantly recommend students to go to providence. Current students, just make the best of your middle school years cus highschool gets a lot harder. Learn good study habits in middle school cus you will need them in the future.

Providence Middle School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
I love.our school it the best scbool.ever great teacher greay staff I lobe u sooooooo much pvms cant believe I have one more year left gonna miss you guys soooooo much


Providence Middle School 1

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
This is my childs first year here at Providence. So far I have found that the teachers do not get back with you when they are sent an email. I would like for the teachers to respond in a timely manner. My childs grades have gone down and I would like to know why and the teacher hasn't responded.

Providence Middle School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are very friendly and helpful! The whole school seems to be very loyal to their beliefs and values! The Principal and teachers communicate greatly with the students and the parents. They are also very profficient.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Providence Middle School
900 Starlight Lane, Richmond, VA  23235
(804) 674-1355
Last modified Providence Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Providence Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top