Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 640 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

We LOVE Providence Elementary school!! This is our son's first year at this school and he just loves it. They have a great office staff that is always willing to help you when you come in. They know who you are when you go in the office as well , which is amazing with all of the parents that they must meet. Communication is awesome also! Which for some, like myself, it is of the utmost importance to me. I like to know that my son is being taken care of. My ONLY concern is the buses...parents need to be called when a bus will be late or even early.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

When we moved into the area, we sent our children to Providence with a "wait and see" attitude. We just weren't sure what to expect. Two years later, with three children at Providence, we are so pleased. The faculty and staff are wonderful. Each of my children's teachers have been outstanding- and so aware of them personally and academically. I've been impressed....and grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

As a parent of a Kindergartener I am very happy with Providence. My son's teacher is a real treasure (Mrs. Homer) and I have been happy with almost everything we've been involved with. The office staff are super friendly and helpful. I haven't needed to communicate with the principal or the counselor, so I have no opinion as far as they go. My only complaints are school lunch (it's terrible, but it might be terrible everywhere) and problems with teasing on the bus. Each of those have simple solutions though- pack a lunch and drive my child to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

There seems to be a little mis-leading information on a couple of these reviews. Providence Elementary was not 're-districted' as we know it when Mr. D came to Providence. The ONLY thing that happened was that the county annexxed in the apartments behind COSTCO. No one was moved out of the school district, just new students added. To say it was re-districted is a stretch. He got the same school he agreed to lead. Especially, because the children that were moved came from the school he was leaving and this was known to anyone who kept up with the Chesterfield County re-districting plan. So, giving him a pass for all of the things that go on at Providence is not fair to the children or families that have to attend the school.


Posted December 12, 2009

This is my second time around at this school. It's been an 11 year gap. Principal D is an above average principal. He does a lot for his students & parents that people don't know. He sits back, watches & observes quietly. The front staff could be more friendly. Overall - good! The Preschool teachers Mrs. Ashbrook and Mrs. Thomas are the BEST, everyone should try to enroll their kids. They have a geniune love for all children. Kindergarten teacher Mrs. Rakes EXCELLENT! The PTA is a huge clique which is different from my first experience. Its not a lack of parent involvement, bypass PTA its other ways to help. The old PTA use to welcome everyone with open arms it was about family. The PTA is like a group of middle schoolers, if my friend don't like you, I don't like you, so you can't be my friend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

Principal Degaetani is a fantastic principal. You could not ask for a more caring, dedicated, and hardworking principal. He always has the best interest of the children in mind. He truly cares about these children and this school. In response to a previous review, parents in recent years did not leave Providence due to the principal but left because of redistricting. Providence has been blessed by having Mr. Degaetani.


Posted April 28, 2009

Providence is a wonderful school! I was shocked by some of the reviews that were critical about the current principal. He is an excellent principal and person! The staff calls him a silent angel because he does so much for others without getting credit for it. The same time he came to Providence the school was redistricted. This is why some parents decided to move from the area. The staff is incredible at Providence. I used to be a teacher there and was amazed at how dedicated everyone was. I cannot say enough nice things about this school!


Posted March 21, 2009

Very poor teachers, weak administration. Principal not an instructional leader. Many teachers just babysit. We will be sending our kids to a different school next year. Many involved parents have left this school in recent years since the current principal arrived on the scene in 2004.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Providence is a nice school and the staff is very friendly. My only concern is the bus. I think there should be a bus monitor. We had to stop my grandson from riding the bus because there was too much profanity and hitting on the bus. I aslo wish the school would teach Spanish. My grandson is in the 1st grade and he has exprssed an interest in learning Spanish. The curriculum is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

My son is a first grader at Providence and I just love this school. They are hands on and always ready to do whatever it takes. The classes are small and the teachers are wonderful. The curriculum is awesome too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My son has been at this school since 1st grade and loves it. The principal is wonderful and very visable. The teachers are great, the resource options wonderful and even the food is not too bad. The parent involvement could be better, most don't seem to have time, which is why the School Carnival was cancelled in 2004. Unfortunately, we will be leaving this school district soon, but I am glad my son spent his formative years at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

We just moved here from New York and needless to say noticing the difference was immidiate. What a warm educational environment. Principal Dagitoni is always available to the parents. He can always be found interacting with the students no matter when you come to the school. And the office personel treats each parent like a special guest and not an annoyance. They go above and beyond the call of duty when addressing parent concerns, and are always ready to help when you in any way they can. I just can't believe how fortunate I am to have my children in this type of educational facility. Two thumbs up for Providence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Wonderful school and my son came from a private school environment, he really enjoys the school. The teachers and leadership are great I was a little surprised because I thought my child was getting more from private school. However, I quickly noticed that this school develops your child to be more well rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students81%
Male students79%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students76%
Female students71%
Male students80%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students90%
Female students85%
Male students95%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students79%
Male students68%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students74%
Female students77%
Male students70%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students75%
Female students88%
Male students68%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students66%
Female students78%
Male students59%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students76%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11001 W. Providence Rd.
Richmond, VA 23236
Phone: (804) 674-1345

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT