Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ruby F. Carver Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 531 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2013

I have to agree with the post submitted by a parent in March, 2013. Glad to find out there will be another principal coming coming. I extremely hope that he can do something for this school! It is not just the school, it is the parents of the area as well. This used to be a nice area, now since they have included every run down apartment complex in the zone, it has gotten horrible and the admin. is extremely tight lipped to these parents who either come across as threatening or can't communicate due to lack of speaking English. Also too many teachers who need to retire because they refuse to accept that they need to change their teaching approaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

Pretty good, some of the teachers are very rude but others are veryyyyy nice. The pricipal always acts like we're little kindergarteners, and it gets frustrating. my current teacher is sooo awesome there isn't another better one. Just the other ones are totally different


Posted October 11, 2012

Great teachers and staff. My son got an excellent education at Carver. He attended Kg. through 5th grade. The PTA is very active and supportive of the teachers. The principal was available for meetings or phone calls when needed. My husband and I were very pleased with our Carver experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

I'm quite shocked and stunned at how low the ratings are for CARVER... My daughter has been going here for 2 years- transferred from colonial trail and my other daughter just started Kindergarten here.... the least Carver should get is a 10! the staff and principle at this school are amazing, the parents are amazing, everyone works together as such a team for anything that has to do with Carver, we all genuinely love our school, Mrs.Gutkin the principle is an amazing leader as from personal experience she was my 4th grade teacher!!!! so great school spirit here and the fact that my daughter has excelled in every subject each year is a wonderful feeling knowing she is getting a great education, the teachers are so involved with helping the students, it truly is an amazing school! you feel welcomed by everyone the second you walk through the doors... best experience i've had with any school so far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I find it difficult to communicate with my child's teacher. She is unable to use email. She's non-responsive to notes I leave for her. Also, Carver has very limited resources available for dealing with children with advanced reading and math skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2010

Above average in the way the principal handles the parent concerns. Be aware of the teachers and check their ratings carefully. Overall, Carver has great teachers that truly care about the students. However, one bad apple spoils the lot. There are a few teachers here that need to be reprimanded for their lack of professionalism. As a parent, make certain you check with other parents, check the teacher's results on SOL testing, etc. Do your due diligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

I agree the Carver teacher go the extra mile with the students. They are terrific! I felt very comfortable with my daughter attending there and she is excelling in all subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

Carver is a great school. It's relatively small and very close-knit. I was sad to see Mr. Cantone leave as principal, but I'm confident Mrs. Gutkin will make her own contributions in time. The teachers have been great so far. My only complaint is that the school does not have a gymnasium. It's designed much like the elementary school I attended, where we used the cafeteria for a gym. I'm not sure why Carver chose to use a 'multi-purpose' room instead, as it isnt' large enough for very many indoor athletic activities. All in all, I'm very pleased and my son has made great friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

My children have only attended carver for 2 yrs but in that time they have done very well. I attribute this to the teachers and all of the staff at carver. The teachers and the principal understand the childrens needs and are always helpful with anything you may need their help on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Mr. Cantone is a perfect principal. He obviously loves the kids and they adore him. The standards are set high for academics, but teachers make learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students70%
Male students65%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students58%
Female students62%
Male students54%
Black students22%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students84%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students74%
Male students56%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students66%
Female students57%
Male students72%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students76%
Male students75%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students69%
Male students76%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students71%
Female students70%
Male students72%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students81%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 Lauderdale Rd
Richmond, VA 23233
Website: Click here
Phone: (804) 750-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Steward School
Richmond, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT