Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 495 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2012

I have 3 children that are currently enrolled at Oak Grove. Love all the teachers and especially all the parents that are involved at school. I look forward to volunteering b/c of all the nice staff and PTA members. Being asian and divorced I felt welcomed and non-judged. My children being mixed (asian/white) fit right in (no bullying or name calling). Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are great and the administrators support the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I have one child in this school and I've been pleased with how the school has exceeded my expectations. It is quickly apparent how invested the teachers and parents are in the education of the children. There are many opportunities for childen to become involved in school activities. My child was able to read proficiently by the end of her Kindergarten year. It is obvious that the other parents in her class were as equally invested in their child's learning experience as I was in my child's learning. I applaud the staff's dedication and would not dream of ever leaving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I have two children here, and the school is the best in the Roanoke/Salem area. The principal is outstanding, as she maintains active involvement in all areas of the school. She knows all of the students by name. She maintains a high level of academic achievement for the students, and she does not tolerate negative behavior. She has a great relationship with the PTA. My kids love going there, and we chose Oak Grove over private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I was disappointed by both the curriculum and the principal at this school. I have 2 very bright straight A students and they were bored. I also don't like their policy on bullies. I think they tend to enable the bully and forget about the nice kid. The principal does not like to hear about problems and seems unapproachable. (I never had to because my children don't break the rules). It was also difficult to become involved if you are a new parent. The school AND city in general are very clicky and like to keep things status quo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

This is a wonderful school as far as public schools go, the whole staff works as one and the parental support and envolvement is fantastic!! The children get everything they need from advanced learning to the special classes some of our children need, and they all get that special attention that every one of us parents believe our children need. I love this school!! and so do my children!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2004

Oak Grove has very dedicated teachers and a very active PTO. There are lots of enrichment activities provided and plenty of hands on learning. I'm very pleased with the education my children are receiving at Oak Grove Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students79%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students66%
Female students71%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students89%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students97%
Female students94%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students90%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Science

All Students92%
Female students95%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kim Bradshaw

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5005 Grandin Rd Extension
Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone: (540) 772-7580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


North Cross School
Roanoke, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT