Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonsack Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 429 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2014

Awesome teacher quality, principal leadership and ability to be involved! I enjoy this school very much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2014

Great staff. I feel involved and proud of my son's school. Great place to start your little one's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2014

I love this school. Teachers, principal, guidance all great!! I am worry free with my son in their hands!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

We moved from out of state and my daughter went to Bonsack. We moved again 2 years later, so our experience was short. Compared to where we came from and where we went, Bonsack gets 1 star. My daughter who attended 3rd and 4th grade had a horrible time. She literally came home from school and did homework until bedtime except for dinner. She was frustrated and cried all the time. No child should have that amount of homework. We tried to get the teachers/administrators to help and they flat out refused. The teachers could have cared less about her. It was miserable! I don't think we fully realized the extent of the problems until we moved. My daughter enjoyed 5th grade at her new school. She went from Cs and Ds to As and Bs. Homework was minimal and she learned the material easily. The minute she slipped in one class, the teacher contacted me to set up tutoring. Before school, after school, during school, whatever was needed. I was amazed at the difference. No more struggling. I'm so glad we moved out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

I only attended Bonsack for the last semester of my 5th grade year, and it made my parents regret letting me go there. The first day I arrived at the school my teacher sent home a list of complaints about me. She also disliked me in her class and would never help me. Along with this she told me that I was going to fail my SOL tests, which I passed most of them with a perfect score. I am now a student at William Byrd High School and love it, but I regret everyday I was at Bonsack. Roanoke county schools are great, just not Bonsack. To add on with the poor teaching all the students were hard noses and wealthy. I did move from Northern Virginia, so coming from a wealthy area wasn't really the problem, but everyone was in a click and did not like newcomers. This school has some serious growing up to do.


Posted August 1, 2010

This is our second year at Bonsack and we are in love with the school and the teachers. I've always wanted to have my child go to the same school system I grew up in. However, after seeing the opportunities at Bonsack I am so glad we didn't move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My grandsaughter goes to Bonsack, and she thinks it is the greatest. She lost her dad 2 weeks before starting kindergarten. It was very diffecult for her at the beginning, but the teachers and staff really helped her a lot. She was only 5, and now she is 8 and in the 3rd grade. I don't think she could have been in a better place than Bonsack Elementary.


Posted August 26, 2009

School is awesome. Teachers are caring and concerned, always ready to help. I am very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

This is supposed to be one of the best in Roanoke County. I was amazed at the demeanor in which the teachers treated the children. You constantly hear the children being yelled at. I would reconsider if choosing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

Bonsack is an outstanding school in a great part of Roanoke County. My child has been challenged and taught by committed, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

We moved to Roanoke from NC during the middle of the school year. My daughter is in first grade and was assigned to Mrs. Francisco's class. She is an incredible teacher and we were/are so blessed to have her teach our daughter. The school is awesome. The principal is caring, concerned and approachable. This experience has been the best part of our move. Bonsack is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students86%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students83%
Female students81%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students93%
Female students92%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students74%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students74%
Female students74%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students88%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students93%
Female students100%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students78%
Female students84%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students94%
Female students100%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5437 Crumpacker Dr
Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone: (540) 977-5870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Community School
Roanoke, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT