Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Swift Creek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 963 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

The school is infested with cockroaches and no one seems to care. My daughters refuses to eat there because it is so nasty. My daughters hate this school. Teachers have up to three different online sources that students have to hunt for to find homework and/or notes necessary for class. It is ridiculous! My A student is making a D because of the chaotic unorganized way this system is run. The Principal response..."This is where we are heading" My children were making A's and B's respectively at another high achieving now are struggling because Swift Creek doesn't work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Encouraging staff and teachers. Looking forward to the improvements being made this summer to the restrooms and lockers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Rating is based on it's Administration and Special Education Program. They are in need of a revamping as well. You can sense the negativity, the secretaries are unfriendly and will not give eye contact. Students literally running to class (not enough time to breath), and the Militant Higher Archy. Seems more life a jail than it does a Middle School. Learning and teaching do not have to be miserable experiences! They just forgot to tell the new staff at SCMS- even the cafeteria employees appear unhappy. It wasn't always like this - 2003/2004 year and before were great. Small community school full of optimism - bet the grade averages were higher as well. So, what are you going to do it you already live her, get to the root of the problem ~ you can't miss her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Dedicated teachers define the whole school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

My son's 6th grade year was great! He was in all honors classes and had really great teachers! He is being re-zoned this year, but we will always hold a special place in our hearts for this school! They helped make a smooth tranaition to middle school. He not only survived his first year, he thrived! I hope this year goes as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

Overall SCMS is a good school. There are a lot of activities and elective opportunities. However, I think some of the teachers are fed up with many of the teen attitudes these days. The special education is lacking, though. It seems the SE is concerned with pushing kids through. My son did not meet any of the previous year's goals, however that was not a concern to them. They set new goals for this year. I asked how they thought he would meet the goals for this year if he didn't meet any from last year. I didn't get an appropriate response. Results are only obrained if the parent is actively involved and advocates for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

I went to Swift Creek all 3 years and I find it to be a decent school with a wide variety of people and activities. Not a single teacher did I have that I felt animosity or anger towards. All of the extra curricular activities were fun to attend and very well - advertised - for lack of a better word. I feel that the elective department is lacking a little, though. There is a plethora of options to choose from, yet each class is very limited in what a student can learn. Overall, my expierence there was enjoyable and pleasant.


Posted March 9, 2008

SCMS is without question one of the best schools in the county, largely due to the exceptional administration. My daughter is very, very happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

As a student currently in 7th grade, I find Swift Creek a excellent school, with fair teachers, but administration on the other hand, isn't the best it could be. I'm on the WaveRider team and have Mrs.Edlow, an excellent teacher, for 1st/2nd period. All the teachers I've had from 6th grade and 7th grade have been wonderful. Although Administration may not be the best, our school is great all together. I enjoy activitys that the school puts together, such as the MAC program (Make a change) and many more. Lockers are decent, but could be a bit bigger, to fit text books, binders, and a backpack in. -- Austin C.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2007

I have been very disappointed in the administration of this school. The administration did not respond to letters written to them concerning a concern that I had. The special education department lacks credibility and is poorly adminitrated. If I could afford a private school I would remove my student from this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2007

My daughter is in the 7th grade and and is on the seals team. She says that the teachers are nice to her and this year is so far better than last year(2005-06) I myself think that they should clean the bathrooms a little more better because when I went there for a conference...I was disgusted by the bathrooms. I fairly think the lunches are okay. Swift Creek Middle School is a really great school. My daughter and I look forward to the rest of this year and the next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

Great School, son loved it. Great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

Swift Creek Middle school was my middle school for the last three years. I found the teachers,(well, sometimes) art programs, and extracurriculars to be fantastic, but like a previous reviewer, I could not stand either the bathrooms or the principal. The restrooms were awfully disgusting, and the principal and one of her assistant principals only seemed to have an intrest at yelling at students, and were never really heard from at other times during the day. I found that the office workers and addministrative leaders could act very indifferent at times, but a select few exibited extreme helpfulness. Parent involvement is a very strong point of the school, as there are many opprotunities to meet with your child's teachers, and that PTA is very active everywhere you go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2005

As a former student of Swift Creek Middle School I would just like to point out the positives and the negatives of this school. The positive side of this school is that it has a very strong performing arts program. The teachers I was fortunate to have were all very nice and and knew the subjects they were teaching. But on the other hand, this school had a few low points. Starting with hygiene. The three years I attended this school it seemed the cleanliness of the bathrooms and halls slowly started to decline, making a trip to the restroom a very disgusting matter. Another thing is the principal. The way she interacted with students never showed the qualities of good leadership. Even how she acted towards teachers in the presence of students was never put off a good image of her.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2004

We have a 6th grader at this school. We are just beginning the school year, but already we have been very pleased with what we have seen. The staff and parent involement is incredible. We look forward to a wonderful 3 years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students83%
Male students85%
Black students76%
Asian students86%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial90%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students87%
Female students89%
Male students85%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial93%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students92%
Male students78%
Black students69%
Asian students86%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial84%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students76%
Female students79%
Male students73%
Black students70%
Asian students85%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial61%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students87%
Male students72%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial82%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students89%
Male students78%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial76%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students70%
Black students38%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students81%
Female students82%
Male students80%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial82%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students97%
Black students97%
Asian students100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. James Frye

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 Old Hundred Rd
South Midlothian, VA 23112
Phone: (804) 739-6315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Millwood School
Midlothian, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT