Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spotsylvania High School

Public | 9-12 | 1118 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

school is great and the teachers are nice to the students and lunch is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2013

my school is horrible, i hate it i want to transfer to different school instead of being there where nobody helps you with anything
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2012

Overall I think Spotsylvania High is a wonderful school. I have two children that have now graduated from Spotsy High, and one still in this school. When you attend a school as a student you make the experience what you want of it by how you participate. The same goes as a parent. The staff is very helpful and concerned about all the students attending. As in any school across the country you will have teachers you find difficult to work with, but that is what makes us human. You learn to deal with people that you don't connect with, that is part of your learning process in life. Some students and adults learn this faster than others. Through the years in all of the schools my children have attended that is a lesson I have tried to teach them to understand. I think the principal and his staff do an outstanding job in implementing new and creative ideas for the school... Bravo... to them for standing up for the students in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

The administration is very unprofessional and has no clue as to providing a quality educational environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

As a soon to be junior at the school and on the editorial staff of the school paper I have to say that the school has gotten better. The teachers are great and always want to challenge their students. Not to mention help them out as much as they possibly can. The don't like it when students fail, but then again who does really? The school has defiantly gotten better, Mr. Davis (new Principle) is just awesome and so full of energy. I'm sure the next school years to come the school will continue to get even better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

I m a sophomore and this year has been grate. All the teachers are willing to work with there students if the kid just asks. No matter how much kids may think this (I am guilty of this) NO teacher is trying to make you fail! Spotsy is a Grate school in my eyes but the new freshmen has cause more drama than ever but if your wiling to learn then the excellent teachers here at spotsy will teach you! The only thing lower than most schools hear is our school sprit but other than that our school is the greatest!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2008

I go to Spotsy High and i dont think it is a good school at all. The teachers do ot care and there are so many people that wanna cause fights! There is so much problems there that people might not tell you! But that is my view and i go there!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2007

What you must remember is that it is the government and No Child Left Behind that causes us to cram. We care about your student and all students, but we also have families and children. We have to provide for ourselves and for them. We need our jobs and if it feels like 'cramming' it very well may be. Believe me, any teacher would love to have more time, more flexibility and more resources with which to teach. Maybe you should think about directing your concerns to George W. Bush and his cronies in office! This NCLB is truly his fault! We teachers are caught in the middle and then we fear for our jobs and we have to be yelled at by the parents. Please don't forget our perspective. I'm from PA, but this is a national problem. Please be considerate. Please petition the government!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2007

I am a freshman at spotsy. I really think some of the teachers are excellent, but there are also some that need to learn to teach better. This school does have its perks though. The people are VERY accepting and everyone is sure to fit in. No one is really 'popular' but there are clichs. The atmosphere at this school is really nice. The school is not overpopulated and the class sizes are bearable. All of my classes are in the twenties, but the more advanced classes have far fewer students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2006

The schools are aweful. They truly lag behind their peers in the Northern Virginia, Metro Washington area. I sometimes feel as though my children are at a disadvantage in contrast to other area schools. I will say the instructors work very hard within their means.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

The school is great in most areas. The math department does slack off quite a bit. One of the teachers I have does not teach us. She gives up fill in the blank notes and says you should know it. She does not teach at all. I disagree with the past two comments. It may be that its the childs fault some of the time, but I believe that its sometimes the teacher that is just doing their job to get paid, not doing what they love.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2005

I'm a freshman at Spotsy High and I think that it's a great school. I'm in Governor's School there, and the teachers there are extremely helpful. I agree with the junior. If the child is not learning, it's the child's fault. If you need help, the teacher's are always there, you just have to ask. They aren't going to run after your child and say 'hey you need to come see me'. This is high school, and we're mature enough to help ourselves, or at least, we should be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

The reason the school tries to cram so much in is the No Child Left Behind act. It's a good school, and I learn a lot there. I'm a junior, and I like the school and the teachers. In response to that last parent, if their kid isn't learning then that's that kid's fault.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Many of the teachers my children have or have had in the past, don't care to teach the students to the point the students truly understand. They are more interested in cramming in enough to pass a standard of learning test.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
97%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students48%
Female students60%
Male students38%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial62%
White students46%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English48%

Algebra II

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students80%
Black students77%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Biology

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students73%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Chemistry

All Students70%
Female students68%
Male students75%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Earth Science

All Students84%
Female students82%
Male students86%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracial90%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students91%
Male students82%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracial95%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students90%
Male students79%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Geometry

All Students59%
Female students64%
Male students54%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students59%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students75%
Female students69%
Male students80%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

World Geography

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

World History I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History II

All Students68%
Female students65%
Male students71%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6975 Courthouse Rd
Spotsylvania, VA 22551
Phone: (540) 582-3882

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gateway Academy
Spotsylvania, VA


Courtland High School
Spotsylvania, VA




Courthouse Academy Prgm.
Spotsylvania, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT