Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Springfield, VA
Students enrolled: 225
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted November 26, 2013
- a parent
Word of Life is the best Christian School in the area. Every morning there is Worship, and study of the Bible. My son is in 5th grade, and we are believing God for the school to be expand and have High School. After seeing the progress of my son in his studies, and devotional life to God, I highly recommend this school for any child.

Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Great school, my kids like it there, my son (3rd grader) refused going to a different school and practically begged us to re-register him. My daughter (Pre-K) feels at home. Very religious environment and nice staff. Parent involvement is still a work in progress, don't know if the school has a PTA association but parents are always invited to school activities.


Word of Life Christian Academy 2

Posted July 05, 2013
- a community member
Terrible school the high school is gone and there was only two 8th graders this year. The school is more like a jail. The teachers are strict and rude to students. They are teaching Saxon math which is confusing to any person struggling in math. The students are not allowed to talk for 15 minutes in lunch. The school is taking away their only time to socialize. And if the teachers see you talking they add more time. I recommend not going to this school.

Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
The new Principal is a highly qualified Godly woman who has now established a strong educational program as a result of a curriculum review involving numerous national Christian education experts. They're teaching Latin which is proven to help test scores and help reading comprehension. The curriculum is aligned to national standards and best instructional practices. For Word of Life teachers, it's much more than a job. The teachers really care about the students. They are very accessible for working with parents and students. Most of all a focus and priority on what matters most: imparting God's truth, which is found in all of the subject areas, into the lives of the students with excellence. This school has taken off academically and with enrichment and even greater heigts are in store! Would be a great time to enroll or re-enroll at Word of Life. by a parent Wednesday, December 07, 2011

Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
If you re looking for a safe, loving environment for your child to receive an excellent education Word of Life is the place for you! As a Word of Life parent of three I ve seen my two oldest children graduate from Word of Life and then go on to the college of their choice. My youngest child who had been at Word of Life since kindergarten took the TJ entrance test last year. He actually made the semi-final round which is not easy to do. Sadly Word of Life only goes through eighth grade this year so we had to look for another option. Word of Life is a small Christian school that offers a wonderful opportunity to parents who believe in private education and want to protect their children from all the world has to offer in the public school arena.


Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
There is no place in the world like Word of Life Christian Academy. God's presence is there is an amazing way. EXCELLENT new leadership and a strengthened instructional program combined with an AUTHENTIC Christian environment maximizes the learning experience. Their partnership with the University of Richmond provides computer and technology skills that will equip students for their calling into the future. Latin has been integrated which is not only found to increase SAT scores and reading comprehension (since it's English word origins), but it's a fantastic base for learning other languages later. Saxon Math develops critical thinking and Shurley English teaches them to WRITE! The teachers are not only CALLED into teaching, but K and above have a Masters level or college level Degree in Education. Hands-on science has been strengthened. They provide after school Odyssey of the Mind, a geography club, and we're looking forward to the Little Ambassadors basketball and soccer clinics after Christmas. The best part is that they start each and every day with an exceptional morning worship which helps the students and staff focus and ask God's guidance for the day.

Word of Life Christian Academy 4

Posted September 11, 2011
- a parent
I had two children attend Word of Life for two and five years respectively. They received an above average education and were love and cared for by their teachers. Although they had a rough year 2010-2011, I believe they will have a strong year and get back to the family atmosphere with a strong commitment to spiritual growth and academic excellence.

Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
EXCELLENT education with GIFTED, highly qualified teachers in a personalized environment and authentic Christian setting where everyone knows your name (VERY small class sizes). These are teachers you want your child to look up to as role models who are VERY well-trained and educated in their area of calling. After a curriculum review with leading experts and under strong new leadership, the academic program is VERY STRONG and now reflects best instructional practices. A fundaments of foreign language class introduces Latin and strengthens vocabulary. Kids experience science through hands-on experiments, and their technology and research skills programs are awesome. Great curriculum-coordinated "kingdom learning" field trips. Competitions inlcude spelling and geography bees, science fair, art, and publishing. Every school day starts with uplifting student-led worship and prayer. It is impossible to have a bad day after that -- sets a wonderful tone to the instructional day with the right focus and mindset. "Character development" is not a separate "activity" at Word of Life, but infused throughout every aspect of the instruction, leadership and school life.


Word of Life Christian Academy 1

Posted July 13, 2011
- a parent
I enrolled my high school student in summer algebra I hoping my child would receive some additional reinforcement. This school was recommended by Lee HS guidance counselor. I was extremely upset when I learned they use the Saxon Math Program -- something I didn't know before enrolling. Saxon Math is horrible because of the hopscotch method of teaching math -- it's officially called spiralling. It's confusing for a student who struggles with math to have so many different concepts presented at one time without having time to master anything. And there's a no refund policy, so basically the school made $500 free and clear (and let's think if there were 20 students in the class, that's over $10,000 per class). If your child attends Fairfax Cty. public school, DO NOT send your child for math here.

Word of Life Christian Academy 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I don't think the last review (march 1, 2011) paints a fair picture. My children are enrolled in WOLCA as well and we have had a very good experience this year. I don't know if she is referring to a lack of interaction at extended care in the morning. I wouldn't know about that because my children don't go to extended care. However, my children love it at Word of Life. They have been getting an excellent education and want to return next Fall. The current administrator she speaks of is also not returning next year, although I personally have found him to be very responsive the few times I contacted him. Also, Mr. Dawdy, while no longer the principal, is still at teacher at Word of Life. The school has daily morning worship and a biblical emphasis. I have high hopes for the future of the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Word of Life Christian Academy
5225 Backlick Rd, Springfield, VA  22151
(703) 354-4222
Last modified Word of Life Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Word of Life Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top