Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kings Park Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 671 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 24, 2008

I have to agree that the front office staff is not very helpful or kind. Once you are past them though, the school, its teachers and administrators are helpful and work very hard for the kids. The physical plant of the school is pretty good because the school is K-3 and the school is set up for younger students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

the teachers and staff are very friendly and are there whenever you need them to help solve any problem/ issue that may occur. this is the second year my daughter has attended and I have been pleased so far with the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

Kings Park is an excellent school. We are very lucky to have had our child attend here. The entire staff works together to make all the children feel important and welcomed. The K-3 setup is really great for the younger children. We've enjoyed this school immensely and will really miss it when we relocate next year. Kings Park has it all - a caring community, great staff & teachers, and an involved new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

I disagree about earlier parent reviews. I have found the office staff friendly and helpful. It is a large school (over 700 students under the age of 9), so at times they are very busy, but if you are patient they are always helpful. I enjoy the school being very geared to the younger child - there should be more K-3 public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

Kings Park Has another new principal and this will be great for the staff and students at this school. It has always been a wonderful school and it is great to see another great administrator coming into the school. The teaching staff is the best ever. Like no others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

Although I agree that the front office staff is not very good, I have found many of the educational staff, Teachers and Specialists to be both helpful and qualified. I am a parent of 2 very different types of learners and they both received a quality education. There is a new Principal at the school and maybe she can work with the surly front office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

Office staff generally unpleasant. I noticed several administrators getting into their cars in a race to beat the busses out. We had no experience of any good experienced teacher at the school. My child is 5. Our experience was a great argument to go private.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students79%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students73%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students69%
Female students61%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students73%
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English82%

Science

All Students95%
Female students93%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students95%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Harrow Way
Springfield, VA 22151
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 426-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Spirit School
Annandale, VA





Accotink Academy
Springfield, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT