Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sangster Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 854 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2014

I had a great experience at Sangster this last year. I come from a military family, and spent 6th grade at Sangster. I had an awesome bunch of teachers. We had some homework, although not a lot. We had fun while still learning. Some of the kids were great people, and I couldn't be more happy with the friends I made this year. Specials were amazing, and I couldn't have been more happy about how the year turned out. But, I give Sangster 4 stars. My gripes are in Musical Theater and the sever GT and Gen Ed division. In theater, everyone who tried out had to get a part, so it turned into 65 kids on a small stage. Also, a lot of people with amazing voices got put in extras, and only her favorites got leads. Some of them had good voices and some there were people with not so good voices. Another thing, the person running it had no control over the kids. Everyone talked and talked, even while others were preforming. And the GT Gen ED division was terrible. There was no real social interaction, and one thought that the other was snobbish and rude, or know it all's and dumb. It was not true in anyway, as both had good people. Overall, it was a good school, but some things could be better.


Posted September 2, 2013

We are a military family transferred to northern Virginia. Sangster is it is a typical southern school. The Fairfax County Public School system as latched on to the Common Core fad where profiteering belies education. Typical of Virginia schools, we were met by the "sorting hat" for pigeon-holing based on some nebulous criteria. Students in this school are either college bound or McDonald's bound; there is no middle. Students are either taught critical thinking skills, or fantastic regurgitation skills. I've never encountered a more scripted curriculum than at Sangster. Students who are not deemed college material are discouraged from thinking outside the box (it interferes with the script). The grading system is as cryptic as a Nostradamus prophecy; students are graded 4,3,2, or 1 in two areas - academic performance and "effort." Academic performance is based what you would expect - graded tests, papers, and homework. Effort considers subjective factors like academic endurance, group dynamics, and personality traits such as introversion and eye contact. Applying for advanced placement programs is worse than filing taxes. We'll be glad when this assignment is over!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

Good school. High academic standards. Impressive counseling program. Very engaged and helpful to students and parents. Most teachers huddle in groups to gab while bullying and other rude behavior between the kids occurs outside. Unbalanced tech program. Gen Ed kids don't have the same access as GT kids. Parents are generally split on new principal and assistant principal. They are doing a good job implementing new behavior program inside school for being quiet in line, etc. I wish it extended to being kind to others, sharing, being friendly, etc. Principal hired a lot of parents and other inexperienced teachers. PTA can be exclusive. Anyone can join but leadership positions and choice of programs are pushed through by new president who frequently gossips with parents and administrators. She literally laughed at a parent giving an opinion during a PTA meeting. Very different from previous years. A lot of parent involvement during the school day. Not a very culturally sensitive school that doesn't seem like a priority. Nice emphasis on exercise and healthy eating. Great library, music, art and PE programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

This is a huge elementary school with tremendous parental involvement. This is our first year at this school and overall have been happy with it. Our child's main teacher is responsive and dedicated. There are always instructional aides in and out of the classroom for extra help and supervision. There is a lot of team teaching which is a great concept but there is a lack of communication with the non homeroom teacher. Academically, for our child the work is rather easy and it would be nice to see her more challenged in the core subjects. I am not thrilled with the language arts program but that seems to be a county guideline not school specific. There is a heavy focus on preparing for the SOL testing this time of year. I think time could be bette than on test taking but that seems to be the way of the world now. The music teacher my child has Ms. R seems to be really great too. My child seems to enjoy art, library and sometimes PE as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

Our family thinks that the last review is atypical. The Sangster community is a grounded, middle-class bedroom community with friendly families, many of whom work for the military or government. In Fairfax County, there are snobby, exclusive, name-dropping, competitive communities, but these communities are NOT located in Springfield or Burke, which is precisely why my family relocated here (I grew up in the FCPS system and then moved quite a bit). Sangster is very welcoming and helpful to new families. Many students who have voluntarily transferred here from other local schools are very satisfied with the switch. Based on personal experience, the satisfaction of our kids, and the experiences of the other families in this community who we've known over the past eight years, Sangster is a fantastic elementary school. The teachers are kind and helpful. The academics are challenging. The homework is fair and does not burn out the students. We agree with the majority of reviewers who think Sangster is a wonderful school in a down-to-earth neighborhood with tremendous opportunities for kids both in the school and within the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

We moved to the Fairfax system and the Sangster catchment area on the strength of its profile. We are ready to move just about anywhere but here. What the scores don't tell you is that the parents are competitive, materialistic and exclusive snobs who breed competitive, materialistic and exclusive children. Parents with children who have trouble adapting to the unwelcoming environment are told their kids are the ones with the problems. They shunt them into useless "lunch bunch" support groups or recommend professional counseling rather than admit that perhaps they are not creating a welcoming environment. The kids, who were happy and well-adjusted before, are now miserable. Be aware if this if moving here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

Sangster is a great school! I have 2 kids at Sangster and they are happy and challenged. The school has a new young principal - he is available to students and parents and on the cutting edge. The class size is larger than I would like but that seems to be an issue across the county. I am very happy with the atmosphere of the school - a wonderful place to be. On a side note - the new young principal could be a J. Crew Model!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Two years ago, I would have rated this school a 3-star based on agreement with the two 2010 posts (and the previous principal's over-interest on non-educational issues). The new principal (Chris Summers) seems to have better interest in parent involvement/support (not defensive/paranoid/interested in gossip-y issues like his predessor). And more importantly that frees up his time to focus on what's important: all the kid's education and the best tools possible for the teachers to succeed. Under his leadership, we fully expect the PTA to grow as well. Not important to us but may be to others: Sangster lost some sort of AAP rating this past summer (where as Hunt Valley got theirs)-- they got below passing score on their advanced academics programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

I am very happy with the school. I have a 2nd grader in Sangster right now. This school has the best SACC (School Age Child Care) staffs. As a working mom I really appreciate it. PTA is very active. But, the school still offers half day kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

As a parent of two kids in 4th and 6th grade, who both started at Sangster, this has been a wonderful experience that I wish all family could have. Principal pretty much knows all kids by name as she greets them when they leave for the weekend on Fridays. Mrs Kinsey even finds time to teach math to younger kids. Teachers have all been wonderful, and they have caring counselors, like Mr Gillum. PTA is active and while we can't compare to other schools, talking to parents from other schools gives us an idea that we have simply been blessed with a "perfect" school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Do you know how every school you walk into has an "air" about it? Sangster's "air" is positive, welcoming, and as child-centric as you will find in a public or private school. I have three children who have spent a combined total of nearly ten years at Sangster--the youngest is still there--after coming from a private-school environment. By all measures, Sangster provides an outstanding experience for its students. The single biggest factor in this, I believe, is the school's incredible emphasis on meeting each child where s/he is and doing whatever is necessary to ensure his / her growth and development. That focus on each child as an individual--along with the maintenance of a strong school community--starts right at the top with the Principal and carries through the entire staff. When you have people who are ready, willing, and able to do what's right for your child, you know you've hit the school jackpot. With the single-minded focus on the kids and as kind, caring, and professional a staff as I've encountered in any setting, Sangster merits every one of those stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Due to the lack of emphasis on teaching basic reading skills, the school routinely forces a number of parents with children who are below grade level readers to find outside resources to increase reading proficiency. Agree with previous comment regarding principal s heightened sensitivity to school gossip. The principal appears more focused on the winning the Governor s Award for Educational Excellence then simply meeting the needs of special education children. PTA and parent involvement with school activities is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

Both of my children came from local private schools, and we are absolutely in love with Sangster! Mrs. kinsey, Mr. Summers, and the entire staff take such a strong interest in every child. Although the class sizes are a bit more than I would like, I do not feel that my children have been disadvantaged in any way. Additionally, the SACC staff is the best. My children have enjoyed extending their school day with the SACC staff at Sangster. Sangster's interest in Odyssey of the Mind, drama, Science Olympiad, scouting, running club, etc. prove that this school is for all students - whether GT, special needs, etc. We love Sangster and wish our kids could stay here forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

This is our second elementary school in this particular area of Springfield & since we are a military family, our 3rd elementary school experience overall. We couldn't be happier! Fairfax County schools are known for excellence, but Sangster stands out as one of the best of the best & certainly the best school in Springfield. The principal, vice-principal, guidance counselors & teachers all seem to really care about their students & to strive to meet their individual needs. As the parent of a child who is gifted with special needs, I feel that both his strengths & weaknesses are addressed & am eternally grateful to the faculty & staff at this school for everything they have done & continue to do for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

We have had 4 children attend this wonderful school. Mrs. Kinsey and Mr. Summers are exceptional administrators. They have both served as reading mentors to first grade students and give freely of their time to students and parents. The assistant principal is outside the school rain or shine every morning to greet the children as they arrive by bus. The principal seems to know all of the kids by name. the school 's academic focus is on helping all of their kids be successful. One of our kids was served in the special ed department, another in the GT program and the other two in general education. All have been treated to a private school ed in a public school. Love that they do flexible math grouping!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

Overall this is a typical Northern Virginia public elementary school mainly geared toward educating and supporting their gifted students. There is much less emphasis on special education children and their needs. It has an excellent counseling program and several gifted and highly involved teachers, but many are mediocre. The principal and vice principal, while engaged are average and bureaucratic. Parental participation and PTA are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

I've had 4 kids attend Sangster, starting in kindergarten. It is without a doubt an exceptional school and it all emanates from the top dog, Mrs. Kinsey. She's absolutely the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

Sangster is an OUTSTANDING school! We (as a family) have loved it! The principal, counselors, teachers, staff and PTA are very engaged with the children. They ensure the children receive a great education but also life skills -- friendships, sharing, coping --traits that last a life time. I recommend this school to anyone; it has been a completely positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

We are an active duty military family and have had our kids attend schools in three different states on 4 different tours. I rate the quality of Sangster the highest & best experienced yet. Very organized, homework is just right and targeted at my children's abilities. They always challenge my kids. Lots of school activities & the community is just great. Teacher experience is excellent and the atmosphere at school is very professional & no nonsense. I would recommend the school to anyone! Music program is excellent. They are adding language immersion programs this year which is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

Wonderful close knit school. Very high quality of teachers and academic standard of learning
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students81%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students92%
Female students92%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English93%

Science

All Students94%
Female students98%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students95%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial79%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Math

All Students84%
Female students88%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial79%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students99%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students84%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial79%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students88%
Female students92%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students93%
Female students93%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students90%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students90%
Female students89%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7420 Reservation Dr
Springfield, VA 22153
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 644-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Silverbrook Elementary School
Fairfax Station, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT