Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winding Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 680 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

We are fairly new to Winding Creek, but so far we have loved it! My daughter is in 4th grade and simply adores her teacher, Mrs. Knapp. We transferred from Conway,which was an excellent school, but Winding Creek is right up there. Glad we came here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

Winding Creek is a great school to be! My daughter went to school there and now my grand daughter will go starting in September - she is so excited! The teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful - always keeping parents informed about their child's progress. Stafford County school system is a very good place to belong!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

The school and administration are absolutely wonderful!! All three of my children have been attending WCES since kindergarten and testing scores are really good. They have positive attitudes, enthusiasm, and are very caring. Out of all the wonderful teachers, we only had one bad experience with a first grade teacher, Mrs. "H", who consistently gossiped to other teachers and substitutes about her students families. Additionally, she gives very thick homework packets each week that is expected to be complete in 4 days. Homework was also given on all holiday breaks including Thanksgiving, Christmas, spring break, and memorial day weekend. Overall, the staff goes above and beyond their call of duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2012

We chose for our children to attend Winding Creek after extensive research and visits to all of the elementary schools in the area. We even evaluated those in neighboring counties. Fortunately, we had the advantage of several co-workers living in the area to gather information. Winding Creek has exceeded our expectations and the teachers have been FANTASTIC for our children. Our kids love the school and the Focus program offered by Stafford county. We have also found the administration of the school to be top notch and very squared away. They take ownership of their programs and keep the school in good condition. The parenting community has fantastic support to supplement their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

When we relocated to Virginia, we specifically chose to live in the Stafford County School District. We found the districts to the immediate north and south to not be as highly rated. We also specifically picked Augustine neighborhood in order to get the wonderful trifecta of Winding Creek, Rodney Thompson and Colonial Forge. All are excellent schools. Both of our children are reading above grade level and are challenged. Both have loved all their teachers so far. Winding Creek has good leadership and an active PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Our kids (now in 1st and 3rd) have had nothing but positive experiences at WCES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I sent two children through WCES. They were challenged with grade level and higher work, and had opportunities to compete in geography bee, word masters, etc. There are many master level teachers in the building, NONE of whom show Disney movies daily or even monthly, unless for a fun event...it IS an elementary school, after all! Don't take my word for this, WCES kids are some of the highest performing in the county, and go on to perform well in middle, high school and college with the support of their wonderful and caring families and teachers. This is evident when you look up the school's test scores, as it is when you walk through the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

DO NOT recommend this school. We were so dissatisfied with the quality of teachers that we pulled our two children out and home-schooled them for one year and will be sending them to catholic school next year. Each grade has only one good teacher and the others do ineffectual jobs, and parents will do whatever they can to influence the student placements in hopes of getting their child the 'one good' teacher. For example, our daughter finished 1st grade speaking poor english and unable read at a 1st grade level; after I got to know her teacher I understood why. Our son, in third grade, faired no better and spent time each day watching Disney movies, really! I can't believe our taxes go to pay for this level of professionalism. The one bright spot is the music teacher, Mr. 'S', but the negative inertia is worth understanding and being prepared for if you send you child(ren) to WCES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

If you are considering buying a house that feeds to this school, don't. Don't send your kids to any school in Stafford County for that matter. Outside recess is an option left up to the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I can't say enough about Winding Creek. Both my children graduated from Winding Creek and now I have 4 nieces and nephews going through the school. They have many wonderful teachers and deserve this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

Having been a teacher myself for 13 years, I know a quality school when I see one! We are a military family and are this is our third elementary school. My children were made to feel welcome right from the get go--there are so many opportunities for the students and parents to get involved. Their standards are very high and they back it up with loads of support--no one is going to fall through the cracks at this school. I find the teachers to be friendly and communicative with a principal who knows how to support and lead. This school is a source of pride in our community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

The PTA is wonderful at this school and the kids are great! Unfortunately, leadership is lacking at this school and the teaching my child received was very uneven. Personal experience with some teaching staff was extremely unprofessional. A school like this one doesn't afford much choice when teachers aren't meeting your child's need. And the principal is doing very little to weed out those teachers who are just 'biding their time,' while they waste the precious time of the students they are trained professionally to serve and inspire.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

My twins have attended 1st and 2nd grade at WCES at it has been a great experience. My daughter had trouble reading and the teachers and support staff went out of their way. The only bump in the road was the LD evaluator and if you have to deal with her be prepared to be your childs advocate because she won't be. My children were challenged and loved in the classrooms. I was impressed with all the 'extras.' We are sad to be leaving our community and can only hope the next school can live up to our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I have 2 children currently attending this school. Overall it has been a good experience. I agree that Mr. Kennedy is an outstanding principal and does seem to know each of the kids by name. My third grader has a fantastic teacher that does a lot of extra things with the kids and really has a love of teaching. There are a few drawbacks to this school. We are a military family with a gifted child and it took a year to get him in the gifted program after we arrived when they say the norm is 60 days. He had been in a gifted program previously and so far I'm not impressed with the program. They have only had class 3 of the last 8 weeks. There also seems to be a lot of pressure put on the kids to bring money for various charities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

My oldest started at WCES the first year it opened(she was 2nd grade)..and I have a child entering the 5th grade this fall....what a wonderful experience it has been ..the staff is wonderful...Mr. Kennedy knows all the kids by sight and always quick to ask them something or be there to talk to them. The happenings of the last few years were hard on the community...the school provided a safe haven for our children and one for learning. LOVE THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

My daughter has been at Winding Creek since 2nd grade. It has been a wonderful and safe haven in a crazy world. Our community was heavily affected by the sniper and the 911 terrorist attacks, yet the school was always available for counseling and for making a safe environment for the kids. Despite the troublesome year last year, the kids did great on their standardized state scores, in large part because of the dedication of the staff and teachers at the school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students86%
Male students65%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students67%
Female students65%
Male students70%
Black students41%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students81%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students79%
Male students67%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students70%
Female students70%
Male students70%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students92%
Male students79%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students86%
Male students75%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial82%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students79%
Female students84%
Male students73%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial70%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
School counslor
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Elliot F. Bolles

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

475 Winding Creek Rd
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 658-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT