Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Margaret Brent Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 868 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

I have been a parent of MBES for the past three years. My oldest has since moved on to middle school. My youngest is going there this fall for kindergarten. Overall the school is good. Much better than the ES we came from in Amelia County. The teachers thusfar have been great. A touch over zealous when it comes to absences for family vacations during the school year or other parent sanctioned appts. But otherwise, all is well within the class room. Now on to the bad stuff (fair and balanced right?)...the front office is horrible. Horrible on the phone, horrible in person. They either seem completely untrained, highly opinionated when approached with a problem or issue, etc. It is so bad, that we avoid the front office as much as possible. When registering my 2nd child in preparation for kindergarten, you would have thought we were bothering them when seeking information or process. Common sense and customer service are rare as I have had this dialogue with other parents that my children are friends with, and my experience is the common experience. Otherwise we are happy with the rest of the school and all it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

We made a middle of the year move to MBES (2nd and 5th grade) from WA state. I couldn't be happier with this school. The staff at MBES were so welcoming and made our move so much easier. Both of my children had a great school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

We have three children currently in MBES. I can not say enough how much we love this school. The teachers are both kind and understanding and very helpful to children who do need that extra help. If I had one complaint it would be the constant flyers coming home from the PTO for fund raisers etc. We live in a very nice area and while many families I am sure have the extra money for these things, there are many families who live pay check to paycheck and it is not fair to those children who can not afford these things. Also there has been more the one occasion where one or more of my children have said they were rushed out of the lunch room and were unable to finish their lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

I currently have 2 kids at Margaret Brent. We have had great teaches and no so great teachers. This can happen in any school but there is a need for consistentsy. Also there is a real lapse in the communication, both with the office staff and teachers. There is a need for more professionalism. We are also not happy with how the lunch schedule and recess times. Lunch can at times be as late as 1:oopm and recess is not also given. The facility is nice and new but new does not mean better. We had high hopes when we moved but now we have many regrets. Overall our experienced is just okay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

We used Great Schools to educate ourselves about this school & focused our home search based on the information here. While we have not been totally disappointed with our choice, there is still a lot to be desired. We have 2 children enrolled, 2nd & 4th grades. The 2nd grade class seems very disorganized & has a lot of distractions... not well controlled. the 4th grade class, while better in those areas, the teacher seems to think she knows it all and doesn't involve parents or have regular communication with them. The office staff... the nurse... the lunchroom staff... counselors...everyone we have contact with has been lacking in some regard...professionalism, attitude, knowledge, organization... we came from a school that was locked on...and this one is definitely not. We are not seeking perfection... just better than this. Still, this is probably one of the better schools in Stafford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Totally awesome school, the teacher are like no other. I have a second and fourth grader attending this school. We moved two years ago and are driving our children there due to the quality, compassion, lovable, dynamic and total generousity of all the teacher. They give our kids every fiber of themselves. This is why MBES will always get my generous donations and support. We just recently had an activity there...Solar System Night by the Teacher of the Year...AWESOME!!! Hands down the best elementary school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

Absolutely wonderful school! The teachers are terrific and really know how to work with the kids. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The school is well designed, with an awesome library, which is very important in my opinion. Just an overall great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

great school.. very helpful teachers and very open and friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Margaret Brent has wonderful teachers, an amazing library, and is just a very nice school. Plus, the students have scored good test on the Virginia Standards of Learning tests due to the dedication of the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

One of my daughters attends Margaret Brent Elementary and really loves the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

I have 4 children at MBES and feel incredibly fortunate to have such a caring and professional group of men and women as a part of their lives. These folks work hard to make this introduction to education fun, challenging and nuturing. We have parents that drive from all over the county because of our reputation and while there are of course glitches to any personal experience I cannot say enough how the overall approach from these teachers has enhanced my children's lives. Way to go Bobcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

Although MBES is a strong school academically, I personally believe children need the opportunity for free play, aka recess, for both a physical and mental break. Recess is treated by many of the teachers as something to 'squeeze in' or to take away for disciplinary reasons. Currently, what recess my child does get is not until 3:00 pm! I have had discussions with the teachers with disappointing results. These same teachers also tend to load up the homework. My child has had many nights of 1-2 hours worth of work (even with my help!). The principal has been approached regarding these concerns, but it does not appear to be a priority. The results for me have been two very unhappy 'A' students. I am proud of their accomplishments and what they have learned, but feel something equally important is being ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

Our experience has been nothing short of outstanding. The administrative staff, teachers and principals are an awesome bunch - always offering a smile and encouragement to every students. This school offers all that parents expect in an institution with the great responsibility of molding our little people into caring and productive citizens with something to offer society. My wife and I are thoroughly impressed by MBES. We tell all of our friends how lucky we are to have our kids attend MBES. Bobcats Rule!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

My daughter started school this past September, and I have had nothing but great experiences with MBES. The administrative staff is on the ball, goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, and has a wonderful attitude about their students. My daughters teacher has been great. She has keep me informed and encourages my daughter to do her best. I would definitely recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Mbes is great! they welcomed my husband and i,and also my 2 boys with open arms.There goal is to get our little people on the right track for the world around us.I just want to thank all that were involved in my now 6th graders schooling and who is currently teaching my 1st grader.Bobcats rule!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

This is an unbelievably great school. The level of parent involvement is amazing as is the dedication of the teachers, administrators and other staff to each student in the school. I am thrilled to have three children attending this school and another 'in the wings.' The PTO is very active and very welcoming to new faces. No cliques here! Volunteering for either the PTO or individual classroom teachers is encouraged. The office staff is the most friendly of any school my children have attended previously. I can't say enough great things about this school! There are before and after school enrichment activities that are of such a wide variety that each student should be able to find something to pique his/her interest. How lucky we are to attend Margaret Brent... Bobcats RULE!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students83%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial73%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students68%
Female students72%
Male students62%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial91%
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Science

All Students91%
Female students93%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students74%
Male students68%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial67%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students75%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial75%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students86%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

English: Writing

All Students86%
Female students94%
Male students78%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students79%
Black students33%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students88%
Female students88%
Male students88%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2125 Mountain View Rd
Stafford, VA 22556
Phone: (540) 658-6790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT