Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Stafford, VA
Students enrolled: 124
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted November 02, 2014
- a parent
This school is excellent. It is a careful blend of private school and home instruction that allows children K-12 to develop well academically. It requires parent involvement on the home satellite days, so it is not for everyone. For those that are able, however, it is a terrific experience. Class sizes are small. Teachers are devoted. Parent involvement is welcome. Christian beliefs and morals are nurtured. Sports are accessible and inviting for middle and high school students. The cost is reasonable due to paying teachers for part time work, so it is an economical investment.

Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted July 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is a wonderful outlet for the independent students on the high school level and for the need to be socialized students on the elementary level. The teachers truly care about my children. I know that they do their best and it's evident in my children's growth spiritually and academically. This is a great school for the mom that doesn't fit the bill to home school anymore, or the mom and dad who just want to have their child attend a safe, academically charged school.


Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
This is a university modeled school. The student and parents have work on the at home satellite days. The teachers work hard and most are certified teachers. This model isn't for the weary...it is a Preparatory School. you will work to earn your grades, but the model leaves room for more family time, appointments and parents' control over their child's education.

Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Though GPS is small, learning abilities vary & the teachers balance this well. Class sizes are small &the teachers cover material in a quicker time than public school. The 2 school days are used for teaching. The 3 home days are mainly reenforcement work from school days. Depending on your child's understanding of the subject material, home day hrs will vary! Communication w- teachers & organization is a must for parents, esp. if you have more than 1 child. *Gifted/high achieving- Public schools w- high class sizes are unable to differentiate due to lack of time &funds. @GPS, teachers can work with your child's ability & set challenges. Bonus-you have time for home differentiation! Our home day work avg was about 2-4 hrs. Some days were longer due to experiments, discussions, or because they were being lazy! *Slower learner/high energy child- Your job as a co-teacher will be different. Your avg. day may be 4-6 hrs due to breaks or the need to be retaught lessons. Teachers at GPS are there to help & do whatever it takes to see your child succeed. Try to remember, all students & parents have good days &bad days, but at GPS the teachers & admin do their best to help each child!

Grace Preparatory School 2

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
However, the school places a lot of work on the parents. If you were used to school lasting 3-4 hours, or looking to lighten your load as a home school mom, BE FOREWARNED. Since the very beginning we have school on SATURDAYS because I just can't think any more on Fridays. Many assignments take twice as much time as predicted (4 1/2 7+ hourse). Think about this when you have multiple students and in both schools (MWF and TTH). Our teacher was good but inflexible. On SNOW DAYS they email you ALL the work to be done. I think I will simply order books from Bob Jones University Press and go through the books page by page next year. Except for the projects, I can "march through the books" as they do.These are the positives: children enjoy being at school and learn to work somewhat independently most of the time.


Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a teacher
Grace Prep is beginning it's 10th year and has improved every year. The faculty is professional and high quality. The administration is committed to the spiritual and academic growth of all students and faculty.

Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a community member
Grace is the place to be! I attended Grace for several years and it really prepared me for a rigorous schedule after I left Grace. The teachers were extremely helpful and available on our satellite (home) days if we had questions or needed assistance. I loved the small class size and "family" atmosphere, where we could worship God freely.

Grace Preparatory School 1

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
This school is not what it appears to be. I would be careful about going here!


Grace Preparatory School 4

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
We just completed our first year at Grace Prep. We love the University Model of schooling and are impressed at how much our children have grown this year academically, socially and spiritually.

Grace Preparatory School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
Our family has been blessed by Grace! Our oldest is in her second year, and she has blossomed in many ways. Academically it is challenging, but the teachers work hard to assist students if they are struggling. Because of the small class sizes, the teachers are able to have more personal interaction with each student. Socially, she has been able to form friendships with many different ages of students. She has also been able to participate in leadership positions that would not have been available to her in a larger school. Spiritually, she has been challenged in her faith, and that has caused growth to occcur. Our family looks forward to the years ahead!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grace Preparatory School
2202 Jefferson Davis Highway, Stafford, VA  22554
(540) 657-4500
Last modified Grace Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Grace Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top