Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Potowmack Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 621 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

Potowmack Elementary is a wonderful school with great leadership and a caring staff genuinely invested in providing a quality education. My son loves the school staff and activities there. They really focus on incentives, not only for academic achievement, but emphasizing character. The PTA has strong parental involvement and treats the staff very well to show our appreciation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

One amazing school with caring and fabulous teachers and parents. We feel so fortunate our child is receiving such a great public education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

I have three children currently attending this school and my husband and I say that we lucked out getting to send our kids here. Our kids are not white and I have only volunteered a couple of times in 3 years. And my kids are graded fairly and all of their teachers and the other administrators at their school have gone out of their way for them. My kids have been noticed for doing good deeds and have received awards. This is a great school. My mom is a retired school teacher of another state and she came to visit my kids for lunch and was so impressed with the students, the projects in the hallway and my kids knowledge not just of math and reading and history, but of art and music. And I have noticed that my kids and other kids at this school miss school when they are not there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

I attended Potowmack quite awhile ago- I started there in 2nd grade in 1999, and graduated from 5th grade in 2003. It was a wonderful school and the years I spent there were amazing! The only year that wasn't so good was 3rd grade, because I had a pretty bad teacher that year, but all my other teachers were excellent and I learned so much from them. Mrs. Snow, my 4th grade teacher, is the only one of my teachers who is still at Potowmack currently. She was one of the most wonderful and caring teachers I have ever had, so the kids of today are very lucky to still have her there! I also had lots of nice friends and was never bullied by any other kid. The PTA activities were so much fun and my parents and I loved going to them. The drama club was great- I was in it and performed in the play in both 4th and 5th grade. When I look back on my childhood, it puts a smile on my face and I get all nostalgic, and I can definitely say that a lot of it is due to having had the privilege of attending Potowmack Elementary!


Posted June 1, 2011

I am a student at Potowmack Elementary School who is going to enter sixth grade next year. I do not believe that this school is bad in any way. The PTA activities that are organized, such as Bingo Night and Variety Show, are very fun. All students are treated equally and are given the same chance to learn.


Posted August 16, 2010

I am horrified to read the review which labeled this school and teachers as racists! I am parent of one non-white kid studying there for four year now. My child has done extremely well both academically and socially. Apart from an unruly kid case in 1st grade, there have been 0 instances of bullying or mistreatment. There is a great bit of parent volunteering and involvement. However, it's all free labor and to the benefit of all children. Their children might be benefiting a bit in terms of social comfort level in school, however, I do not believe that they get free ride academically. Both my child and I absolutely love this school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

We have been with this school for 3 years now. It is a great school with very good teachers and an excellent principal. The PTA is excellent too. This school has differentiated instruction from grade 1. Kids dont feel pressured as they are put in groups based on their ability level. They are all made comfortable, so they can do their best. The PTA organizes Chess, Cricket,different language classes, several other sports and craft activities after school, to cater to all the kids. The school offers well rounded education which is what our kids need to do well in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Potowmack Elementary has been an amazing school for my boys. We've been here for four years. We have had AMAZING teachers every year. I love that each class has levels of learning for each child. The effort the students and parents put in shows in the output of the child's education. The principal does a great job of hiring highly educated, creative, and caring teachers.The PTA is wonderful as well. The activities they provide during and after school are diverse and interesting to not only the students but the parents as well! We HIGHLY recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

This is a racist school where white kids get more attention and recognition. Even if the child is academically way ahead, the teachers will prefer the white kids to non white kids. The other factor that drives the grades and recognition is the parents volunteering a lot. Their kids then , even if they are below grade level get straight As in their report cards. In some classes, the study material provided is much below standards . Overall, I would say.. stay away from this school if you are not white.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

We have two children in attendance and this is our fifth year at Potowmack Elementary. The quality of academic programs and of the teachers is excellent! The teachers are deeply committed to ensuring that each child is performing to the best of their abilities. All subjects are taught at the specific level of the students - this is done by grouping the students by subject/level. Parent participation is amazing and the community is very involved in the student, teachers, and overall day-to-day activities of the school. Principal involvement and communication via today's technology could be improved upon but does not distract from the overall greatness of the school. The Potowmack PTA is amazing and offers many activities ranging from after-school programs, Bingo nights, International nights and even Bunko! Loudoun County Schools are amongst the highest ranked in the country, and with good reason. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This is our fourth year at Potowmack Elementary School and I love it. I have my girl in fifth grade this year and every day she can t wait to go a school. She was like this every single year at Potowmack. The quality of academic programs is very high; there are opportunities for all levels of learning. We have special programs for advance kids and also for kids that need extra help. There are many clubs to join, from art to sport to science and many other areas for the kids to explore. The PTA involvement is very high at our school. We have a waiting list for volunteering if you can imagine. I am very happy to have my girl at Potowmack Elementary and I can recommend this school to all the new parents that consider moving into our beautiful neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My son has been in the school for the 2nd year now and his kindergarten experience was wonderful.They have very goood teachers and parent involment is super high!The principal,Mrs.Radcliff is GREAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

My child will attend her second year to this school. I can say that I am pleased with this school and with the attention that my child got while in her second grade. I like the fact that each class has four different academic groups of children and the teachers will work individual with every group. Extra curriculum and activities are provided for the children and as a parent I have plenty of opportunities to get involved into my child s day by day activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students80%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students76%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students42%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students82%
Female students88%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students91%
Female students90%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students78%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students27%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students66%
Female students60%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students67%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students13%
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students84%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students30%
Proficient in English89%

English: Writing

All Students91%
Female students96%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students77%
Female students72%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students20%
Proficient in English82%

Science

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students43%
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

46465 Esterbrook Pkwy
Sterling, VA 20165
Phone: (571) 434-3270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT