Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Vienna, VA
Students enrolled: 135
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lorien Wood School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
This is our fourth year at Lorien Wood, and two of our children now attend. We are incredibly thankful for so many aspects of the school and the way the school partners with parents in "helping children explore God's world and discover their place in it." All academic disciplines are explored through a Biblical worldview, and learning is integrated in a thoughtful and purposeful way. Our children are guided to think critically, make connections, and pursue learning with joy and resilience. At home, I see frequent evidence of how they are growing in mind, body and spirit as a result of their school experience. Our children love being a part of the gracious, loving, intellectual community at Lorien Wood and we do too!

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
LW is an affirming school for students, teachers, staff and parents. My boys have learned a lot about God and life. The Watershed year in 6th grade uses creation to help kids understand science, life, math, history, English and so much more. It's been a great place for our family!


Lorien Wood School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
We have two young elementary aged children in this school. One of the reasons that we specifically chose Lorien Wood is that there is a strong focus in treating each child as an individual. If you visit the school you will see children engaged on very different levels. For example, sometimes you will see children sitting in the hallway doing work where it is a bit quieter, and others will be in the room sitting at group tables, while others are engaged with the teacher. The teachers are very concerned that each child is mastering the subjects and are very responsive to parental inquiries. Both of our children are very excited to go to school every morning, and that speaks volumes. I don't know many places where a Kindergartener understands and articulates that the reason that one of Degas' ballerinas can hold a pose is because her skeleton supports her and her muscles move her legs in the right directions. This is our third year at the school and we couldn't be happier. The Board has a diverse group of seasoned and new members (all are parents) and has been very responsive to any concerns, The website has great information as well.

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
All four of our children have been so richly blessed by their Lorien Wood experience. We, as parents, could not feel more grateful to have parents, teachers, and staff working alongside one another to help equip our children emotionally, spiritually, physically, and intellectually with the tools that they need to explore God's world and to discover their place in it. If you are looking for a rich community of gracious individuals, an academically rich, and rigorous curriculum, and a school where joy is present each day, you should come and visit Lorien Wood.

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
I am amazed at the excitement and energy of teachers at this school. We have had three children attend, including one who has completed the k-8 program and is now thriving in high school. The school engages students in their own learning and the educational program is rigorous while providing teachers the flexibility to pursue areas of learning in an integral fashion. Parents are deeply involved in all aspects of the school providing a richer learning community. The emphasis on worthy topics and thinking produces articulate, engaged learners who are able to productively pursue paths that line up with their gifts. It has been a great place for helping our children to better understand their own capabilities, develop character, learn how to learn, and interact with adults in preparation for stepping into high school and beyond.


Lorien Wood School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
We have three children that attend Lorien Wood and they are all thriving. Two of my kids arrived hating math and writing and one was struggling in reading. They were lacking in both confidence and motivation. Lorien Wood has built them up to be confident and love learning. They have been stretched and challenged, but not overwhelmed. Lorien Wood accomodates many levels of learners from far above grade level to struggling to stay on grade level. The teachers and principal are excellent and have been great to work with as needed. The community has an above level of warmth and encouragement. Love the school!!!

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a community member
Lorien Wood is the epitome of a Christ-centered education community. Students are developing their hearts and minds not just through "at-the-desk" learning, but kinesthetically, socially, emotionally, spiritually, musically, artistically - every one of Gardner's intelligences addressed, and then some! You can tell that a sweet, unique spirit has been lovingly nurtured in the student body from the moment you walk in. Student artwork covers the walls, kids are respectful and helpful to strangers, and teachers bond with their classes in a way I have not seen elsewhere. I know many of the families, as well as several teachers, at Lorien Wood, and am always blown away by the quality of both. Where else are middle-schoolers tromping around in their rain boots outside to study all subjects through the lens of the local watershed? Where else do parents, faculty, and board work so well together to form an evolving, growing school that is responsive to its community's needs, while maintaining its core principles? It's sad to see bitterness in two posts earlier, and I'm not sure where the vitriol comes from; I can wholeheartedly recommend this school. Get to know them! You'll love them too!

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
Our experience over 8 years at Lorien Wood has been a very positive. Our children have been blessed and challenged each year. The integral curriculum and the teaching methodology is innovative, rich, and effective at training our children to think deeply about topics and helps them see the connections between disciplines. The strong parental involvement component has resulted in Lorien Wood becoming a true community for all of us. Our children feel known and cared for, and the long-serving teaching staff pours their all into each student. It's a wonderful Christian school and I would highly recommend parents seeking a Christian school to learn more about it. The problem with any rating site is that it gives people a place to vent issues anonymously without any real context. Anyone researching schools would be better served by visiting a school, attending open houses, talking with parents and students currently involved in the school. As any parent knows, not every student or every family fits at every school. But our family and scores of other families have found Lorien Wood to be a true gem and a wonderful place for our children to grow and learn in a Christ-centered community.


Lorien Wood School 2

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
Who could argue with the school's motto: helping children explore God's world and find their place in it? Love the concept! However, I never felt that this was really God's school. There are so many egos running the place with their own agenda and pride at stake. The day-to-day leader is not a leader or administrator, just a teacher. This school does not seem to be able to hire and keep seasoned educators. They have always left, which is a shame. (Look at the website's current faculty.) As far as the other comments re the board meetings: this is a private school. It just too bad that only certain people can make suggestions and have them valued -- not every one can because the clique is full. After being around as long as they have, they aren't going to change PERIOD. This was started as a school for the founding friends' children clearly. I too loved the parent involvement, but it still follows the general volunteer rule: 20% of the people do 80% of the work. My problem is and was that the school does not know how to deal with a diverse population. The day-to-day leader was a homeschooling parent. The lack of pupil diversity limits leadership.

Lorien Wood School 1

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
I couldn't have said it any better than the parent below. This school has a lot of issues. Didn't realize how bad until we left and are now having a wonderful experience elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lorien Wood School
8200 Bell Lane, Vienna, VA  22182
(703) 854-1640
Last modified Lorien Wood School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Lorien Wood School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top