Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
135 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lorien Wood School 5

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
We love Lorien Wood. I love that the school actually listens to new research on the importance of minimal homework and a large amount of outdoor time. Our rising second grader LOVES Muddy Mondays where the lower grades do the majority of instruction time in nature! We're looking forward to having all four of our kids experience this unique learning atmosphere.

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
My family loves Lorien Wood. They create an atmosphere where learning is exciting. Through hands on experiments, classical literature, nature studies and much, my children can’t wait to get to school. This year Lorien Wood started a new program called Muddy Mondays. Children are encouraged to explore God’s world and learn subjects such as math and science through nature. Students are constantly encouraged to look at different ways to see things, study things, and come up with their own conclusions. I am confident that this school has set a solid foundation for my children.


Lorien Wood School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
The teachers seek to engage the whole child: mind, body, spirit, as the children learn and grow.

Lorien Wood School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Homework is very minimal in the lower grades and increases appropriately as the students age. Excessive homework has been proven to negatively, rather than positively, impact a student's progress.

Lorien Wood School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Character development is one of the pillars, or seven distinctives, of Lorien Wood. The entire community seeks to develop biblical character and manifest the fruit of the Spirit.


Lorien Wood School 5

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
We are entering our 10th year at Lorien Wood, as eldest just graduated after completing K-8, and our remaining three are in Forms 1, 2, and Watershed (2nd grade, 3rd grade and 6th). We could not be more grateful for the gracious, Christ centered community, for the "big ideas" that our children consider each day, and for the rich educational environment. Cultivating life-long learners is a worthy goal, and Lorien Wood engages students holistically, seeking to train hearts and minds to discover God's world and find their place in it. Learning experientially is a joy-filled adventure for the entire Lorien Wood community of parents, students, teachers and staff.

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
We have just finished our second year at Lorien Wood. Our children completed Kindergarten and second grade. It has been a great fit for our family. The small class sizes encourage relationships amongst the students, teachers and parents. Parents are deeply involved in all areas of the school which provides a rich community and a unique connection to our children's education. Our kids are encouraged to think critically, be engaged learners and explore their God-given gifts while being guided in a Christ-centered environment. Our kids are thriving at Lorien Wood.

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
We are currently in our eighth year at Lorien Wood. We have students in every form except for 6th grade. Lorien Wood has been a great fit for each of our children. We value the Redemptive Education model and appreciate the school Distinctives. We genuinely feel that the school is equipping our children well to love learning and grow in character. The faculty is approachable, available, and enthusiastic. We love having many opportunities to be involved in the life of the school. Parents are truly connected to their children’s education. This year, we have been particularly impressed with the 7th and 8th grade math, science, and humanities programs.


Lorien Wood School 5

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been incredibly blessed to find Lorien Wood and plant our educational roots there. I have a first grader and a kindergartner and they have both enjoyed it and thrived. I have seen a curiosity arise that wasn't there before, and a deeper love for learning grow. I appreciate the way that faith is integrated into everything, and the intentionality and thought that inspires the curriculum and educational approach. This makes faith in God so much more approachable because they see how it applies to all areas of life. Their days are filled with hands on learning, reading "living" books, and making connections between the disciplines and seeing that all things are for God, by God and in God.

Lorien Wood School 5

Posted March 07, 2015
- a parent
I highly recommend Lorien Wood School, where my son has thrived over the past three years. The school s education model that is grounded in a Biblical worldview and incorporates seven distinctives, including an integral curriculum, teaching grounded in classical study and joyful learning, and strong parental involvement, has helped our child develop critical thinking skills, a love of learning, and awareness that he is part of a larger community and ultimately God s world. At Lorien Wood School, the students are given opportunities to develop strong speaking skills even at an early age. During the times I have spent with the students, I ve been impressed with their ability to articulate their thoughts and respectfully speak to faculty and other parents. I really enjoyed and our son has prospered from the partnership among the faculty, staff, parents, and students. My son s teachers have been very accessible, sometimes going above and beyond what I would have expected and the Head of School is involved in teaching the students through Socratic seminars and the opening assembly. I have been blessed by the school and community.

Nearby schools

Lorien Wood School
8200 Bell Lane, Vienna, VA  22182
(703) 854-1640
Last modified Lorien Wood School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top