Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corporate Landing Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1329 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

This school is horrible. I ended up having to pull my daughter out near the middle of her 8th grade year because she was being bullied. She came home from school crying every single day. She had a shoe thrown at her in PE so hard that it fractured her shoulder. She was pushed down the stairs. All because she is different (autism). I practically lived at the school trying to get this issue taken care of, but the staff did nothing to help her or stop it. Her grades dropped from A's and B's to C's and F's. She is at OLHS now and is on the honor roll again. I have younger children that are zoned to go to CLMS in a few years and I will do everything in my power to get them into another school or a private school before them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2013

Great school, new and clean. My son with autism attended the program there and did very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

I've had two different experiences here. My (quiet) daughter was a new student and really didn't find her spot the entire 3 years she was there. The classrooms were noisy, and the kids didn't listen to teachers. When I called to express concern, I was told "that's how middle school is; tell her High School will be better". It was - she loves OLHS, but that wasn't the point. On the other hand, my son, much more outgoing, is really enjoying CLMS. I"ve had a lot of contact with his teachers, and they have been in good communication with helping to keep him on track. This is his second year, and he's liked the majority of his teachers both years. LOTS of extra-curricular activities, clubs, etc. I don't like that VA Beach teachers "teach to the test" for SOL's, but that's a whole different matter. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Corporate Landing, but encourage your student to find ways to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

I was a student at Corporate Landing Middle School and i went there my 6th, 7th, and 8th grade years. I loved this school and it was full of so many great people. Most of my teachers were nice but i had a couple of problems with some of them. the school is always cleaned and very nice. It is huge and core's are arranged where the classrooms are right next to each other, making it easier to get to class on time. I also went to Princess Anne Middle School the last 3 months of my 8th grade year and I absolutely hated it. The school was full of teachers who could not teach and most of the students were not nice at all. it is too small and classes are spaced out making it hard to get to class. when you walk down the hall you get bumped by everyone walking the opposite direction. it was horrible and i don't recommend sending your kids there. Corporate is the way to go!


Posted December 29, 2009

I went to CLMS for my 6th, 7th and 8th grade year and I can say that my time there was the best and i'll never forget it. My guidance counseler in my 8th grade year was the best i had in all 3 years. The after school activities keep students there striving to do better. Wrestling was the number one sport when I went there and all of my friends on the team would study even during lunch so that they could wrestle. The only problems I had was with my foreign language teachers. I felt that we were rushed with the material because you are being taught on a high school level for a credit and it was overwhelming. in my 8th grade year i had problems with my math teacher, causing me to change cores. but other than that my time at CLMS was unforgetable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

The administration,teachers and therapists provide educational opportunities to all students and do their best that no child is left behind
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

I am new to the school, most of my friends are in other classes. But idon't let that get me down. It is good to make new friends and just make this a year that i won't forget. My siblings say that this school has mean teachers and most of them aren't fun but i think that they are nice and fun to be around!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

Look, I'm a 6th grader here at CLMS. Our school is neat and tidy and its really nice. The food here is really good, and i have not been bullied at all. They teach us alot of things like internet safety and in case there is any bullying whatsoever, how to say no or defend ourselves. Some of the teachers are really nice and funny. I'm in all advanced classes, and my teachers try to help me get by as much as they can. Sometimes I'll get a C or two, but thats because I really don't study. If your kid in advanced is getting lower grades, try to help them study! P.E. is fun and we're currently holding our 'Olympics'. I've made alot of friends so far in the school year, and I absolutely love my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2008

Compared to all the other schools around here I say this school is top notch! Since the building of the school there has been a few principal changes which is not uncommon in a huge school, the 2nd largest in VaBeach to be exact. We had a great principal while both of my kids were in school and one is still there. They were all advanced students worked hard and when coming to CLMS had no problem staying focused and the teachers were extremely focused on teaching our children to the top. The only thing that I have a problem with is the Spanish teacher that corrects my spanish speaking child this year. She is an American Girl that speaks ok but not fluent and is teaching our children. I don't agree with that. I think they would better support the school with grants for foreign teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My son is currently attending CLMS, and is a 6th grader. I have had nothing but problems since he started there. My son was an honor role student up unti now. There are a handful of teachers that seem to genuinely care about the students, but as far as administration and the guidance counselors I find them to be less than qualified to do their jobs. I have gone to several conferences, and they seem to think that as long as he is not failing then there is nothing to worry about. When you have a child capable of producing high marks, why are we content with just a 'passing grade'? Obtaining a D, when a child is capable of earning an A, is unacceptable. He will not be attending CLMS next year, I will make sure of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

I am a 6 th grader right now there! The teachers are awesome and really try hard to make you understand. They hire a professional to do a shakeasphere play every year and its so much fun. Everybodys so nice and not once have I been bullied.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 7, 2007

I agree with the other parent. My child was also an honor roll student until coming to this school. I also asked for a conference and got no answer. In addition to that my child was constantly bullied and harrassed and the school did not want to get involved. Some of the teachers truly cared about my child but most did not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

Corporate Landing Middle is by far the best school in VirginiaBbeach. The teachers try there best in every way to make the childrens lifes easier. They provide tutoring and special attention. They provide good lunch choices and have many learning opportunitys. Towards the end of the year they really crack down and make you study for the sol's. They are always offering parents to come into class to observe the kids. The children at CLMS have electives at which they learn about computers,music,art,life,money,and languages. Me im not a parent im a 7th grader at CLMS. And I say its the best school here :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2007

I agree with another poster, my child was honor roll all the way up to middle school until he started at CLMS. My child is smart, he is in advanced classes. When he started to fail some my requests for a conference fell on deaf ears,I was also asked 'Why?' What do you mean why? I think all of our children are just being pushed thru. just another number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

This is our first year in the VBSchool district, we have moved here from California. We are not a military family, but moved here with a job transfer, we have been excited to see the growth in our student since he has arrived @ CLMS. He is a different kid!! Block schedules began this year, and it has been wonderful. The organization for him has been a rough start but with practice he will get the hang of it. Every teacher and staff member is more than willing to help and equip each student and parent with ANYTHING. THANK YOU CLMS for your awesome job of welcoming and making our family feel apart of the great family of CLMS!! GO JETS!! :o)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

Im a former pupil from Corporate Landing and am a seinor at Ocean Lakes and I credit my teachers for giving me the education that I needed
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 20, 2004

My child was LEFT BEHIND at CLMS. At each sign of negative progress my requests for meetings and conferences were ignored by guidance and teachers. She may have needed the extra help or steerage, but she was just pushed through the system, regardless of her level of learning. As far as I'm concerned, she was just another number at CLMS. She is a smart kid, and did receive some high grades in some classes. Overall she was unmotivated by her teachers and her classmates. Extracurricular activities are cliquish. New, or novice participants are not actively sought. Virginia Beach is a high in military families, so a large amount of children are always moving in and out of the system. Therefore in my opinion, there is a lack of familiarity or social contact between students, families and school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

I have gone to CLMS since the 6th grade. I have had honor roll the entire time I have attended CLMS. I know they have had 1 new principal and two new assistant principals during my attendance, but I have also notice that it didn't effect me or my grades, at all. Each child is encouraged to do their best, and the student comes first. They have a wonderful music program and great advanced classes!I myself am in advanced english and I have a 97/A!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school has had four different principals in the last seven years and seven different assistant principals. The leadership keeps changing and along with it the mood of the school changes. Although for the most part the teachers seem to maintian high standards for their students. There are lots of clubs and generally I liked the quality of education my daughter recieved. She made it into three academies and was on the honor roll her entire stay. She seems really prepared for the challenge of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

14 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

12 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

13 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students78%
Male students67%
Black students58%
Asian students87%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial76%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students63%
Female students65%
Male students62%
Black students46%
Asian students100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial73%
White students63%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students71%
Black students62%
Asian students91%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial79%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students55%
Female students52%
Male students58%
Black students49%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial50%
White students56%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students75%
Male students69%
Black students52%
Asian students100%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial77%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

English: Writing

All Students71%
Female students82%
Male students61%
Black students53%
Asian students86%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial80%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students53%
Female students47%
Male students57%
Black students31%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracial59%
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English53%

Science

All Students82%
Female students82%
Male students82%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial88%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Female students81%
Male students76%
Black students70%
Asian students83%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial71%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

Geometry

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students82%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracial75%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Daniel W. Smith
Fax number
  • (757) 437-6487

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1597 Corporate Landing Pkwy
Virginia Beach, VA 23454
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Beach Montessori Tech
Virginia Beach, VA



Princess Anne Middle School
Virginia Beach, VA



Star of the Sea School
Virginia Beach, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT