Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shelton Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 458 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

My daughter has been going to Shelton Park for the last two years. Her kindergarten teacher was awesome!! Worked with all the kids one on one if need be and helped them progress further as a class and individually aswell. Her first grade teacher is just as awesome! The teachers at Shelton Park take their time to get to know their students strengths and weaknesses. They at times may seem hard but they like to give our children some challenges in order for them to excel even more. This school has strong ties with military families as well and understands the needs of the military children. We enjoy this school and hope to remain in this school for as long as we are stationed here :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

I am very pleased with my son's kindergarden teacher and my other son 4th greade teacher. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

I'm so sorry we have to move away from this wonderful school at the end of the year. My child is in Kindergarten, and his teachers are amazing! The teachers and front desk staff, are always so friendly and helpful. I was worried the all day Kindergarten would be too taxing on my son, but he has blossomed so much, and loves school! We're not even halfway through the school year, and I am amazed at how much his reading skills have improved. Any parent should consider themselves lucky, if their child attends Shelton Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

Lowest ratios in all of VAB's elem schools. We have K and 2nd graders and both are very successful in Shelton Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I am very disatisfied with Shelton Park and the way the children with disabilities are treated by some of the staff. The principle has a hidden agenda to say the least. Building a childs educational selfesteem should be of the upmost importance to us all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

I am very pleased with the faculty and staff of Shelton Park. This is the only school that my children have ever attended and we feel like part of the family there. They have a great gifted resource program and the all day kindergarten is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

I really love this school. the staff is so involved with the students learning. Also to pick up your child you have to have an id ready for them to view. Excellent neighborhood. The scool is so clean and neat. And they pass all of their test with high scores. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

This school is fabulous. I love it. We have been here for almost 5 years and will be here 5 more. My daughter has had some truly wonderful teachers at this school. She loves school and I know it's because of Shelton Park and their wonderful staff. She is in a lot of after school programs like SCA and Chess Club. Wonderful place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

Both of my children have thrived at Shelton Park. The teaching staff is wonderful. I have found the school to be both nurturing and supportive of both my children and myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I could not possibly be more pleased with this school. I have watched my daughter grow so very much since her first day there. The teachers, staff and environment are all loving, caring and most importantly-challenging!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students100%
Male students94%
Black students95%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students88%
Female students86%
Male students90%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students82%
Male students72%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students61%
Female students56%
Male students68%
Black students29%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

English: Writing

All Students61%
Female students66%
Male students55%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%

Math

All Students74%
Female students70%
Male students79%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students81%
Female students75%
Male students89%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Geoffrey T Timlin
Fax number
  • (757) 460-7515

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Shelton Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23455
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 460-7577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hermitage Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Baylake Pines School
Virginia Beach, VA


Luxford Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Bayside Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Old Donation Center
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT