Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Windsor Oaks Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 625 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2012

This school is wonderful!! I have enjooyed my children attending this school. They attended Hermitage Elementary prior to going here and that school made it feel like a prison - cold and unwelcoming. However, this school has been great. Smiles on everyone, everyday. Plenty of nice people directing traffic. It is unfortunate that we have had parents that feel that they are the exception the the rule in parking and droppping off or picking up children. The teachers at this school are fantastic. My children have all attended it and love going to school every day. The only thing I do not agree with is their lack of recess and riding bikes to school. They have bike racks but are not allowed to ride bikes to school. They have walk and talk after lunch but no recess. The children get only one chance a day to play freely and it is only for about 15 minutes during p.e. With the amount of obesity spreading quickly among our children of today, this lack of outside time is killing our children. Walking in a circle after lunch WILL NOT help these children. Something has to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Our son went to this school from Kindergarten through 2nd grade. He struggled with his grades and we provided extra support through tutoring. We asked for help, or testing, or any thing that could possibly define was A) the problem was and B)what to do about it. Every year we got the run around, and "interventions." We didn't realize how much Windsor Oaks was lacking until we moved away, and our childs new school immediately recognized a problem. They did the testing(as the No Child Left Behind Act states he's entitled to) and it turned out that he had a learning disorder. Now he needs Occupational Rehab because he wasn't diagnosed, and given Occupational Therapy sooner. We are a military family with Tricare. Tricare states that it's the schools responsibility to do this testing. No Child Left Behind Act states that the child is entitled to testing. Windsor Oaks failed to do that. We thought Windsor Oaks was great at the time, but didn't realize how much it was quite the opposite until we moved away and discovered what a "good school" really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

We are new in this area but from my observation my only child is enjoyinng going to school everyday because of his teachers and all other staff of the school. I hope they will continue doing the best for the kids future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

My children have been attending Windsor Oaks for the past three years and have been doing extremely well. The teachers and staff have been very helpful and friendly. My children and I feel like home there. They are excited to go to school everyday to see what new things they are going to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

It's January and the parking lot is still not done it's frustrating parking far when i have a newborn and the staff that directs traffic are rude. The teachers are great. I just think they have to finish the parking lot so the kids don't have to walk so far even in the rain to get into school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

My oldest child has been in 3 different elementary schools in Virginia Beach and by far Windsor Oaks has been the best! The staff is friendly and helpful, the principals actually take an interest in the students and will actually stop to talk to them in the halls. They are HUGE about families being apart of the picture and have so many activities for us. They don't seem to be asking for money every time I turn around and now that my daughter is in kindergarten I can say the full day schedule has been a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

I love this school! All three of my children have gone to Windsor Oaks and I have had no problem. The staff is very friendly and well trained!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

Very friendly staff. Very good trained teacher and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

both my children have ahad a fantastic year. I have one that has a hard time and one that is gifted and the school takes a real interest in both and will do anything possible to help them achieve success! Super school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

I had 2 kids at windsor oaks for 3 years. Anytime my child needed extra help in anything it was always provided. The teachers really care about the kids and it shows. The principal is very involved in everything that goes on and there is always some neat activity planned. Both of my children loved going to Windsor Oaks. The faculty all work very well together to keep things running smooth. This is a school that you can tell right away that the principal and teachers all care about the needs of both the students and their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students78%
Male students56%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students49%
Female students56%
Male students44%
Black students27%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English49%

Science

All Students74%
Female students76%
Male students72%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students60%
Female students58%
Male students62%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students60%
Female students70%
Male students49%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students60%
Male students68%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%

English: Writing

All Students64%
Female students60%
Male students69%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial60%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students68%
Female students61%
Male students75%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students65%
Female students57%
Male students73%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial70%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael A. Maloney
Fax number
  • (757) 431-4637

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 Van Buren Dr
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lynnhaven Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Rainbow Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Brookwood Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Green Run Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT