Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Windsor Woods Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 419 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

My child just move from another great school and I was afraid he could not received the special education services he was taking. The personel is so kind and walk the extra mile. I am in love with this school so far. There are excellent caring people working there. Specially the special education teacher Ms. Eddy. My son is actually receiving more specific services than before and it is helping him a lot, not only with his special education situation but because he is not an english speaker at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Windsor Woods is an awesome school. I am a mother of 5 children, 3 in their 20's who attended, and 2 that attend now and have had the same teachers as their older siblings. I think this says a lot about a school when the teachers stay for so many years. The staff is incredible, they really care about the children and go the extra mile to help them in every aspect of their life whether it be their education, extra-curricular activities, etc. My children truly enjoy and look forward to going to school every day. The school has a great Principal, he makes it a point to know all the children and stays involved in all the school events. I have enjoyed participating in all the school events and will be very sad when the last of my children graduate from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

this is an excellent school. i am a parent that has a child in the special education program and the teachers are loving and excellent therapy staff. Mr. ball is a great principal and knows every child and makes every parent feel know and welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

I have two kids that went to this school. One in third grade and one in first grade. They both attended since kindergarten. Unfortunately, we had to move out of state. I was sad to leave this wonderful school. My kids had great teachers each year and it seems that everyone that works there is happy to be there. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

Windsor Woods is an excellent school with quality teachers and by far the best Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My daughter has been at Windsor Woods for 3 years and we are very sad to leave because of a military transfer. The teachers and staff are very caring and they all want your child to succeed. Ms. Carpenter is the Asst. Principle and is the best I have met so far. We will miss this school very much!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

What a great school especially the teaching staff. They cared about my child's success. Did I mention that this year they are in a brand new school with State-of-the-Art equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

WWES was an incredible school for my son. He was in the gifted program and had incredible teachers that really challenged him from the start of the year. They didn't just give him busy work, they gave him more in depth work on various subjects of interest for him. This school has a small town feeling in a big city. I loved WWES and would highly recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

All 3 of my boys are going to this school, it is a delight to know that they are going to a safe place and that they are well taken care of while they are in school. One word for all Teachers and Principal please keep up this great job. Thank You all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

A nurturing, sweet-natured, community-oriented school with almost zero teaching turnover and an inspiring commitment to kids. Teachers like Donald Miles, Kawanna Ansell, Kelly Linkous and the fifth-grade team are the match of any in Virginia. I loved having my daughter here. I'll miss visiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

I went to Windsor Woods from kindergarten to fifth grade. I am now a senior at Virginia Wesleyan college. I am going to graduate with honors, and I feel that the wonderful base I received at Windsor Woods helped me immensely in my educational carreer. I enjoyed learning, and wanted to absorb all I could. I hope some of the faculty is the same, they were divine!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students72%
Male students64%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students77%
Female students72%
Male students82%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Science

All Students87%
Female students83%
Male students91%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students69%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students74%
Female students70%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students68%
Male students59%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

English: Writing

All Students65%
Female students64%
Male students67%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students69%
Female students66%
Male students72%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Science

All Students70%
Female students58%
Male students82%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

233 Presidential Blvd
Virginia Beach, VA 23452
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-4160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lynnhaven Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Malibu Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Adult Learning Center
Virginia Beach, VA


Open Door Christian Academy
Virginia Beach, VA


Thalia Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT