Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Virginia Beach, VA

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Good teachers, good family atmosphere, great neighborhood. The best elementary school in Virginia Beach!

Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted April 05, 2013
- a parent
We LOVE Red Mill. My daughter has 22 children in her class - which initially concerned me, but her teacher has still been able to give her a lot of individual attention. This is especially helpful as my child has a mild learning disability. Her teacher keeps me posted weekly as to her progress and I could tell from as early as the first 6 weeks of school that the teacher has really made an effort to get to know my child and what her needs are. I have very high expectations for my children's teachers. All of our teachers here have exceeded my expectations. Beyond that, I've been genuinely impressed!


Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2012
- a parent
Don't believe everything you read on this site. Go check out the school in person and actually talk to the teachers (not the office staff.) My children attended Red Mill from 2008-2011...we have experienced every grade except 5th. We bought our house so our children could attend this school. We have since moved away, and would do anything to move back. The curriculum in the state of Virginia is top notch. If you move anywhere else in the country, your kids will be leaps and bounds ahead based on the education your kids will receive at Red Mill. The staff is so well-educated and has so much experience. Most of the teachers that my children had, had a wealth of knowledge and experience, and made learning exciting! My children were highly motivated to do their best in that environment. The principal is exceptional. We never experienced the "cold" atmosphere that another person described. You will not be disappointed. This truly is one of the very best schools around! We miss it so much!

Red Mill Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2012
- a parent
This school is fine academically, but seems extremely cold. School tries to keep a distance between the parents and the staff. Everything kept "professional" to the point that they don't seem to care about the students, but rather trying complete checklists of things that have to be done. If you think this school is good, you haven't seen many other schools.

Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
Red Mill is one of the most outstanding elementary schools in the state. Outstanding administrative leadership (principal has been there for almost 15 years), wonderful PTA involvement, and excellent teachers. Gifted resource program is very strong and most cluster teachers really understand gifted learners' needs and social-emotional characteristics. Excellent reputation, reading instruction is top-notch, and PE program helps interested kids to excel and meet fitness goals. We bought our home to specifically be in the Red Mill Elementary and Princess Anne Middle School zone--Red Mill almost seems like a private school with all it has to offer. I have had four children go through K-5 and never regretted it. Love, love, love this school.


Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2010
- a parent
We transferred from a local private school and could not be happier or say enough about Red Mill. We have a child that had a reading difficulty and his previous school failed to work with him. Red Mill took an aggressive approach and he is doing so much better. We currently have two children at Red Mill and could not be happier.

Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are awesome. They will work with a student who is having in trouble and keep in close contact with parents to let them know how their child is doing.

Red Mill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful school! They have an amphitheater, plots of land for each class to grow things, enough laptops delivered to the class rooms so they can all use them (+ a computer lab), a science lab, and wonderful teachers and parental support.


Red Mill Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a parent
We transferred this year from a private school to Red Mill and couldn't be happier. My child's teacher is wonderful and has really been able to help her flourish in school. There is tremendous parent involement in the school as well as great extracurriculars.

Red Mill Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 01, 2008
- a parent
Great School, a lot a parent involvement. Everyone makes you feel right at home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Red Mill Elementary School
1860 Sandbridge Rd, Virginia Beach, VA  23456
(757) 648-3560
Last modified Red Mill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Red Mill Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top