Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glenwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 897 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

My son is in the Pre-K program and he loves it! It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

As a military family, I would say this has been one of the best schools that my children attended. The teachers are great and challenge the students. The principle can be cold at times but support and care for the children and staff. The assistant principles are great, friendly, and knowledgeable but the school and students. Overall, it's one of the best schools in Virginia Beach!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

I have been using this website to look at public schools in Hawaii, and decided to look up my daughter's current school (Glenwood). I was absolutely shocked to see it's low grade of 5!!!! At least I now know not to use this site when grading HI schools. My daughters have been at Glenwood for 1st through 5th grade, a total of 15 different teachers not including PE, art, music and orchestra, and have absolutely loved their time here. We couldn't be more pleased with the school!! The principal knows every students name, and all the parents as well (impressive when you consider how many they are!) The teachers are very energetic and are very good at tough love (balancing discipline and caring). My daughters cover both ends of the spectrum- one that is very advanced and in gifted, and the other who struggled greatly in the beginning (espicially with basic reading) and still has to work very hard to maintain her B average. As an active duty military officer and mom, I depend a lot (maybe too much) on the school and its environment in the upbringing of my kids, and have had no problems or concerns at Glenwood. If your kids end up going to Glenwood, you (and they) will be blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

I went to this school two months after moving here in 1990 and it happened to be the first year it opened. Now, 19 years later, my daughter is in her third year there. I love the teachers and I have never had any problems with bullies or disipline. The up front staff is a bit cold as well as the principal. I stood at the front desk at the office once for 5 minutes before anybody helped me. But overall a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Both of my children attended Glenwood Elementary and have loved it. The principal is positive and has high expectations for the students. The Gifted Resource Teacher does an excellent job and all of the cluster teachers left positive impressions on our family. Glenwood is an exceptional school with a mixed population and down to earth kids. Children go there to learn and are prepared for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My daughter has attended Glenwood since midway through second grade. Glenwood has wonderful teachers who are always willing to assist. The Gifted Resource Teacher is amazing. My only concer is the pricipal is not a warm and fuzzy kind of person which I think is a neccessity at this age. She comes across as cold and icy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

I am pleasantly surprised at the wonderful experience my Kindergardener had at this school. The school is very active with the community and My daughter learned so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Excellent Special Ed. Program 10 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

When we bought our house we weren't necessarily looking for the best schools but that's what we got when my daughter enrolled at Glenwood. She went to kindergarten and I can honestly say I couldn't have picked a better school or better teachers for my daughter. She came home smiling and happy every day and learned so much. Unfortunately, we are relocating due to military orders. We will certainly miss Glenwood-the teachers, the friends, and the helpful and friendly staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

Having moved from a wonderful overseas DODDS school, I was hoping to find an equal. I found that and more. Outstanding leadership. Excellent communication. Well-educated and involved teachers! I could not have paid for a private school to do any better. My kids are in gifted cluster classes. Very challenging. They will leave Va Beach schools, better students and people. Can you tell I'm happy?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

I have had all three of my kids attend glenwood and I feel that the school is a great, safe school my kids have never had any problems with bully's or any kind of negative behavior at all. The teachers are great also there are some that you might wonder if they really care about there job but for the most part the teachers are great. Both of my sons have ADHD so the principle set them both on the 504 plan and it has worked out great with the efforts of my behalf and also Mr. Ames, and the psychologists, and the teachers. The school is very professional and overall a great school in a great area. D.G.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students78%
Black students67%
Asian students87%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial94%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students80%
Female students75%
Male students83%
Black students64%
Asian students80%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students91%
Female students90%
Male students92%
Black students83%
Asian students100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students67%
Male students62%
Black students54%
Asian students79%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students67%
Female students66%
Male students67%
Black students55%
Asian students89%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students81%
Black students67%
Asian students86%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial78%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students75%
Black students68%
Asian students90%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial79%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students79%
Female students74%
Male students83%
Black students62%
Asian students90%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial76%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students81%
Female students79%
Male students83%
Black students68%
Asian students76%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial83%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2213 Round Hill Dr
Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Website: Click here
Phone: (757) 648-2520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Salem Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA



Landstown Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


New Castle Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Advanced Technology Center
Virginia Beach, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT