Advertisement
Advertisement

Chesapeake Bay Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Virginia Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

BEST SCHOOL in HAMPTON ROADS, PERIOD. This school is the best for my child who has ADHD and Aspergers. They have attended this school for 7 years. My student started in 6th grade and is now in the 12th grade. We live on peninsula and drive 20 miles every school day. We found they could give the education that public school tried for many years to do. He attended 9 public schools in a couple short years in Virginia before coming to this school. They have clubs and sports after school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

Have two kid attending currently and so far I'm not impressed at all..... More to follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Our son attended here for over 3 years so far - 7th, 8th, 9th grade and currently in 10th grade. Excellent school. Nothing compares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

my step-son was there for four years. and we toke him out for the fact he couldn't even read. they did nothing to help him except ignore his learning issues. how could he have been getting As & Bs on his report card if he cant read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

As the other reviews stated: this school is wonderful! My son was a C & D student who didn't feel like he fit in at school and started to really act out. We enrolled him at CBA for the 08-09 school year and it has been a MAJOR turn around. His grades and self esteem have sky rocketed. He didn't even want summer to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

Wonderful school. It has transformed my boys, both in 8th grade, from D & E studrnts in special ed while in public school and now they are both A & B students. The Greatest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

CBA has transformed our student and the qualify of our homelife. If you have been hearing that your child just doesn't care, if your evenings are filled with worrying and fighting about homework getting done, and if the school battle has taken over the home relationship, we highly recommend this school. It has given our student what they wanted so badly,academic success with minimal oversight on our part. A truly great place for students with learning differences. We are so fortunate to have found CBA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

I love this schools , the teachers actually take the time to teach my child . My son loves to go school know! where two months ago He could care less about school, real expensive!!!!!!!! But worth the money>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

This school promotes itself as a school for students with learning differences. The teachers are superior. Each student has an advocate assigned. All students are encourage to participate in after school sports programs. Student involvement and sportmanship is outstanding. Very few discipline issues. Teacher to student ratio is advertised at 5:1. Very expensive but worth every penny. My student attended for three years and has moved on to another larger HS. I don't think this would have been possible 3 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

this school is great for brilliant children with differences such as ADD, ADHD, digraphia, or dysexia. the teachers actually care about the students, and the students actually enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2006

This is an excellent school grades k-12 actually, for bright children with learning differences. Great 5/1 student ratio with licensed teachers who want to see the kids excel. Finding this school was a lifesaver. My son now loves to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

821 Baker Rd
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone: (757) 497-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Norfolk Academy
Norfolk, VA


Williams Elementary School
Virginia Beach, VA


Gateway Christian School
Virginia Beach, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT