Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-2|Private
230 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
76 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (8 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 148 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Courthouse Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
I love the teachers at Courthouse Academy. My daughter always talks about them and plays teacher and office at home!

Courthouse Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Courthouse Academy administration and staff are always willing to help me whenever I have a question. They do more than required of them. The administration and staff have a lot going on throughout the day but are always smiling and stop what they are doing to greet me when I come in. The academics in the school are above and beyond what other schools are doing. My daughter is learning on a grade level higher and the amount of Spanish she is speaking at home is insane! I like that the front staff knows all the children in the school as well as who picks them up and drops them off. Safety is one of my main concerns and I feel that my child is safe when I drop her off. I know that she spends more time with the Courthouse Academy staff than she does me and I am grateful to know that they care for her like she is one of their own. I would and have told my friends about this school.


Courthouse Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
Effective at reading and math, but they need to have more native Spanish speakers to be effective with Spanish.

Courthouse Academy 4

Posted February 20, 2016
- a community member
My son attended for Pre-K and I have to complement the school for preparing him well for regular Kindergarten. However, I don't think this school is a true Spanish immersion program, which is why I paid more for this school and drove way out of my way to bring my son there every day. It was only after my son was enrolled, that I realized neither his lead teacher, the principal, nor the receptionist actually spoke Spanish! (His lead teacher told me she knew some basics.) Only the assistant teacher was fluent in Spanish. I also recall occasionally hearing some of the staff speaking in Spanish to eachother in the hallway, but I think in an immersion program, the children should hear native speakers conversing all the time, not just occasionally. Non-native speakers should at least being using greetings and basic phrases in conversation. Ultimately, I don't think my child learned much Spanish. I did feel the school was more of a for-profit operation, but I think I would have been okay with that approach had it been a true immersion school. I also disliked that for every drop off and pickup, parents had to park, walk through the front of the school and go all the way to the classroom. This was tiresome, especially with other kids in tow. In contrast to other reviews, the receptionist was always warm and welcoming to me and I don't remember her being on the cell phone too much. She was actually my favorite out of the front office staff.

Courthouse Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
Thanks ms Kristin for working with my twins. You are a joy as a teacher and they love to tell me all the wonderful things you and mrs Billie teach them throughout the week. Even the fact that Martin Luther King was a hero! And all kids can go to the same school because of him! We love it!


Courthouse Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
My twins love the school and the teachers! The school offers great activities and a great curriculum. My twins have learned so much and we are Looking forward to another great year next year! Thanks Mrs Julie for your great leadership! Crystal Felton

Courthouse Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
This is my daughters 2nd year at courthouse, and we love it so much!!! She adores her teacher and really looks forward to going to school everyday! I am so amazed at how much she is learning at 5!! I especially love how loving and friendly everyone is! On the second day of school when she started last year she was already being greeted at the door by name! Another thing I love are all of the fun things they randomly bring to the school. A couple days ago she came home telling me that they brought in all different animals and she got to touch a baby alligator! There are always fun things like this going on and in a great learning environment! I wouldn't want her anywhere else! -Tiffany Francisco

Courthouse Academy 5

Posted January 18, 2016
- a parent
My son loves coming here, he runs to hug his teacher in the morning. Always greeted at door with a smile and staff goes above and beyond to accomadate needs. Thank you! Leslie Medina


Courthouse Academy 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
I love Courthouse Academy! The teachers are wonderful with the children. They really connect at the kids level. My daughter has been a student there as a 2 year old, a 3 year old and a 4 year old and has participated in the Spanish immersion program each year. She loves going to school, loves her teachers and friends and has learned so much through her years there. I am impressed with the amount of Spanish she has learned over the 3 years and her accent when she speaks is spot on. Every week in addition to the regular curriculum, the children also participate in gym class, art class, music and computers. The management team is also easy to work with. Everyone there really seems to enjoy what they do and it shows. Ann Sleigher

Courthouse Academy 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a community member
I absolutely love this school. Our 3 year old son is in his 2nd year at Courthouse Academy and has learned so much there. The Spanish immersion classes that are offered are fantastic. My 3 year old counts up to 40 in Spanish, knows his colors and teaches me new words every week. The teachers and staff are so kind and actually care about the families attending (our son was admitted to the hospital and the welcome he received from his class when he returned was so heartwarming). I cannot say enough about this school. Thank you for making our son's first school experience a positive one- it will set him up for the rest of his life!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Courthouse Academy
3217 Monet Drive, Virginia Beach, VA  23453
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 148 reviews. (757) 368-0368
Last modified Courthouse Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-2
Top